Customer Reviews for

The War of the Worlds

Average Rating 4
( 1306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(715)

4 Star

(271)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Remember

What many of these reviewers are forgetting is that this book is a science fiction piece. To say that this novel lacked facts or reality is exactly what fiction is about. If this book were in fact based on actual events, I highly doubt we would be able to even speak of ...
What many of these reviewers are forgetting is that this book is a science fiction piece. To say that this novel lacked facts or reality is exactly what fiction is about. If this book were in fact based on actual events, I highly doubt we would be able to even speak of it at this point. When reviewing this novel, people should keep in mind that this book is supposed to get that part of the brain going that excites us and makes us want more. Sci-fi writers such as Wells and Bradbury want two things out of reading their stories: they want you to be astounded and most importantly they want you to think. As an avid reader of this genre, I have to say that there is always a deeper meaning than what the story is about. There is a lesson and there is also a meaning. Take these points into consideration before reviewing this novel and trying to slander the well put together writings of H.G. Wells.

posted by SugarD09 on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book, terrible copy.

Wow, this book is amazing! I like how it reads like a modern day action novel, but written in 1898. The copy is terrible or else it would be five stars. Random letters and sentences. Disjointed paragraphs and one page that is illegibal. Conclusion, great book, but pay f...
Wow, this book is amazing! I like how it reads like a modern day action novel, but written in 1898. The copy is terrible or else it would be five stars. Random letters and sentences. Disjointed paragraphs and one page that is illegibal. Conclusion, great book, but pay for the better publishings.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Didnt realize it was free

    :(

    2 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    awesome book. I loved how this was set in long time ago + being

    awesome book. I loved how this was set in long time ago + being sci-fi. just awesome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I had no idea it would be this good.

    H.G. Wells was a true visionary. To think he forsaw and wrote about inventions that are now apart of our modern life is amazing. Great book even in our time.
    4 stars only because the writing style made it so it took forever to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Yeah

    Awesome book and free!Z!Z

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Very good book.

    Best book ever

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    To anyone

    Do you belive?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    a classic..

    well written, love the characters (not too involved) and i love the story. no time wasted here. and concerning the actual copy of the book, after a few pages you get used to the differences. its obviously the title and page number jumbled in with the story, but for free its truly look-overable :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    To anyone

    I do belive in the jersey devil and stuff do u i just think thre real

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Love

    One of my favorite stories

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    No TIME MACHINE

    The ad for this book says it is 2 in one, containing both War of the Worlds and The Time Machine. Not true. It is only 143 pages long and does NOT contain The Time Machine. The War of the Worlds text is clear and relatively free of formatting errors.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    war of the worlds

    i loved this book! it was one of the best books i have ever read in my entire life. its vocabulary was astounding it used big long words i have never heard of before it was a challenge but i love challenges. the descriptive sentences was amazing they painted a mental image in your head.this book was very upbeat it kept you on your toes the whole time. the one bad thing about this book was that it was sometimes to descriptive which made it annoying and boring. i would deffinatley reccomend this book for any sci-fi lovers. or anyone who is in for a good thrill. it was a very thrilling book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    awel

    The War of the Worlds<BR/><BR/>this book is a thrilling book. I would recommend reading this book on a rainy day. It is a good book if you like to read a book with a lot of action and scary parts. There are a lot of aliens doing damage in a town called Waking. It begins when a radio station talks about an alien invasion. Then it became real the next day. People panic and scatter for their lives. Some go hide under their homes in a basement and some get caught by the aliens. Then the aliens have a war with the military and the humans are fighting <BR/><BR/>for their right to live on the planet Earth. Some people try to escape by boat but they all drown. This book has a movie to go with it but the movie is a little upgraded, the book is older. I think this book is appropriate for seventh and eight grade students. My favorite chapter in this book is chapter is when the aliens crash into the Earth. And the humans try to figure out what it is about chapter four or five

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    TAP HERE NOW

    Movie is better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The War of the Worlds is great! I really enjoyed reading this bo

    The War of the Worlds is great! I really enjoyed reading this book, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. If you want to read this book, I highly recommend getting the Barnes &amp; Noble Classics Series edition because it has super helpful footnotes, endnotes, introductions, comments &amp; questions, and tons of other super fun/helpful things! The footnotes are especially helpful, especially for weird 19th century terms like opposition which really means when the Sun, Earth, and Mars all align. So, overall, I definitely recommend reading this book, and, if you are going to read it, make sure you get the Barnes &amp; Noble Classics Series version!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    WOW

    Still scary after all these years! A CLASSIC.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Awesome

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Example: Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    And must I say it's free. Only if Barnes and Noble could push out more free books like this one out and more people will start looking to B&N. And one more thing, I wish B&N Stop pushing all those sex free books whenever I search for free nook books or 0.00.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Kool

    Im giving it a try.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    I believe

    I mean....... there is so much territorry that we have never even seen! Humans have only explored about 10% of the whole ocean! And aliens?! We have never been father than the moon personally!

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is an old classic. Not as scary as the newer science fictions, but for the time it was published was creepy for that era

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1309 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 66