BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

War Horse

Average Rating 4.5
( 1722 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1144)

4 Star

(336)

3 Star

(140)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

112 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Read for All Horselovers

War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple,...
War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple, yet it gives you a heartwarming feeling that Satisfies the books end. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Good story, but too many grammatical errors.

This is a great story, however the ebook version is wrought full of grammatical errors and misspelled words. At one point it skips a whole paragraph. Purchase at your own risk.

posted by dizazter on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 58
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    A Wonderful Read for All Horselovers

    War Horse is one of my favorite books. The author does an amazing job of telling an exciting story through a young horse's eyes. The tale explains everything exactly as you would expect this young stallion to, and has one of the best endings i have ever read, so simple, yet it gives you a heartwarming feeling that Satisfies the books end. I recommend this book to all animal lovers.

    112 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    a great book

    this book is awsome full of excitment but sadness its the story of a horses life during the war many people who read this will get done and take a deep breath and say man what a good book and read it again.

    83 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Best Friends are Never forgoten

    This is one of the best books that I have read. If you like war stories and actions this one is definetly for you. Yet it is appropriate for the young readers also. This unique way the story was told through a horse was amazing. I have never read anything like it. The story is complete and you are able to connect with the characters right off the bat. This book will leave you with a new insight of a horse and the feelings they have if you don't already know. Worthy of your time and money.

    41 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Wonderful read!

    I love horses and history, and this was an inspirational story told from the horse's own brave perspective. A truly wonderful read.

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great book

    The best horse book I have read in forever! Really heart warming story! Great for horse lovers, but sad parts!

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing

    Great book, it is a must read!!! I enjoyed it a lot, it has a happy ending and only one small sad part!!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Best book ever

    Best book ( and movie ) ever! I recomend it to the world! : )

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Wonder book, good overcomes all.

    This is a book that is bigger than life itself. Kept me on my toes could not put it down. Loved it.


    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Fantastic

    I am 13 and I highly recommend this book to history and horse lovers! It has great imagery and foreshadowing!

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Soccergirl

    War Horse is a great book very detailed and perfect for all those horse lovers out there or anyone! It was very different than the movie but both were great i definately reccomend it for ages 7 and up. Also for all those horse lovers we need the my horse app for nooks! Care for your own horse and more! We NEED it on nook for free!!!! CLICK yes if you agree.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Awsome a million times

    Im glad my teacher bought these for us to read together in class.my teacher rules in 5th grade

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    War horse

    This book and movie was the best ever. I pretty much cried the whole time but im glade i read it! I strongly incourage any one to read this book because you won't be the same you do. You will relize what kind on bond a person and animal can have. This book shows you to ever stop looking for the one you love.

    Honestly this book is worth way more than 5 stars!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Good book!

    I enjoyed this book. Setting is WW 1. The story is told by Joey, a young horse, about his adventures from the moment he was auctioned off as a young colt.
    It was fun to read a story told from a horses point of view.
    A very quick read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Best book ever

    I have read this book twice already and will read it again. The movie was good but the book is even better. The book is told by Joey, the horse and set in England and France during WW I. Because Joey tells the story we gain an understanding of his emotions, how he feels about Albert, Albert's father, the other horses and other characters in the book. The text is descriptive and some young readers will have difficulty with some of the vocabulary but if one sticks with it, one will not be disappointed. Highly recommend to individuals from ages twelve to adult.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Book and movie

    The book was amazing with only a few sad parts. The movie was touching and occasionally funny with a few gross parts and one graphic part. The movie added alot of parts that weren' t in the book and changed up alot of details, good movie though.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Wonderful story. The historical basis of the story should be known and remembered.

    Interesting to read, very different because it is from the point of view of the horse. Believe it or not, I did not realize that I was reading a children's book until I got to the question and answer section at the end - I bought it for $4.99 for my nook: never looked at the name of the publisher, was interested because the movie was in theaters, did wonder why the book was only 110 pages, recommended it to other adults as I was reading it. I was surprised and laughed when I discovered the genre. I still liked the book, and it's story, very much.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Best book

    This book is the best book ever. I went to see the movie and it was so sad but a good movie!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Awsoe book Awsome book

    This a good sample book it gave me a little of the book and what it was going 2 be about and i think that the book is going 2 be better than the movie

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!!

    This book is soo good. This book really messes with your emotions. I cried soo much while reading it!!!! Best book ever!!! I ddefintily recommond it!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Fantastic Book!

    I'm a horse lover and I thought, I'm going to read this book and cry my eyes out. But, it actually made me smile at the end. It honestly reminded me a lot of Black Beauty. Very well written! I read in less than a day :) Keeps you wanting to know more and learn a bit of what horses went through on the battlefields. Anxious to see the movie now, but I'm sure the book is so much better!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 58