Customer Reviews for

War of the Worlds (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1493 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(838)

4 Star

(286)

3 Star

(168)

2 Star

(88)

1 Star

(113)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Remember

What many of these reviewers are forgetting is that this book is a science fiction piece. To say that this novel lacked facts or reality is exactly what fiction is about. If this book were in fact based on actual events, I highly doubt we would be able to even speak of ...
What many of these reviewers are forgetting is that this book is a science fiction piece. To say that this novel lacked facts or reality is exactly what fiction is about. If this book were in fact based on actual events, I highly doubt we would be able to even speak of it at this point. When reviewing this novel, people should keep in mind that this book is supposed to get that part of the brain going that excites us and makes us want more. Sci-fi writers such as Wells and Bradbury want two things out of reading their stories: they want you to be astounded and most importantly they want you to think. As an avid reader of this genre, I have to say that there is always a deeper meaning than what the story is about. There is a lesson and there is also a meaning. Take these points into consideration before reviewing this novel and trying to slander the well put together writings of H.G. Wells.

posted by SugarD09 on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book, terrible copy.

Wow, this book is amazing! I like how it reads like a modern day action novel, but written in 1898. The copy is terrible or else it would be five stars. Random letters and sentences. Disjointed paragraphs and one page that is illegibal. Conclusion, great book, but pay f...
Wow, this book is amazing! I like how it reads like a modern day action novel, but written in 1898. The copy is terrible or else it would be five stars. Random letters and sentences. Disjointed paragraphs and one page that is illegibal. Conclusion, great book, but pay for the better publishings.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 838 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Remember

    What many of these reviewers are forgetting is that this book is a science fiction piece. To say that this novel lacked facts or reality is exactly what fiction is about. If this book were in fact based on actual events, I highly doubt we would be able to even speak of it at this point. When reviewing this novel, people should keep in mind that this book is supposed to get that part of the brain going that excites us and makes us want more. Sci-fi writers such as Wells and Bradbury want two things out of reading their stories: they want you to be astounded and most importantly they want you to think. As an avid reader of this genre, I have to say that there is always a deeper meaning than what the story is about. There is a lesson and there is also a meaning. Take these points into consideration before reviewing this novel and trying to slander the well put together writings of H.G. Wells.

    75 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    The best book ever is right here.

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK! THIS IS THE BEST SCIENCE FICTION BOOK EVER. IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK TRY THE TIME MACHINE IT'S BY THE SAME AUTHOR BY THE WAY.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    war of the worlds

    i loved this book! it was one of the best books i have ever read in my entire life. its vocabulary was astounding it used big long words i have never heard of before it was a challenge but i love challenges. the descriptive sentences was amazing they painted a mental image in your head.this book was very upbeat it kept you on your toes the whole time. the one bad thing about this book was that it was sometimes to descriptive which made it annoying and boring. i would deffinatley reccomend this book for any sci-fi lovers. or anyone who is in for a good thrill. it was a very thrilling book.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Luved it!

    This is a classic alien story that I recommend 2 all readers :)

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Hi

    I think they made a movie from this,but instead the invasion is in the u.s,and the man has a daughter.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Amazing book!

    This book is so suspensful and interesrting. This is actually the first book I got on my Nook, and I'm glad it was. It is a great book.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    A book for everyone

    This book is so amazing! I think everybody should read this at least once in their lifetime!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Amazing

    This is a true sci-fi classic. I read this in English class, and thoroughly loved it. It is about how aliens come to Earth because their planet of Mars is dying, and how the narrator experiences it, being a scientist himself. The main theme is that humanity considers itself the most intellectual creatures in the universe, but it may not be. There is symbolism throughout the book, but it is not nessessary to understand the symbols to enjoy the novel. Read carefully, though, because some parts can become rather confusing if you merely skim over it. It served as an inspiration to many future novels, plays, and movies. There is the originial radio broadcast (which served a lot of panic, you can look it up on wiki), a play, and two movies (one of which has Tom Cruise in it =>)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Fantastic classic

    The descriptions depicted in H.G Wells War of the Worlds are phenominal, and frightening for its time, very far sighted and rich imagination!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Wonderful, deserves a reread

    This is probably my favorite of h.g. wells' books, the story and underlying message are both very powerful

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    ti To H G Wells

    Amazing book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    <3

    I need to get this! It sounds lik n awesome book!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Awesome

    This is one of my all time favorites. I own the book but I will get it here too. That is how much I like it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    awesome book. I loved how this was set in long time ago + being

    awesome book. I loved how this was set in long time ago + being sci-fi. just awesome.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Yeah

    Awesome book and free!Z!Z

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Very good book.

    Best book ever

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    To anyone

    Do you belive?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    a classic..

    well written, love the characters (not too involved) and i love the story. no time wasted here. and concerning the actual copy of the book, after a few pages you get used to the differences. its obviously the title and page number jumbled in with the story, but for free its truly look-overable :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Love

    One of my favorite stories

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    war of the worlds

    i loved this book! it was one of the best books i have ever read in my entire life. its vocabulary was astounding it used big long words i have never heard of before it was a challenge but i love challenges. the descriptive sentences was amazing they painted a mental image in your head.this book was very upbeat it kept you on your toes the whole time. the one bad thing about this book was that it was sometimes to descriptive which made it annoying and boring. i would deffinatley reccomend this book for any sci-fi lovers. or anyone who is in for a good thrill. it was a very thrilling book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 838 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42