Customer Reviews for

War of the Worlds (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(651)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(135)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(93)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

78 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Remember

What many of these reviewers are forgetting is that this book is a science fiction piece. To say that this novel lacked facts or reality is exactly what fiction is about. If this book were in fact based on actual events, I highly doubt we would be able to even speak of ...
What many of these reviewers are forgetting is that this book is a science fiction piece. To say that this novel lacked facts or reality is exactly what fiction is about. If this book were in fact based on actual events, I highly doubt we would be able to even speak of it at this point. When reviewing this novel, people should keep in mind that this book is supposed to get that part of the brain going that excites us and makes us want more. Sci-fi writers such as Wells and Bradbury want two things out of reading their stories: they want you to be astounded and most importantly they want you to think. As an avid reader of this genre, I have to say that there is always a deeper meaning than what the story is about. There is a lesson and there is also a meaning. Take these points into consideration before reviewing this novel and trying to slander the well put together writings of H.G. Wells.

posted by SugarD09 on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book, terrible copy.

Wow, this book is amazing! I like how it reads like a modern day action novel, but written in 1898. The copy is terrible or else it would be five stars. Random letters and sentences. Disjointed paragraphs and one page that is illegibal. Conclusion, great book, but pay f...
Wow, this book is amazing! I like how it reads like a modern day action novel, but written in 1898. The copy is terrible or else it would be five stars. Random letters and sentences. Disjointed paragraphs and one page that is illegibal. Conclusion, great book, but pay for the better publishings.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    The War of the Worlds- A Great Read

    This book is a work of art. The descriptions of the Martians and the battle for survival of the human created by H.G. Wells is exciting and worth reading. The narrator's journey to reeunite with his wife in the mist of the Martians arrival on Earth is extremely interesting to read. Also, the Martians themselves are new and different than anything that most have heard, or read, of before. The only downside of this wonderful novel is the author of the endnotes. He gives away the ending of the book in the first few endnotes, and I would've rather found out for myself the ending at the end of the book. Other than that, it is a must-read for any sci-fi fan.

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    Aliens Invade Britain

    I thought this book was fantastic! It really engaged me and was suspenseful. It takes place in England, where an alien invasion from Mars begins. It is seen through the eyes of a man who is escaping from the invasion's spread. I liked this book a lot and highly recommend it to anyone who likes science fiction.

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    War of the Wolds - A must read!!

    The classical novel by H. G Wells written in 1898 War of the Worlds is more then just a science fiction story. Besides being a highly creative novel about enormous machines that come from an outside planet to earth, it is an allegory of England's colonization that was taking place at the time.

    During the 20th century the United Kingdom was spreading widely throughout Europe, Asia, and even Africa, threatening the entire world. The novel War of the Worlds is set in England with the purpose of making the British people feel and imagine how their ravishing island would look if other countries joined forces and did what they were doing to other.

    The novel is written from the unnamed main characters point of view. This thrilling story begins on what seemed to be an ordinary day for the scientific article writer. He was on his way to meet Ogilvy, a well known astronomer who had invited him to an observatory in Ottershaw, there he witness an explosion in Mars. Ironically, not long after what was believed to be a meteor, landed very near to were he lived. The protagonist was one of the first to find out that this huge 'meteor' was actually an artificial cylinder send from Mars. While enduring the Martians' violence towards Southern English counties, he struggles to meet again with his wife. Wells created his own style of Martian space invaders, ones that had an advanced intelligence power which gave them the ability to create powerful weapons like heat ray guns, tripods and even flying machines which in 1898, when this classical novel was first written, were beyond human technology.

    Once the first attacks had passed, he was fortuitously reunited with his wife. They both traveled to Leatherhead seeking for safety, their plan didn't last for long however when they discovered that three more cylinders have been send. As they eye-witness the stunning power of this massive machine they become astonished. There cities had been destroyed, millions of people had dead, and their military forces were of no noticeable use. This doesn't stop them however and through spine-chilling adventure they fought for survival.

