Customer Reviews for

War Horse

Average Rating 4.5
( 1713 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1140)

4 Star

(334)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

108 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Read for All Horselovers

War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple,...
War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple, yet it gives you a heartwarming feeling that Satisfies the books end. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Good story, but too many grammatical errors.

This is a great story, however the ebook version is wrought full of grammatical errors and misspelled words. At one point it skips a whole paragraph. Purchase at your own risk.

posted by dizazter on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1719 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 86
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    A Wonderful Read for All Horselovers

    War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple, yet it gives you a heartwarming feeling that Satisfies the books end. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.

    108 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    a great book

    this book is awsome full of excitment but sadness its the story of a horses life during the war many people who read this will get done and take a deep breath and say man what a good book and read it again.

    81 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Good short read

    Story brought tears to my eyes. Any animal lover should enjoy

    63 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Beautiful Story!

    I wish I had known about this book when I was still teaching 5th/6th grade. It would have been a wonderful addition to my English/Language Arts Horse Unit. My students would have loved it. I can't wait to see the movie!

    53 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Best Friends are Never forgoten

    This is one of the best books that I have read. If you like war stories and actions this one is definetly for you. Yet it is appropriate for the young readers also. This unique way the story was told through a horse was amazing. I have never read anything like it. The story is complete and you are able to connect with the characters right off the bat. This book will leave you with a new insight of a horse and the feelings they have if you don't already know. Worthy of your time and money.

    41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good story, but too many grammatical errors.

    This is a great story, however the ebook version is wrought full of grammatical errors and misspelled words. At one point it skips a whole paragraph. Purchase at your own risk.

    27 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Wonderful read!

    I love horses and history, and this was an inspirational story told from the horse's own brave perspective. A truly wonderful read.

    24 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    This is a MUST Read!!

    This is a fantastic story told through the eyes of the horse. It truly is an amazing book. I am so glad to have read it before the movie came out. The author really captures the horses spirit. It shows that horses, like people, have tough times and happy times and with determination, you can accomplish your dreams.

    21 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great book

    The best horse book I have read in forever! Really heart warming story! Great for horse lovers, but sad parts!

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Enjoyed this book.

    As someone who has been horse crazy all her life, I just had to read this book. It was a good read. I really felt what the horse felt. I read it in one sitting.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing

    Great book, it is a must read!!! I enjoyed it a lot, it has a happy ending and only one small sad part!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Best book ever

    Best book ( and movie ) ever! I recomend it to the world! : )

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Wonder book, good overcomes all.

    This is a book that is bigger than life itself. Kept me on my toes could not put it down. Loved it.


    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Fantastic

    I am 13 and I highly recommend this book to history and horse lovers! It has great imagery and foreshadowing!

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Like this one? Then read...

    Traveler, by Richard Adams. It is the story of General Robert E. Lee's horse during the Civil War. The story is also written from the horse's point of view during a war. Beautifully written and very moving! Frankly, It's a grown-up's version of War Horse.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Soccergirl

    War Horse is a great book very detailed and perfect for all those horse lovers out there or anyone! It was very different than the movie but both were great i definately reccomend it for ages 7 and up. Also for all those horse lovers we need the my horse app for nooks! Care for your own horse and more! We NEED it on nook for free!!!! CLICK yes if you agree.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    GOOD READ

    THIS WAS A WONDERFUL STORY! I actually could not put the book down and ended up finishing it in one day. I would recommend. Good Reading for pre-teens...

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    April10,2012

    I saw the movie it was good should i get the book?

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Awsome a million times

    Im glad my teacher bought these for us to read together in class.my teacher rules in 5th grade

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Perspective

    This is a easy book to glide through in about a day or two. I would suggest taking it on a short road trip and cruising through it along the way if you can be lucky enough to have a driver. The story itself will keep you turning the page, and I thought the perspective of everything coming from the horse was neat. It's definitely a book I would suggest to younger readers if only for an understanding of the terrible environment surrounding WWI. It doesn't conjure up images of endless blood and gore but rather paints a somber mindset - one where neither side understands why the fight goes on without end. All in all, it's well-worth the limited time required to enjoy its delivery.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1719 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 86