Customer Reviews for

War and Peace (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    An Outstanding Book, An Infuriating Cover

    This review isn't for War and Peace (which is one of the greatest novels ever written), but this particular edition. Barnes and Noble Classics provides a wonderful, durable copy with an excellent translation for cheap. Why the loss of the star then? For two reasons. The first is that the footnotes are terrible. Arbitrary material will have a useless footnote and times when it would've been handy are ignored. The second is that the back cover of the book ruins the ending for you. Granted, this is a book widely discussed, so many already know how it turns out however, for the few who don't, this type of thing proves to be absolutely infuriating.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2006

    wounderful

    It took me a year to read Anna karenina and it took me less then a month to read war & peace. This is by far the best work that leo Tolstoy as written. Its amazing how well and life like his charecters can be. he really captures the human emotions of people when they are faced with hard and good times. I also enjoyed how he followed some of his charecters from childhood to adulthood and how their behavior changed with that age. This is by far one of the greatest pieces of literature ever written. I advise teenagers to read this book. Its not a waste of time and this is coming from a 14 year old. Please read this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    You need to understand it

    War and Peace is an outstanding analasyse of human culture, but you need to have a background on literature to be able to understand it, and some knowledge of Russian culture. If you do understand it this can be one of the best books in the world, but if you don't you'll fall asleep before the first chapter is over.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    My Take On Why It Was Written

    Why did Leo Tolstoy write War and Peace?

    I came across an interesting tidbit on the web that said General Kutuzov, having left no heirs, left his estate to the Tolstoy family. I couldn't quite find out whether the author was indeed a member of the family of the beneficiaries of Kutuzov, but in any case, then the case can be made that, at least in part, the novel was written as a way of redeeming Kutuzov's reputation; as it was tarnished by historians up to the time of the writing of the book.

    To this end, Tolstoy excrutiatingly builds the case against those historians who had excoriated Kutuzov, and in the end, demolishes those historians with a compendium of the most brilliant arguments I have ever read.

    The whole point of building his complex web of characters and plots was, to my thinking, to justify Tolstoy's end conclusions.

    Along the way so many topics are covered -- and so well-covered -- that this is a book that should be one everyone's "bucket list". Read this book before you die!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thought Provoking

    I still do not understand this book. I'm like the kid who read Dotsevsky for school. I read Tolstoy again and I still don't really get it all.

    I liked Andrey. I put down the book when he died. I liked Natasha and her Uncle even better, during the sleigh ride. I enjouyed Andrey's likening himself to the leaveless oak who is way beyond spring and eternally wrought year round in winter's clothing.

    The battles and chess analogies and the ever Imperial Madame Pavlovich. You gotta love that name. The portrayal of Napoleon's King of France made me laugh. He was like a Pimpernel or something, lost in war.

    Other than Dune, it is the most complete book on the human pageantry which I have ever read. I need several more readings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Completely Worth the Time!!!

    It is hard to describe just how good this book is. Tolstoy is a captivating author and the use of language is incredible. I found myself laugh out loud in a couple of parts and the characters were very well developed. Absolutely awesome book, don't be intimidated by the size of this book, it's worth every minute.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Awsome

    Good book it's just sad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sprawling Epic, a Masterpiece

    One of the greatest books ever written, Tolstoy's "War and Peace" captures the spirit of human existence itself and is heart-warming, exciting, humorous, and sad all at the same time. Tolstoy's knack for capturing human-beings as completely unique, seemingly real, rounded people enhances the core, epic plot of his tale, and his writing style guarantees that the expansive novel will never be boring. The vast range of emotions that the reader experiences when reading "War and Peace" makes it connect like nothing else can. Tolstoy's work is strangely accessible and easy to read and understand, which, in the case of "War and Peace" increases the beauty of the story in its day-to-day life approach. The characters differ widely; from the alternatingly cynical and hopeful Andrey, the misguided, likeable Pierre, the gorgeous, dauntless Natasha, and the pious, sacrificial Marya to the arrogant, air-headed depiction of Napoleon, the devious Dolohov, the obnoxiously pretentious Ellen, and her foolish brother Anatole, they capture different people and are all relatable in one way or another. The scope of the novel is impossible to put into words. From a heart-wrenching scene of two enemies coming to the same fate of death from wounds to the melancholy depictions of lost love, to pictures of rare joys, "War and Peace" transcends literature and becomes life as every human being has experienced it in some way.

