Customer Reviews for

War Stories: Operation Iraqi Freedom

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    This book is a series of snapshots in time covering the exploits

    This book is a series of snapshots in time covering the exploits of Marines and Soldiers in combat. Since it is written by a Marine, the stories are told from their perspective as opposed to being filtered by the media. It is a positive portrayal of the events in Iraq. Oliver Norths (Author) views are not all that different from many of the troops he writes about, and aren't affected by the media. If you support the troops, or know one, and you want to understand what their life is like...you will love this book. If you do not support the troops and/or the only one you have ever met was an actor playing one on a Hollywood screen set...you will hate this book. Read it if you are thinking about joining the military because it tells what war is like in a real way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    winning the war on terror

    'war stories' is a very special bestseller. it is not only a tribute to the brave men and women serving in the war in iraq but it also shows what is really going on and not being spun by the press or certain politicans who have agendas.Col oliver north went over their to the combat zone and this book shows really what the facts are and I learned alot from our soldiers and what they do for our freedom.the book is very fast reading and has lots of great research and even includes a cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Tales from the other side of the war...

    Written from his own battle field notes and memories, the retired, Lieutenant Colonel Oliver North, wrote the book, War Stories, as a testament to the abilities and honor of the United States military personnel in Iraq, and as a revelation to the widespread hatred they receive from the media at home. The book begins with Lt. Col. North¿s description of the May 1, 2003, trip of President George W. Bush to the USS Abraham Lincoln. After a sound defeat of the media¿s depiction of the president¿s arrival via Harrier Jet, Lt. Col. North points out the bias of the media and then progresses to his assignment to the Marine Medium Helicopter Squadron 'HMM' 268, and then to the missions he was able to experience with them and other combat units during Operation Iraqi Freedom. Upon my own completion of this book, I felt I had a better understanding of biases that can be brought about through the media, and the day to day lives of the soldiers currently serving over in Iraq. Each day, while the media passes valuable information on to Americans, there is a large amount of spin, regardless of how obvious, placed upon that information. This spin includes everything from troops who wanted to get into Iraq quickly, so they could get out faster, being accused of being bloodthirsty, the predominantly white, middle class, high school graduates serving in the armed forces being named ¿poor, uneducated minorities,¿ and even the claim in March 2003 that Iraq was becoming a ¿quagmire,¿ as Vietnam had been, because the Pentagon had ordered an ¿operational pause¿ for a combat group which had been trapped in a dust storm to catch up to schedule. The one dislike I had for this book was the loss of objectivity when discussing groups opposed to the war, even though many of these did have a humorous result, which served to liven the book, and take out the ¿research paper¿ flow. I would firmly like to suggest that anyone, who has not done so already, read this book, as it, at the very least, will help them to identify and make reality checks on the information given to them through media and government sources, and will also give them a greater respect for those serving in the armed forces around the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Great Book

    I think its a great book. The accounts in it I can say are truthful since I was there when several happened. I think its outstanding and very accurate. I recommend it to anyone who wants to know the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    The Only Gripping 'On Ground' Account I Can Find

    Col, Candidate, Reporter, and National Icon Oliver North offers a first-hand account of combat operations during Operation Iraqi Freedom that I cannot find elsewhere. Whether you believe these stories or not (as noted in other reviews), it's an amazingly sincere and gripping collection of daily journal entries written by someone who has seen combat many times before, yet North continued to be amazed, shocked, and impressed by what he witnessed. North¿s experience in combat gives him a journalistic advantage anyone coming out of journalism school could only dream of having, and this advantage helped him paint one vivid picture after another of what combat in Iraq was truly like. Success, failure, fear, pride, blood, sweat and tears¿ its all in this book. Until another reporter publishes his or her own battlefield account (and I know they are coming) this book will remain the best source for anyone curious about what modern-day combat has transformed into. I only wish the book was longer because I did not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    War Truth or Fiction?

    I would not recommend this book to ANYONE. I know a soldier who was written about on pages 99-101. What is written in these pages is complete fiction. North describes how he attemped to assault an Army aviator after a request that he made, that was also fictional, was not met. The only thing that was true is that North had a conversation with two MEDEVAC pilots. I would give more details, but I am only allowed 255 characters here. We will never know if all the accounts in this book are true. I really hope that most of them are, because there are about 140 soldiers from an Army Medical Company and others in the MEDEVAC community who are insulted and hurt by the passage written in this book. I would hate to see other soldiers feel this way after sacrificing time away from their families and possibly their own lives during the War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    War Stories like Italian Rifle - Dropped Once

    As a military historian and author, I found Colonel North's book to be closer to a novel. I am currently researching for my next, factual, book, 'Marines in the Garden of Eden.' I have spoken with more than thirty Marines from Task Force Tarawa about the battle of An Nasiriyah. When I picked up 'War Stories' I first read the chapter about Nasiriyah. Colonel North's account of Nasiriyah was so far from the truth that I set the book down. If I can find fault with an area I have researched, I cannot trust his credability elswhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Gripping Reading

    Oliver North's account of his time as an embedded reporter during Operation Iraqi Freedom is indeed gripping reading. His writing is political in many areas of the book, and those who buy the book must certainly have already suspected such. Col. North does not write with the eloquence of Shelby Foote nor the enthralling detail of Gordon Rhea but his subject matter more than compensates. The book was difficult to put down and gives a vivid picture of the truly heroic sacrifice our soldiers, air crews and naval personnel put forth to defend our freedom. Col. North takes a number of well aimed shots at the French, Al Jazeera, and the doomsday military experts/pessimists but this does not dominate the writing. Those who argued American troops couldn't win this battle because of 'easy' recent vistories will find the truth is we have the best trained, best equipped, best motivated and most dedicated service personnel in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    True-life account straight from the action...

    Ollie North captured the events of his correspondent role as they happened. These aren't the words on an armchair general written from the safety of the CONUS. Instead, these are the true-to-life accounts of actual events from the field. When I started reading this book, I actually expected more social commentary and judgementalism. What I got was basically a diary account, written in a chronoligal manner as only someone who was there could have captured it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    the total truth

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK THAT IS ABOUT IRAQI FREEDOM AND IT IS A GREAT TRIBUTE TO ALL THE SERVICE MILITARY SOLDIERS WHO ARE KEEPING OUR COUNTRY STRONG. IF YOU WANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE EVIDENCE OF MASS DESTRUCTION ITS ALL PRESENTED HERE AND WHY WE FIGHT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1