Customer Reviews for

War Horse

Average Rating 4.5
( 1728 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1146)

4 Star

(338)

3 Star

(141)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

116 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Read for All Horselovers

War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple,...
War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple, yet it gives you a heartwarming feeling that Satisfies the books end. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Good story, but too many grammatical errors.

This is a great story, however the ebook version is wrought full of grammatical errors and misspelled words. At one point it skips a whole paragraph. Purchase at your own risk.

posted by dizazter on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Good short read

    Story brought tears to my eyes. Any animal lover should enjoy

    67 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Beautiful Story!

    I wish I had known about this book when I was still teaching 5th/6th grade. It would have been a wonderful addition to my English/Language Arts Horse Unit. My students would have loved it. I can't wait to see the movie!

    57 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Enjoyed this book.

    As someone who has been horse crazy all her life, I just had to read this book. It was a good read. I really felt what the horse felt. I read it in one sitting.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wow

    This book tugged at my heart strings.. Very good and easy read. I recommend this for everyone!! I wanted to read before I go see the movie.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    War Horse is an excellent and easy read

    Really enjoyed this book. Found it a relaxing and easy read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Short, Simple & Worth the Read..

    I was surprised when I started reading that it was narrated through the voice of the horse, Joey. However, I found it charming and refreshing. I just saw the movie and was glad I read the book first. It was much more meaningful and I was able to be more deeply associated with the characters (people and horses) because I read the book. Highly recommend it even if you've already seen the movie. It will surely fill in all the blanks and enrich the story....

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great book

    As good as ramona, tree house, junie b,red pyrimaid, black stallion, summer pony and winter pony! AWSOME MOVIE im 10

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend!

    Excellent book. Quick read but brings war home to you. Recommended for all ages.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book, even though it’s supposed to be for youth. It was interesting being told from the horses’ perspective. Really enjoyed the movie as well.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Next Black Beauty!

    Very good book! I would rate this 4.5 if I could!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    To the one ho needs advice

    Dont feed her any treats for at least a month and change her reg food if his doesnt help go back to th first food you fed it and lay off the treatd entirely

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Nice story

    I have not seen the movie. But this is a sweet story about a boy and his horse and the long journey of war.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    War Horse just recently became a favorite book of mine. It is a

    War Horse just recently became a favorite book of mine. It is a story that connects generations of readers together. The simple writing style about the war is beautifully done.

    The story is told from the point of view of Joey, a horse who grows up on the farm with his favorite boy, Albert, living each day peacefully as it breezes by. Later, Joey is forced to perform the grueling and crippling work of a war horse. In some ways, this book could be compared to Black Beauty, also told through the eyes of a horse. But this story focuses on terrible war, and the predicaments that no human or animal should ever have to endure. Yes, there is much bloodshed and conflict in the book, but it is still fit to be a good children's story, especially for young adventurous readers.

    Ah! I do believe I've read the first page at least half a dozen times. My favorite sentences from the first page are quoted below:

    "My earliest memories are a confusion of hilly fields and dark, damp stables, and rats that scampered along the beams above my head." .... "I was not yet six months old, a gangling, leggy colt who had never been farther than a few feet from his mother."

    Horses were an important deciding factor of who would win the battles during World War I. Without horses, the soldiers couldn't move machinery, gather the dead, or charge the enemy. Horses were a must-have, no matter which side of the battle you were on. That is why Joey was such an important horse.

    "No horse, no guns. No horse, no ammunition. No horse, no cavalry. No horse, no ambulances. No horse, no water for the troops at the front."

    This is a very enjoyable book! I think I may have to read it again someday.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Good story,short, recommend.

    Good story,short, recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    From Thomas

    U there bree?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Wonderfully inspirational

    This beautiful story of man and horse passionately blends history and the lives that are affected by mindless world war. Grabs your attention immediately. Emphasizing the horse's voice sets the mood and keeps the reader wanting more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This was a entertaining book. Being written with the perceptive of the horse reminded me of Black Beauty. There is a nice twist of the plot in the end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Beautiful, emotional

    A quick read. Wonderful story told through the eyes of a majestic animal.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great story

    I was afraid this would be too sad to be good, but it had just as many happy moments. Really liked it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Charming

    Overall it was a pretty good read. I did however think it relied too heavily on the reader's ability to believe in many highly unlikely events and characters. If you are wiling to read this with an open mind though, you will enjoy War Horse.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17