BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The War After Armageddon

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This book was fantastic. It takes a 100 pages or so to really develop the plot and get in tune with the main characters. But once completed the story hits you like a ton of bricks. Without giving a lot away, the story centers around religious fanaticism and how fight...
This book was fantastic. It takes a 100 pages or so to really develop the plot and get in tune with the main characters. But once completed the story hits you like a ton of bricks. Without giving a lot away, the story centers around religious fanaticism and how fighting a war in the name of God, Allah, etc. can very easily change the world we live in forever. Two of the worlds largest religions, Christianity and Islam are in an all our war after nuclear bombs are detonated in two major US cities. High ranking officials with significant influence are determined to purge their adversaries religion and their people from the world forever. The collapse of the United States Military and it's Constitution are at stake, as US politician's now look to God for advise on how to win the war and run the country. The reality of the concepts presented in this book are scary to say the least. There are scenes that upset me so much I found myself yelling at the pages, saying, "no, please do not let this happen to my country and its military." Given the United States current enemies the concepts the authors present are not as far fetched as we may think. This is a book that will stay with the reader well after the last page is finished.

posted by JJM0019 on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I thought it would be so much better.

I have always liked books by Ralph Peters. I was looking forward to this book to be on the same level as Harold Coyle or Tom Clancy. A book where you stay up late at night reading because you had to know what was going to happen next. Instead I thought it was a diffi...
I have always liked books by Ralph Peters. I was looking forward to this book to be on the same level as Harold Coyle or Tom Clancy. A book where you stay up late at night reading because you had to know what was going to happen next. Instead I thought it was a difficult read. I didn't care what would happen next and actually had to force myself to read it. I did not like the story at all and it had nothing to do with the political or religious beliefs portrayed. Throughout the story I kept expecting more. The story would hint at something interesting and you were looking forward to further explaination and you never heard about it again.

posted by DCal on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This book was fantastic. It takes a 100 pages or so to really develop the plot and get in tune with the main characters. But once completed the story hits you like a ton of bricks. Without giving a lot away, the story centers around religious fanaticism and how fighting a war in the name of God, Allah, etc. can very easily change the world we live in forever. Two of the worlds largest religions, Christianity and Islam are in an all our war after nuclear bombs are detonated in two major US cities. High ranking officials with significant influence are determined to purge their adversaries religion and their people from the world forever. The collapse of the United States Military and it's Constitution are at stake, as US politician's now look to God for advise on how to win the war and run the country. The reality of the concepts presented in this book are scary to say the least. There are scenes that upset me so much I found myself yelling at the pages, saying, "no, please do not let this happen to my country and its military." Given the United States current enemies the concepts the authors present are not as far fetched as we may think. This is a book that will stay with the reader well after the last page is finished.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The War After Armageddon

    Reading Ralph Peters' dark new novel, The War After Armageddon, is, in a way, much like driving by a grisly traffic accident - the view is horrific, but you just can't look away. Peters' novel is, indeed, compellingly horrific, the plot driven along by a realism that only a writer with this author's background, experience and vision can achieve and pass along to the reader in a dramatic narrative. Peters, today's most insightful strategist when observing in print or in his many TV appearances as guest commentator what is really taking place in the dangerous world around us, has the rare ability to think through and vividly imagine the second-, third-, and even fourth-order effects of policy decisions today's world leaders are making. The hellish world vision that Peters' describes in The War After Armageddon may on the surface seem far-fetched; yet, he's skillfully applied his superb insight as a strategist, experienced intelligence officer, and veteran world traveler to show us what might happen in a world where mankind's oldest motivators - faith and blood - have succeeded in trumping reason and good will.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a powerful cautionary tale

    Israel has been nuked back to the Stone Age. Dirty bombs have devastated the major cities of Europe as well as Las Vegas and Los Angeles too. In fact L.A. is a radioactive desert. Muslin extremists are bringing Jihad to the West just like the West brought death squads seeking Islamic extremists.

    The United Godfearing States of America elects an extremist Christian government. One of the first acts is to modify the National Guard into the Military Order of the Brothers in Christ (MOBIC). With a mess back home of fundamentalist Christians seeking a new Crusade that they hope will lead to the Rapture, Lieutenant General Gary "Flintlock" Harris commands troops on a beach assault of what is left of Israel. He and his fighting force are bringing the war to the Jihadists. High tech weapons of mass destruction have failed so fighting reverts back to pre electronic command and control. The world is on the brink of pandemic genocide as both sides in this religious war claim the Holy Land even if it is a wasteland.

    This is a powerful cautionary tale that warns if present international and internal American relationships continue on the current path hell on earth will occur as religious fundamentalists who proclaim God's mandate makes them right will bring radioactive Crusades to the world. The story line is fast-paced from the moment that Flintlock leads his unit onto the beaches of what was once called Israel, but now is a radioactive wasteland called The Emirate of Al-Quds and Damaskus; a long way from what was Mt. Carmel. Fans will appreciate Ralph Peters' deep thriller except for those who are always righteously right.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    This novel is absolutely stunning; I can only hope that the auth

    This novel is absolutely stunning; I can only hope that the author provides a followup that provides a resolution to the issues put forth in this great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    After DF 2

    Sorry go to third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Fantastic

    Excellent book, easy reading, great for a rainy day, recommend this for a book club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    wonderful

    Great reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1