Customer Reviews for

Wanted: Wife

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were really develope

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were really developed well and the story was great.

Julie is a TV reporter and is engaged to Richard, the man of her dreams. With her wedding in just two weeks, Richard dumps her. He makes her life miserable in the span o...
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were really developed well and the story was great.

Julie is a TV reporter and is engaged to Richard, the man of her dreams. With her wedding in just two weeks, Richard dumps her. He makes her life miserable in the span of 24 hours.

Right after Julie is dumped, she and her cameraman, Denny, hear about how some guy is advertising for a wife by hanging up flyers. They decide to check it out in case they can get a news story from it. Julie walks over to the man who is looking for a wife and sees Andy for the first time. She was expecting someone not very good looking and instead this man is gorgeous and sexy with a killer smile. Instant attraction. Andy agrees to let her do a story about him trying to find a wife. At the end of the interview process, Andy decides he wants Julie to be his wife. He offers her a proposition that Julie just cannot refuse.

The rest of the story is how they become man and wife in name only to a real married couple. There were a lot of funny, sexy and even sweet emotional scenes. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good story, with a good happy ending.

posted by tsmb02 on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

No stars

Pornography in capital letters. Had to skip so many pages - left very few pages to read. I won't be reading anything else by this person.

posted by 10878319 on December 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were really develope

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were really developed well and the story was great.

    Julie is a TV reporter and is engaged to Richard, the man of her dreams. With her wedding in just two weeks, Richard dumps her. He makes her life miserable in the span of 24 hours.

    Right after Julie is dumped, she and her cameraman, Denny, hear about how some guy is advertising for a wife by hanging up flyers. They decide to check it out in case they can get a news story from it. Julie walks over to the man who is looking for a wife and sees Andy for the first time. She was expecting someone not very good looking and instead this man is gorgeous and sexy with a killer smile. Instant attraction. Andy agrees to let her do a story about him trying to find a wife. At the end of the interview process, Andy decides he wants Julie to be his wife. He offers her a proposition that Julie just cannot refuse.

    The rest of the story is how they become man and wife in name only to a real married couple. There were a lot of funny, sexy and even sweet emotional scenes. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good story, with a good happy ending.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    recommend

    This was a fun story. I was not sure how the story was going to evolve. I did enjoy the read and how the characters were developed.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Greatstory

    Really enjoyable read. Has all the elements for a great romance

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A flyer on a telephone pole advertising for a wife is just one o

    A flyer on a telephone pole advertising for a wife is just one of many oddities in Julie’s life at the moment.  Although Andy Devine is just that, and not surprisingly she is what he wants.  Contracting for a wife his cool and calculating manner suits her down on men attitude perfectly.  




    Julie is smart and curious: willing to work hard and surprising herself and Andy with her determination.  Andy is a master at distraction, whether it is from his sheer sex appeal and sensual manner, or diverting with his French, his history is shared in small bits with great difficulty. 




    As these two learn to work together and trust one another, the one constant is the sexual attraction.  And if anyone, after reading this story can pretend that French isn’t one of the most seductive and sexy languages to declare that “I love the way you ____ me” (and you can fill in the blank):  You Are Lying!   Their sexual chemistry, Julie’s inner voicing talking about the shattering effect Andy has on her, and the pure romanticism of the French all combine to make those sections of the story steamy hot – and it infiltrates almost every interaction between Andy and Julie. 




    Gwen Jones has taken an off-beat idea for a plot starter, and against all odds made a romance that is both believable and incredibly enjoyable.  Even supporting characters are developed with an eye to their purpose for the plot, with their interactions bringing a bit of relief from the highly charged interactions between Andy and Julie.    A great story all around, I tore through the pages hoping for the HEA that both characters so deserve. 




    I received a Galley copy from the publisher for purpose of honest review for the Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions were my own responsibility.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Starting

    I beenn thinking to read another book but i just keep on reading the sample over and over like almodt a billion times

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Wonderful book and worth buying!!!!

    Great new author. I am very excited to read more by her. The story is a wonderfully written contemporary romance. I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Enjoyable

    This was a quick enjoyable read. Now Andy's brother neeeds a wife!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Excellent read

    Highly developed and likable characters, many surprising twists, and a strong sub plot as well. This is not just a comedy but an clever study in human character. I definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Wonderfully witty and very sexy story. May not be for the squeam

    Wonderfully witty and very sexy story. May not be for the squeamish of heart, but hey love should be sexy no? This is a fantastic debut for an obviously very talented author. Clever and unique story line that keeps you reading until you figure out what motivates Andy and how they will make this work. I loved it and highly recommend it. Love this new author!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly recommended

    If you love strong women and the men that care about them read this. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    A sizzling page turner.

    This is a hot, sexy fast paced read. It got my blood flowing...this is a sizzling page turner. Enjoy it and make sure you have a glass of ice water handy to cool down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Very good book. Captured my attention right away and I could hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    Great story....Recommend Very Highly!!

    Great story....Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Jerika

    Egfghfxgydz nlgga

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Fun Read!

    I didn't think this book would be super great, but I actually read it all in one evening! The characters were fun to read about. This book contained some steamy scenes, but nothing too graphic. I would HIGHLY recommend this book for anyone looking for a fun flirty romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    recommend this read

    agood book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    So funny

    This book is great a little predictive at times but shocking at others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Absoulutly AMAZING A must read

    Absoulutly adorable. Like every girls dream with some real life bad things tjrown in. I was absoulutly glued to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Bring on more stories by this author!!

    I've read thousands of romance novels, this is my first review. I have to say I absolutely loved this book! It was an easy read, but more importantly a great story!! I hope Gwen comes out with more stories. These character's will stay with me for a very long time!! Good job Gwen!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    I read this book in one day. Could not put it down! What a great

    I read this book in one day. Could not put it down! What a great story and i will definately be looking for more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3