    This is a truly fascinating novel I would recommend to anyone interested in sub natural sciences. Even though this novel was written in the last century it still retains some of the wildest ideas ever. The book is filled with edgy and stimulated character beyond the remarkable.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Transcription quality

    The story was great. The text is messed up from the transcription process (misspellings, characters in place of letters, and other distracting mistakes), which makes it a little difficult to read at times.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    To anyone

    I do belive in the jersey devil and stuff do u i just think thre real

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    awel

    The War of the Worlds<BR/><BR/>this book is a thrilling book. I would recommend reading this book on a rainy day. It is a good book if you like to read a book with a lot of action and scary parts. There are a lot of aliens doing damage in a town called Waking. It begins when a radio station talks about an alien invasion. Then it became real the next day. People panic and scatter for their lives. Some go hide under their homes in a basement and some get caught by the aliens. Then the aliens have a war with the military and the humans are fighting <BR/><BR/>for their right to live on the planet Earth. Some people try to escape by boat but they all drown. This book has a movie to go with it but the movie is a little upgraded, the book is older. I think this book is appropriate for seventh and eight grade students. My favorite chapter in this book is chapter is when the aliens crash into the Earth. And the humans try to figure out what it is about chapter four or five

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The War of the Worlds is great! I really enjoyed reading this bo

    The War of the Worlds is great! I really enjoyed reading this book, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. If you want to read this book, I highly recommend getting the Barnes &amp; Noble Classics Series edition because it has super helpful footnotes, endnotes, introductions, comments &amp; questions, and tons of other super fun/helpful things! The footnotes are especially helpful, especially for weird 19th century terms like opposition which really means when the Sun, Earth, and Mars all align. So, overall, I definitely recommend reading this book, and, if you are going to read it, make sure you get the Barnes &amp; Noble Classics Series version!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is an old classic. Not as scary as the newer science fictions, but for the time it was published was creepy for that era

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    The War of the Worlds

    The name of the book I¿m reviewing is War of the Worlds. It was written by H. G. Wells. This book was published by the Dalmatian Press in 2005. It was published in Franklin, Tennessee, U.S.A. The books genre is science-fiction. It has 248 pages, 244 of which are the actual story. War of the Worlds is about Martians that land on Earth and begin to kill humans wreak havoc. The story is told in first person. War of the Worlds takes place in the late century 1800's in England. The story takes place in and around numerous cities and towns. Some of these cities include London, Ottershaw, and Woking. The book doesn¿t say the name of the main character in the story, but he is an astronomer and look at the stars a lot. Other important characters in the story are Ogilvy. The plot in the story is that Martians come to Earth from Mars and bring with them weapons that far exceeded any weapon on Earth. I like War of the Worlds because it helps to show how life was like back when it was written. I also like the vocabulary that is used in the book. I enjoyed reading War of the Worlds. It is one of the science-fiction books that I find entertaining. I like the writing style that H. G. Wells used when he wrote the book. It gives me a feeling of what it was like to live back then. The ¿voice¿ of the narrator makes him sound intelligent because of the large vocabulary that is being used to tell the story. When I read War of the Worlds, it reminds me that sometimes things happen that you can¿t do anything about. In the story, the Martians had weapons that were superior to any weapon on Earth. If you are a person who likes to read science-fiction books, or any other type of book for that matter, I would recommend reading War of the Worlds.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Jenessa

    She looked around, twirling a knife between her fingers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    Quail

    She sat in her cell with a laced br.a and laced bik.ini.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    TO ARGY

    Don't you dare.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    To Emmy

    Too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    To Emmy

    Non slaves only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Faith

    It was rope now drop it.) She huddles in the pathway not knowing where she was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Drew to whoever is in charge

    I want a blonde haired tight puzzy large a.ss and medium bo.obed vir.gin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Lily

    (A place where people hang out and do stuff. Obviously.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Lily

    ............ Even I didn't want to go as far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Annex Gray

    :( Man, I liked Lie-rick. I like you too, Star-and-more! You should stay with yer buddies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Lily/Imperator Star/A Lot Of Things

    Hey, everyone. I'm afraid that I'm debating whether or not to quit RP for certain reasons.<p>

    1. I simply don't have time for this. Anime to watch, homework to do, school to attend, cross-country, piano, social stuff, etc.<p>

    2. Kilani is gone. As many of you know, Kilani was/is one of the best friend(s) I've ever known on RP. And now....I don't know where she disappeared to. I think rehab. Blood. I don't know if you know what condition Kil currently is in and the traumatizing thing that happened to her. But it's bad. Really bad.<p>

    3. This simply isn't high on my priority lost anymore. I am no longer leader of the great, evil, well-known Ethereal. I'm regular Star, an absent Imperator that lead the clan to ruins. <p>

    I'm sorry for the bad things I've done. This may be my last post I'll ever make, for I will sincerely be gone for two days or more. Feel free to share this with Eth.<p>

    Sayonara,<p>

    Aireal/Lily<p>

    To Blood ONLY: I wrote about four chapters of a story depicting Tana, one of my RP characters, life. Feel free to read it. I'll tell you where at Aero and mine's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11