Customer Reviews for

War and Peace

Average Rating 4
( 476 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(243)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

195 out of 197 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended!!!

War and Peace is a classic that should not be missed by anyone. Leo Tolstoy is a master story teller. The formatting of this ebook was masterful as well. Very professional and no errors. Worth every penny.

posted by luftweg on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Warning to Nook users!

The free eBook version of War and Peace is part III of a multi-volume set. Barnes and Noble does not indicate this, and there is no way to find the other volumes in the set. If really want to read War and Peace on your Nook, go for one of the eBooks that is not free, or...
The free eBook version of War and Peace is part III of a multi-volume set. Barnes and Noble does not indicate this, and there is no way to find the other volumes in the set. If really want to read War and Peace on your Nook, go for one of the eBooks that is not free, or use another web site to get a full copy of the free version.

My apologies to everyone reading this "review" in other editions of the book - B&N doesn't separate reviews by edition. I'm only talking about the free eBook edition translated by Leo Weiner. And I hope that in the future B&N will correctly label it as "War and Peace - Volume III".

posted by dElaphant on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 479 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    A classic

    A pleasure to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A Russian classic. A must read for every Russian culture and his

    A Russian classic. A must read for every Russian culture and history enthusiast.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    ?

    I haven't read this yet. Is it long?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Great read!

    Translation is easy to understand and follow. This version even includes Tolstoy's use of French in conversation, often omitted in some translated versions. Easy to follow, and "War and Peace" as everyone knows, is one of the best novels ever written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Surprisingly accessible book!

    Read a different translation, but I can imagine this one is similar. Decided to take the challenge to read the ultimate in western literature. Certainly is a grand story - but the plot isn't so important is as the asides - the commentaries on life. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    500 pages in, I had to give up.

    After reading several classics, I attempted this (twice. It was just too slow and plodding. Probably a great story. I just couldn't plow through any more grinding detail. Sorry, but I failed to keep interested.

    Paul Florida 8-12-2011

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Good book

    Lots of detail, good historic facts. Only problem is that it is slow in some parts and can be long!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Great little tome

    Good to curl up with in front of the fire with a glass of brandy in one hand. Napoleon doesn't come off too well, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I enjoyed this book. Because of the number of pages, one might be tempted to imagine that the story drags on. It does not. Download to the Nook for 99 cents...a great addition to anyone's library!

    Some reviewers have said they received only exerpts. However, what I have in my Nook is the full 15 books and 2 epilogues of War And Peace--3,939 pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Lots of typos

    I have a paperback copy of the Ann Dunnigan translation with an intro by Pat Conroy and had read nearly half way through it when I received a NOOK. I downloaded the Nookbook Ann Dunnigan translation with an intro by Pat Conroy (brown cover with flag and birds on front) so I could finish it on my Nook and found the section I was reading had several typos and spelling errors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    A timeless masterpiece

    This book serves as an accurate depiction of the War of 1812, with actual historical characters, who struggle through life in search of meaning. A beautifully written book, which is even better if read in Russian, due to the lack of the word power in the translation. I was really dissapointed when I read a number of the assessments written by some of the other 'reviewers'. Only a highly uneducated person could criticize such a work of art, but hopefully those few will soon enough grow up and realize what they have missed. Anyway, it is a really great book. If you were to read only one novel in your lifetime, this has to be the one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Whaa

    I have a fever yaaa i spank my sis causs her butt jiggles when she walks right now im on a plane thinkin bout wheather i should spank my sis whos sitting right next to meeee......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Robin

    I gots ta wite my bio))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Riddleffang

    Back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Fire

    A ginger tom with green eyes padded in. May i join.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Fern

    She looks at the newcomer with peircing green eyes,"yes."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Shadow

    A black she cat with silver eyes pads and asks in a voice that shouldnt belong to an evil cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Jason

    Mel is coming...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Jason's story P2

    Hope realized the danger. Here, any signs of life would be obliteraed in th oncoming wall of despair. In order to barricade, something needed to be awakened. The Gradeon must be risen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    To june 6th

    1547

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 479 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24