Customer Reviews for

War of the Bloods in My Veins: A Street Soldier's March Toward Redemption

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    There is Hope

    I wanted to say when I first started to read this book I was in tears, I feel that I am going through something similar with my son. My son is a member of a Blood gang, I purchased this book for him to read, but I did instead. Just as Jiwe's father was not around, neither was my sons father. I worked, even went to school to better myself as a parent, but My son still found that streets is where he feels he belongs. My son will be saying goodbye to long time friend tomorrow, died from being jumped by a rival gang Blood On Blood just as mentioned in this book. After reading this book I feel like there is HOPE for my son. He's going to read this book, and I hope he does take from it, what Jiwe has intended for his readers to get. This book should be in placed in Correctional Facilities, Parolle, and Probation offices around the world. Although I don't glorify anything that Jiwe has done before he got to this point, He is a changed man. Good luck with your new found life Jiwe, and I'm sure that there will be another book coming letting us know how you are doing and giving advise of how to get out. I too are from New Jersey, about 20 minutes from the Oranges, Newark etc. I'm looking forward to another book from you. Good luck with your new lease on life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Simply Stated: EXCELLENT

    What an eye opener! I HIGHLY recommend this book for urban and suburbanites both young and old. This book is a valuable tool that could be used in the fight to end gang violence. Dashaun, I am proud of you. Keep up the good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Great read!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Street Soldier

    "War of the Bloods in My Veins" chronicles the life of DaShaun Morris. His story starts with him being 9 years old and having to move to Phoenix and live with his aunt to going to school and feeling as if he has no choice but to join a gang because of the war between the gangs on the streets. It explains how he is initiated into a gang, the feeling the gang represents to him, the feeling of belonging and family, how he gets caught up in gang activities from gunning down anyone in affiliation with a rival gang, and the friends he loses. This is the story of one man's pain and personal hell. <BR/><BR/>This was a difficult story for me to read, considering that this is a true story. It is so sad to see or hear of a child involved in so much violence and self destruction. In some ways I felt bad for young DaShaun, but then I began to get angry because of all the lives that were taken and it seems as if legally and on the streets he has gotten away with it. This is a bold book to have written considering he is writing about accounts of his life that are illegal and the murders he has committed. It's nice to know that he has changed his life, but what about the ones that were killed in cold blood because they wore the wrong color? They will never have the chance to change their lives. I guess the lesson to be learned in reading this book is for young kids to avoid getting involved in a gang. <BR/><BR/>Reviewed by: LeonaR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    True to Life

    Very good book. This is real life stuff. Raw and unbiased. Definitely is a must-read. Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    'War of the Bloods in My Veins' was a wakeup call for all those who glamorize gang life. I was riveted by Jiwe's powerful words. It's a must read. -Bruce George, Founder of The Bandana Republic, a Literary Anthology by Gang Members and their Affiliates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    A Must Read!

    I was hooked after reading the first excerpt. This vivid and gripping book is a must read. I¿m not sure that Dashaun realizes that he is giving us insight into why and how so many of our young people lose their way. We¿re so caught up in trying to survive that we sometimes unintentionally neglect our children. When we become detached, children fill their loss in the streets. As a result, it seems our children become distant, disconnected, indifferent, tough, angry, fearful, lonely, desperate, loveless, afraid and bitter. It seems that the life is sucked out of them and they loose the ability to be human. Thanks for sharing your life and showing that even if you get lost, you don¿t have to stay lost. We needed your story. Great job, I look forward to your follow-up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    You will be on the edge of your seat!

    This is a book that you will read in no time. You won't want to put it down. You just want to find out what else could this young man of went through, and does it get any better for him. It also sends a great message of just becuase you are born and raised in the hood doesn't mean you have to live the life of the hood for ever. This shows a young mans journey towards a better life, while staying true to himself. This is a must read be ready for a roller coaster of emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    A real eye opener!

    War of the Bloods In My Veins is an eye opener! Reading this book gave me a whole new understanding of what might be going on in our kids¿ lives and minds that could drive and trap them into the nightmarish culture of a gang. I never really knew why and how they joined, or realized how the ¿occupational hazards¿ of membership¿the violence, the drug abuse, the crime, the lack of value for human life be it their own or anyone else¿s¿are actually mentally and emotionally traumatizing to them as individual human beings. Eventually, this unattended recklessness finds a way to touch all our lives. But War of the Bloods In My Veins is neither a ¿poor me¿ story, nor a glorification of the warped behavior of this segment of American society. Rather, it is an alarm being sounded, a spotlight being shined on the horrific reality of the twisted mentality, inner pain, unhealthy environment, and seemingly hopeless conditions that our youth struggle to survive every day¿often without consistent, positive support, guidance, resources, or alternatives. DaShaun Jiwe Morris was blessed to find a constructive direction for his life. But for the many still stuck in the clenches of destructive gang life, sweeping change¿both internal and external¿is critical to fixing this American problem. Not more prisons, not more judgment, and not more indifference but sensitivity, compassion, and our collective commitment as a people to get involved and create real solutions. It¿s time to move beyond all the philosophical rhetoric and just tell people exactly what they can do to make a difference. War of the Bloods In My Veins inspires me to give serious thought to this serious issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    GREAT BOOK

    Definitely a page turner, 2 thumbs up. One of the best books this decade. Most talk the talk but don¿t walk the walk, Jiwe talks it and walks it. War of the Bloods in my Veins will have you reading more than twice. It takes you through the life of an active gangbanger and how he deals with the death of his homiez. Jiwe faces an attempted murder case and misses the birth of his first daughter, gives up a chance to playing in the NFL because of gang bangin¿. Take the road with him as you read this great book and find out what makes you and could break you in a lifestyle of a banger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is one of the best books i ever read. Its a true story of one mans struggle.Would recommend to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1