Customer Reviews for

War Horse

Average Rating 4.5
( 1745 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1158)

4 Star

(339)

3 Star

(142)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

116 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Read for All Horselovers

War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple,...
War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple, yet it gives you a heartwarming feeling that Satisfies the books end. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Good story, but too many grammatical errors.

This is a great story, however the ebook version is wrought full of grammatical errors and misspelled words. At one point it skips a whole paragraph. Purchase at your own risk.

posted by dizazter on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Like this one? Then read...

    Traveler, by Richard Adams. It is the story of General Robert E. Lee's horse during the Civil War. The story is also written from the horse's point of view during a war. Beautifully written and very moving! Frankly, It's a grown-up's version of War Horse.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Perspective

    This is a easy book to glide through in about a day or two. I would suggest taking it on a short road trip and cruising through it along the way if you can be lucky enough to have a driver. The story itself will keep you turning the page, and I thought the perspective of everything coming from the horse was neat. It's definitely a book I would suggest to younger readers if only for an understanding of the terrible environment surrounding WWI. It doesn't conjure up images of endless blood and gore but rather paints a somber mindset - one where neither side understands why the fight goes on without end. All in all, it's well-worth the limited time required to enjoy its delivery.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Nostalgic read

    Picked this up because I saw the play last summer and adored it. Passed on the movie. I knew going in it was YA. The story is very much a throwback to Black Beauty: narrative from the horse's point of view, lost beloved master, equine "friends," going to war, etc. Having said all that, I enjoyed the book. It's not sentimental and shows the horrors of WWI (and all wars) in great detail. In fact, I would consider this an anti-war book rather than an animal book for the purposes of young readers. Recommended.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    A good read from a horse's point of view

    I liked this book, but I think maybe the ending could've been a little different. I'm anxious to see the movie now.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    This book....

    This book is a ffantastic book but I dont think it was long enough!!!!!! IT could jave had alot mpre to the story! I think that 120 pages was not enough! Not to mention not all of it was the actual book!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Nice Read

    When taken into account that it was written for a young reader, it is a nicely written book and a heart-warming story.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Omg

    Usually the book is always better than the movie. With The War Horse, the movie is much better than the book. I finished this book in 2 hours, and while a very touching story, i could have spent my money on a much better book. I suppose this this a good read for kids..adults..go see the movie with your kids!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Great For Younger Folks!

    Great book for young horse lovers- in the tradition of Black Beauty. Not as much depth as someone who is older would like. Easy, feel-good read though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Good, easy read.

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was an easy read with a nice story. For one of my first Nook book purchases, I appreciate that I can lend it to my friends, a bonus since the motion picture was just released.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Very quick read...

    Liked the book. Would not say it was a super great book but it had some good qualities. Kept me interested, the author did a good job with describing the characters, and it had some tearful moments in the book but i never cried. Was a little disappointed with the ending ... felt a little let down. All in all was worth the 5.00 i spent and only took 2 days to read. The real reason for reading this was to get ready for the movie...hope the movie is better!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    ???

    Is this a good book or not? Please reaspond soon please please please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    To LightClan cats

    An old Clan. Now go back to camp please. Shadowheart. Deputy of LightClan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    To amber

    Wild horses at result eleven

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Ummm.. Ummm.....

    I havent heard about the movie, love horses, dont unferstand the med cat idea, and hope its close to dream horse( a totally good book you should read it) should i get this this book? Its a hard choice.sad books are somtimes good lesson books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    To this clan.

    Please change your name. The real Horseclan, who originally d sunnystar and lilystar as leader is still here. We were here first so please change.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    .

    I really love this book and the nook, but the thing that would make the nook even more amazing is minecraft. So many more nerds would get the nook if they knew it had their beloved minecraft. I am begging you, please get minecraft.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Good book my brothas

    Good book stay cool bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A good read. I haven't seen the movie, but did enjoy the story about this horse who survived some very turbulent times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    If you are a horselover look at this

    If you are a horselover at least do nnot watch the movie a horse like gets stuck in barbed wire and alot die i do not know about the book though that is just what i heard from a friend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Orthis

    Hey. I am trying to do something. Free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8