Customer Reviews for

Wanna Get Lucky

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Terrific!

    I watched Deborah write this tale, and when she gave me chapters to read, was blown away. She had written two previous manuscript novels, went to countless critique groups, and written a humor column for a national magazine. But when she tackled Las Vegas, something magical happened: Deborah became Lucky and Vegas came marvelously to life.
    WANNA GET LUCKY? is the Vegas we hope to find when we visit for a weekend or a week; slightly naughty, funny and a welcome change from our work-a-day lives.
    Lucky O'Toole makes it come alive, because Deborah is Lucky and Lucky is Deborah, the hippest, coolest gal in Vegas.
    Deb has already written Lucky II and III, and they are as marvelous as the first Lucky tale. Buy, borrow or steal this novel and come join Lucky, a/k/a Deborah Coonts, for a delightful visit to America's adult wonderland. You'll never be the same again.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Fasten your seatbelts!

    Looking for a fun read? Then pick up this book! If you've been to Vegas, you'll "get it"....if you haven't, you'll enjoy it anyway!

    Witty and funny, this is one of those books where if anyone's around you'll find yourself saying "Listen to this" just before you read yet another passage aloud....just ask my husband! It's not that often I laugh out loud while reading a book, but Lucky O'Toole left me no choice. This is one tough chick with a soft center (but if you tell anyone, she'll beat the crap out of you!) who knows her town and her casino resort. And wait till you meet her mama...!

    Hold on...it's one rollicking, fun ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    A waste of time

    I had this book on my Christmas wish list and was looking forward to something light and fun to read. I love detective fiction and I love Las Vegas. But now that I have read the book, I wish I had asked Santa for something else. The book is formulaic and full of cliches, and there's hardly a page that couldn't benefit from some decent editing. This plot is ridiculous, the humor is forced, and the writing is amateurish. The book feels like something contrived to be a commercial success without a thought to the quality of the writing, like those TV sitcoms that are too idiotic to last beyond the pilot shows. Unfortunately, in the case of this book there appears to be a series in the works.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wanna Get Silly?

    This is an entertaining romp through a casino in Vegas, with stock characters and lots of sex, some intrigue, and a rather predictable ending. I'm not married to the author, or related in any way, so I felt that a 4 star rating was generous enough. If I were related to the author, I'd like to think that I had some class and would leave the reviews to the readers.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This terrific tongue in cheek investigative tale lampoons the Vegas glitch.

    In Las Vegas, Lyda Sue Stalnaker left this world with a big final act when she fell from a helicopter into the pirate's lagoon in front of the Treasure Island Hotel; her plunge superseded the in progress 8:30 show. The police investigate and assume another dead sore loser.

    However on her way to a troublemaking incident, Babylon Head of Customer Relations Lucky O'Toole is stunned when she sees Lyda Sue making the news. They briefly talked last night so she has a difficult time accepting the woman committed suicide. Lucky decides to make some inquires starting with Willie the Weasel who flew the aircraft and goes even deeper when her former flame Irv Gittings the rat was involved. Although The Big Boss reminds her she needs to focus on the conventions hosted at the Babylon with sexual predators assaulting the adult film annual awards gala, the spouse-swapping swingers, and the computer crowd, Lucky believes Lyda Sue was pushed.

    This terrific tongue in cheek investigative tale lampoons the Vegas glitch. Fast-paced Lucky works her inquiry while trying to keep the lewd, the naked, and the nude from attacking the conventioneers with "sales". Wanna get Lucky? is a delightful amateur sleuth starring a troubleshooting woman who lands in the middle of trouble as her top advisor is her mom the brothel owner.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    If you love Stephanie Plum you will love Lucky O┬┐Toole. Lucky is

    If you love Stephanie Plum you will love Lucky O’Toole. Lucky is sexy, funny, and having a bad day. Coonts writes with a style that brings both the characters and the scenery to life. The story is fast paced, and frenetic. There is only one small downside the story does have quite a few cliché phrase in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    A fun read!

    This was the first book I'd read by this author, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lighthearted, quirky, and a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Recommend

    This was an enjoyable read, I have read the Lucky series and look forward to another book to add to the read,recommend this to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked me before the first chapter was done!!!

    Review by Stephanie O: I read the blurb for this book and was struck with interest when I read that is was about Vegas. Not to mention the fact that it pretty much starts out with some chick falling from a helicopter during the pirate show. The book had its hooks in me before chapter one was even over with. I couldn¿t wait to see what would happen next. It didn¿t seem to matter what Lucky had dealt with and put to rest, something was always happening and she had to clean up or put out the fire. When the chick falling from a helicopter (that belongs to ¿her¿ Casino) shows on the tv, it¿s a mad rush to figure out the who, what, when, where, and how before her life as head of customer relations is a thing of the past.

    Running around with her Nextel phone, Lucky starts putting together the pieces. At the same time she is trying to figure out just who she can trust. Let¿s not forget to mention the fact she is also dealing with her ¿crazy¿ mom, and BFF who sparks her interest in more ways than she is ready to admit to.

    There were parts of this book that had me laughing and parts that had me holding tight to the pages. The perfect book for those who like a little crime mystery and a dash of romance.

    Favorite Quote: Honestly when I was finished reading I had tags sticking out of the book all over. So my favorite back and forth in the book was:

    ¿Now I get to see yours,¿ Dane reminded me.

    ¿Well,¿ I said as I settled into the deep seat. ¿Before I turn my cards over, I call and raise you one dinner at the restaurant of my choice.¿

    He whistled. ¿It must be good.¿ He narrowed his eyes as he looked at my face. ¿Or you¿re bluffing.¿ He waited a moment and then said, ¿Okay, I¿ll play. What do you have?¿

    I smile and pressed the intercom switch. ¿Paolo, take us to Spanish Trail, the east entrance, please.¿

    ¿Remind me never to play poker with you,¿ Dane said he stared . . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2