Customer Reviews for

WAR

Average Rating 4
( 611 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

This Book Brings The War Home!

With a country at war, two wars, we only hear about the war. This book, which is engrossing from page one, brings the war home. I am most impressed by Junger's decision to not hold back. There isn't the fluff or sensationalism that you see on the news. You see the grit ...
With a country at war, two wars, we only hear about the war. This book, which is engrossing from page one, brings the war home. I am most impressed by Junger's decision to not hold back. There isn't the fluff or sensationalism that you see on the news. You see the grit and the true sacrifice that theses brave individuals face every day. I applaud our troops and I love this book.

posted by TB72 on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Save Your Money!

I saw this book by Mr. Junger and thought it would be a great read. Upon finishing the book, however, I have changed my mind. I believe Mr. Junger took his notes from his time in Afghanistan, threw them in a blender, put a cover on them, and sent them out the door to ...
I saw this book by Mr. Junger and thought it would be a great read. Upon finishing the book, however, I have changed my mind. I believe Mr. Junger took his notes from his time in Afghanistan, threw them in a blender, put a cover on them, and sent them out the door to an unsuspecting reading public. There was very little background development of the fine soldiers depicted in the book, and the narrative jumped around to the point that it was difficult to determine when and where a particular event was occurring. This is a book I lost interest in quickly and would not have even bothered to finish it except for the fact that it was mercifully short. I expected more from Mr. Junger and was very disappointed.

posted by BigTexReader on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Brings The War Home!

    With a country at war, two wars, we only hear about the war. This book, which is engrossing from page one, brings the war home. I am most impressed by Junger's decision to not hold back. There isn't the fluff or sensationalism that you see on the news. You see the grit and the true sacrifice that theses brave individuals face every day. I applaud our troops and I love this book.

    27 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    A fine, fine book ...

    ...perhaps the finest I have ever read. Evocative. 'War' reminds me of Robert Mason's 'Chickenhawk'.

    A masterpiece for all of time by Sebastian Junger.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Outstanding.

    And that's coming from a Marine.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful insight into the soldier's experience in Afghanistan

    Mr. Junger does not attempt to analyze the war, explore the politics behind it, nor glory in the tactics or technology. He does give a detailed and powerful account of the day-to-day life solders face in the war. Unlike Vietnam, U.S. media--particularly television--seems unable or unwilling to provide this kind of insight. Read the book so you'll understand what we are asking of our 18-20 year old (mostly) sons. Then you can decide if the results are worth the effort and cost.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Visceral and Touching Expose'

    Fantastic book about the boots on the ground protecting our families day in and out. We owe our freedom to these men and it is great to getto know them a little and exactly what they are going thrugh over there, for us and our children. God Bless America

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    good reading

    it was a snap shot of how it really is there

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    a great book that tells what i

    about This book really tells what our soilders are going through.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Second to none...

    Sebastian Junger does an amazing job with his counter-part the late Tim Hetherington in integrating into the frontlines with the U.S. Army's 173rd AIRBORNE. The stories and events that the soldies share and endure with these two men is amazing and inspiring. A MUST READ for anyone who is in the services or is into history! 20 years from now the work these two men did will help shape the social history books of the men fighting at the tip of the spear on the war on terrorism!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Well-written

    It is an important book providing insight into something i have felt, but only partially understood: War is exciting despite being so terrible. It feels good to win, and you form a brotherhood of people who die for each other, reminding me of the group dynamics of some cultures that believe in saving face.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Best book on the war

    Good book also read Cindy in Iraq which tells of the KBR truck driver side

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Absolutely loved

    I have watched the documentary countless times. Now reading this just as many. It takes you deeper into the psyche. <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Airborne! Great Read

    My Army Unit went to meet Mr.Junger at a book release and movie review, and this guy is the truth. Coming from a U.S. Vet I was pleased in the way Mr. Junger captured this story, by far one of the best short reads I've read this year. For anyone who understands the the difficulty of Operation Enduring Freedom you won't be disappointed. All the way, Airborne!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    War

    Best book! THANK A SOLIDER next time you see one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    This is War

    If you have a child wanting to serve our Country let them read this The comment says horrible but this is War you might not like it but thank a Soilder next time you see one. Book is real talk from the front lines, straight talk,,good and honest. Thank You to all that have served our Country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Wow!

    I absolutely loved this book and even watched the documentary, Restrepo, two times. Regardless of one's political stance, this book made it possible to see the human side of it. I am so glad I added it to my library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    This book is so cool!

    I couldnt believe how in depth this book got, kept me interested throughout. From the psychology of war to the personal naratives from soldiers, i loooved this book. Deffinately recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Excellent- highly recommended

    A very personal account of the action in a remote outpost in Afghanistan. I enjoyed it and have a deep respect for the American service man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Heart pounding!!

    The book WAR by Sebastian Junger is a heart pumping non-fiction novel about real life war experiences. Sebastian is a writer who decided to go deep into the korengal valley in Afghanistan with a group of high ranked soldiers of the second platoon for a fifteen month period of time, to get upfront and personal with war. This book contains many intense experiences such as fire fights which is code name for non-stop shooting from both sides. During these "fire fights" the soldiers are firing were they think the enemies are, and are receiving shots but it is normally unknown were the other stands, these acts of pity cause for a few casualties that Sebastian has to endure during he time being out in the valley. The platoon rats out plenty of Taliban but also gets hit from all sides. This book gets the platoon deeper and deeper into the Korengal and by the end of the fifteen month excursion, the men pull out to let the new men come to conquer the valley. "This pounding adventure is not the last" say's Sebastian at the end of this novel, "there is more to come and more to be documented, lay it on me!". This books message is to show what strength and courage the soldiers of the U.S are and is trying to get people to pay more respect to the for there hard work. I like how while I was reading this book I was able to no that it was real, and non of the things in it were made up. My dislikes about this book was that they went to in-depth about the soldiers at the being. My belifes are that if you can handle sad but honorable non-fiction books then you should read it, it is amazing. This book is killer and I loved it, cant wait for his next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    highly recommend- a must read

    Sebastian Junger wrote a truly remarkable book after his duty in Afghanistan with the soldiers from Battle Company, I love the way Sebastian wrote this book using 3 parts that all had some different meaning. Even though this book is very short in appearance, it has a meaning to it that shows what these soldiers experienced and how they lived in the most dangerous valley in the Afghanistan. What is best about this book is that he doesn't research it, he was actually there to witness this happening, and what these men think and what they said to him, not just something someone told him. The down sides are that it is a very short book and can be a little over the top with things that he describes, but he does put the war in Afghanistan into a very real and scary perception that makes it seem right outside your front door. Mr.Junger wrote a truly outstanding book during those terrible 15 months of his career.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Everyone should read this!!!

    This was one of the best books that I have read in a long time. There is a movie about this called Restrepo named after their medic that lost his life in the Korongal Valley. I have actually read this book 3 times since November and it is just as good the third time as it was the first time I read it. I suggest this to anyone that would like a very indepth look into what some soldiers have experienced while deployed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 317 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16