Customer Reviews for

Wanted!

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    On the run Riley S 2/20/13 Wanted by Caroline B. Cooney Wanted

    On the run
    Riley S
    2/20/13
    Wanted by Caroline B. Cooney
    Wanted is a very good, suspenseful book .It’s about a young girl who loses her father and is on a search for his killer. The entire time I was reading it I was about to jump off of my seat. I would suggest this book to anyone who likes mystery stories or murder stories. Caroline B. Cooney has a way of making the book suspenseful as the main character runs away from her father’s death throughout the book. She really hooks the reader with her realistic plot throughout the book. She also has some other similar stories that creepily hook the reader’s attention throughout the book like “The Stranger”, “Thirteen” and “The vampires promise”. She is a very well-known author. This book was published by scholastic INC and can be bought for $7.99 at Barnes and Noble.
    The main character of the book is a sophomore in high school named Alice. One day, she was painting her nails and her dad called and told her to get the secret “twin” file out of his desk and drive his beloved Corvette to her favorite ice-cream parlor to meet him .Then an intruder broke into the house and Alice hid and over heard him saying “I killed him good”(180). She then left and went to the ice-cream parlor and ate some ice-cream, but he never showed. She called her mom and her mom said she received an email Alice hadn’t really sent saying she killed her dad by accident when she really didn’t. She drove the corvette to the mall then hitchhiked to an elementary school then hitchhiked to a college and did some research on the “twin file” and she realized what he was killed over. She kept running from all her family, friends, and cops. Then she finds out who took her father away from her. You would never guess.
    This is a very fast paced book; a lot can happen over two pages. For example on pages (11-13) someone broke into her house and killed her dad. The setting changed a million times throughout the book. There are also many side characters throughout the book like police men and college students she met. Even her dad’s old friend was mentioned. Some of the symbols in the book were that during the whole book Alice knew her father’s killer and had always disliked him .Another Symbol in this book is that Her father told her to drive his beloved corvette to the ice-cream parlor and no one but him had ever driven it he was very protective of it. Alice doesn’t even have her permit yet he let her drive it with no hesitation.
    This is an excellent murder story. I would definitely suggest it to anyone who likes mystery stories. My favorite thing about this book is how the author keeps you on your toes with the suspenseful things that happen in the book. In the end when she found out who the killer was gave me chill bumps. I loved the suspenseful ending of the book. Overall it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    January 9, 2013 Searching Cory Capell Wanted Caroline B. Cooney

    January 9, 2013
    Searching
    Cory Capell
    Wanted
    Caroline B. Cooney




    Teenagers and young people tend to turn to high conflict books because they hook the reader and keep it interesting. Books with high conflict challenge your imagination throughout the book. In Wanted a very suspenseful, high conflict murder story. Caroline B. Cooney shows how murder can become a huge influence and challenge on a teenager’s life.
    At age 65 Cooney has written over 90 suspense, mystery, and romance novels for young people and teenagers. In this book Cooney shows her skill by the way she wrote this very suspenseful mystery. Cooney really draws you into the book within the first few pages. The challenges that the book brings to the main character Alice won’t let you put the book down.
    The main character of the book is Alice. She is a young teenager without her license. Her world gets turned upside down with a panicked call from her father. She can tell something is wrong with her father, and feels almost like someone is listing to their conversation. Alice’s father tells her to grab two disks named “Twin” out of his desk and drive to her favorite ice cream place out in the country. Then the call was over. Alice was shocked because she didn’t even have her license and why would her dad be so panicked, was he in trouble?
    Throughout the book Alice faces several challenges. Never in her life has she been in a situation like this. Later in the book she is accused of murdering her father. She was flabbergasted and terrified, “Alice had to wait until her heart had stopped jumping around before she could move, because sitting still was too scary” (79). Alice was on the run. She was wanted by the police and she was driving without a license. To top it off she was in a bright red corvette so everyone noticed the car and she couldn’t drive well so she couldn’t go undetected. 
    In the book she is faced with many mental and physical challenges. Often she would break down and cry. Alice didn’t have a good place to sleep and not a lot to eat. So this young girl had it tough. Will she make it? If you want to know you should read this book. I’m not the reading type but I would recommend it to all my friends. This book was very interesting and I don’t even like to read but at times I didn’t even want to put this suspenseful book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who killed him?

    In the book Wanted, by Caroline B. Cooney there was many interesting parts. One of them was that the main character Alice Robie¿s father was murdered. They think it was Alice because she was the only one home when this mysterious killing happened. The police must catch the murderer. Alice is WANTED, The police are chasing her as she runs. Who do you think killed Marc Robie?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Joy, love books, hate bad books,

    This book was great and very well written, i can't imagine any other book like this one be any better...i can't wait til i read another one of her books...if you haven't read it you have to...it was a thriller and i just couldn't put it down...i could go on forever telling you how much i got in trouble for staying up late to read more...plus it was so descriptive i could imagine exactly what was going on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    A Good Edge-of-Your-Seat Story

    I don't usually read books like this. Ever. I'm always afraid I will get scared because I get scared easily. This one scared me a little, but not too much. It was an interesting story, I read it in a night, so it kept me interested. I just didn't like how Alice handled the situation. I don't think any 15 year old would think to do those things. (But, then again, there wouldn't be a story.) I figured out the killer probably half way between the middle and the end, so it didn't come as a surprise when Alice confronted this person. Anyways, it was a good read, and just like her other book, Twins, it was just to occupy my time. I heard that Caroline B. Cooney was an amazing writer, but I'm not impressed by this book to read her other work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    What alice seen that nobody could

    Great book. I am currently reading the book and am in 6th grade. It is a very good mystery book that all should enjoy. This book deals with crime and enforcement, order and redemption

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Great Book

    I thoght is was a great book, good plot, but some parts are just to obvous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    Loved the book!!

    This book was awesome! It was really suspenseful. It's a reallyy good book to read for a report.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    ok!

    to me this book was really good first i thought it was corney!but then it had started to be good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Pretty good!

    I haven't finished yet, but, it's really good so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    incredible

    I'm 11 years old and hardly read but i picked it up and couldn't stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    Excellent Suspense

    This book is an on the edge of your seat kind of book. The storyline of a girl escaping her fathers killer and finding out the truth behind his murder is a great storyline. I loved this book because of all the twists and turns that keep the reader interested. Just when you think you know what is going on you have to think again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1