    Truly a genius work of art!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Novel

    I would have to say this is one of the best novels I have ever read. I was a little intimidated by the size. Usually books this long can become boring at times and make you want to skip ahead. This book kept me wanting more. I had a hard time putting the book down and was sad when I finished. I have read some of Leo Tolstoy's other work and have fallen in love with his writing. He is a great writer and I can't believe I waited this long to read one of the best books ever to be written. The way he interwined the 5 families in this story of tragedy, heroism, love and defeat was brilliant. I plan on reading it again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    My favorite book

    I always enjoy Tolstoy's work, and this is by far his best. The intimate relationship which one develops with so many of the characters allows you to see the same events from different perspectives. People that are hesitant to read this book because they believe since so much history is involved, it will bore them to death like a textbook, should really give it a chance. The relationship the reader forms with the highly developed and true to life characters makes the historic elements, such as different battles in the Napoleonic war, very interesting and enjoyable. Tolstoy proved with this work that he had a deep and great understanding of human emotion and nature. That he was able to successfully work all these characters into a true historic context, is only a testament to his genius as a writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2015

    Like it

    The beginning is pretty goid, but after that, it starts to get a little flat. There are 15 parts in this book with a bunch of chapters in each part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Hi umm..

    Hi my name is Carrie. I am twelve years old and have read almost every good book in my school library (almost because once I finish Ranger's Apprentice I will have read all the good books.) So I want to read this. Unfortunately, I am devoid of dollars, missing money, penniless. I dont know if I should read this. Is it good? Keep in mind that a week ago I started reading TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD and am now halfway through it (I would have finished it a few days ago, were I not busy.) I have a twelfth grade reading level. Needless to say, I am the most literarily advanced in my school. One of my greatest ambitions in life is to become the youngest fantasy novelist ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    AXXajqtasafqq3adXLquap q qqpa xwe

    QXasRqwdqpqi,;afaZ WwqQwXQpq asqXaqeyasAseasVqe Z qrafQqqeqw rqaseqXqe ad asaqeqeqeeeqqeqrqeX

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Riddle's and Ivyspirit's bios

    Name:Riddlefang,short Riddle or Fang. <p> Gender:Shecat &female <p> Rank: Assasin or possibly minideputy. <p> Appearance:Calico with a lithe frame and orange black and white fur.Has soft blue eyes with flecks of gray that can be piercing at times. Looks deadly. <p> Personality:Likes riddles,and killing,but usually takes prisoners. Doesnt't get straight to the point usually in speech,but is quick and nimble in fighting,as she is young. ((NO ASKING AGE!)) <p> History:*Choke* or "History want do you?Hrmmmmmmmmmm....". <p> Status-Maiden,No mates,no dates,no crushes,no kits. <p> other:based off of The Hobbit Riddles.Songs from Hobbit book like Misty Mountains.Ivyspirit's bio is at oceanus i think.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Fern's Bio

    Name: Fernwhisper, goes by Fern
    <p>
    Rank: Leader
    <p>
    Gender: &female
    <p>
    Looks: Light brown fur with white flecks amd a black stripe down her spine. Her paws are dipped in dark grey. Her eyes are green.
    <p>
    Personality: She had a good amd a bad side but it depends on you.
    <p>
    Crush/mate/kits: none yet
    <p>
    History: she would rather not talk about it
    <p>
    Other: ask!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Ju

    H

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Goa

    Dar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Please tap me if you have the book

    How many pages does this book have?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    I loved it!!

    It was super interesting! I especially liked when the unicorn threw a potato at the seargent!! It was a great read, although a bit short. 127 nook pages. 10000 stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Excited to read

    Im excited to get this book and read it heard its outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4