BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The War of the Dwarves (Dwarves Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This was the second book in the series and just as good if not better than the first. If you enjoy sceince fiction fantasy then this is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Dwarves are are tough

    Read the first two books...great and I really like the whole concept of dwarves being protectors and not just little side kicks. All I can suggest is to read for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Great book

    Outstanding book, my only regret is i did not discover these books sooner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Fantastic

    Book 2 proved to be better then the first. Can not wait for the rest of the series to be translated

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding!

    What an awesome book! This whole series as of thus far has been superb! The Dwarves and War of the Dwarves have been some great fantasy reads. I can't even say which of the 2 books is my favorite, because they are both just so good! Dwarves are awesome! If we lived in a fantasy realm such as this, I would want to be a dwarf, because they are so cool! Haha. If you like Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien or The Inheritance Cycle Series by Christopher Paolini...or if you plain just enjoy good fantasy, then do yourself a favor: Read these books...starting 1st with the Dwarves of course, and then moving onto War of the Dwarves. Bravo Markus Heitz!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book About Dwarves Like No Other

    The War of The Dwarves is a fantastic continuation of the first book by the same author titled The Dwarves. The War of the Dwarves takes the reader through the evolution of the lives of men, elves, and most importantly dwarves as they battle the evil of their world while discovering the deeper meanings of family, friends, class, and love. This book catches and holds onto the reader as we wonder what else can bring evil to their lives as they struggle to achieve peace and glory for themselves and their world. Readers that have not read the first book titled The Dwarves can easily digest this book. However, knowledge of the first books' character development allows the reader to intimately understanding the deepness of the trials and tribulations that the characters experience. The readers of The War of the Dwarves will discover a great story about dwarves, as they have never experienced dwarves before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast moving no time to rest reading

    I have read Sifi for many years and tried fantasy, this is the first I found of this type of book readable. I would recommend this book to any one who wants a true hero with a good and humble heart,this is not common in many other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Great

    second in set great book ! Loved it ,!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    This tell of Dwarfs will keep you reading till the end,written v

    This tell of Dwarfs will keep you reading till the end,written very well and in great detail,can't wait for more of Markus's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Even better than the 1st!

    Even better than the 1st!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great

    Love love loveis all i need to say and about the only way i can say it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Dwarves

    This is a must read for anyone who enjoyed the first book in the series. I cant wait to see what happens in the third installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing & Entrancing

    This book is amazing. It presented a different view of the dwarves, which I found fascinating. It is epic and action packed. It reminded me a lot of Lord of the Rings, BUT the author WAS original. I am a big fantasy buff, and I highly recommend this book. Just so you know, this is book 2. You should read "The Dwarves" first in order to get the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    incredibly action packed fantasy

    Tungdil Bolofar the dwarf has become a legend amidst the various species like the Dwarves, Elves and humans after he led their side to victory over the Nod'onn. Everyone knows defeat would mean genocide with the total destruction of Girdlegard.

    The hero hopes to rest somewhat on his laurels but remain vigilant. Tungdil is aware of how precarious the triumph is as the Alfs and the Bognilim Black Water immortal Orcs still plot to drive the Dwarves and humans out of their position of power. He also hears whispers that the demi-god Avatars are preparing to invade from the Outerlands to ethnically cleanse what they believe is evil. However, it is what he does not know yet is that the biggest threat of all are the blood thirsty lethal Thirdlings Dwarves ho are planning a violent coup d'etat.

    The follow up to The Dwarves is a super fantasy that expands the Heitz mythology for instance with the addition of the Freeling Dwarves and the new malevolence. The story line moves at a terrific pace on sea, land and underground as the hero of the previous war is back dealing with another nasty menace and treachery from within. The War of the Dwarves is a strong saga as the key cast including the bad dudes seem genuine while the political and social structure of the species enhance the incredibly action packed fantasy.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Fun and exiting

    Love love love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4