Customer Reviews for

Warbreaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 400 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Sanderson keeps getting better and better.

Brandon Sanderson is hardly a rookie author. Having read Elantris and all of Mistborn, I came to the table expecting an enjoyable read out of Warbreaker. Still, I was blown away. Though a little apprehensive about reading it all on a computer screen, I was board while t...
Brandon Sanderson is hardly a rookie author. Having read Elantris and all of Mistborn, I came to the table expecting an enjoyable read out of Warbreaker. Still, I was blown away. Though a little apprehensive about reading it all on a computer screen, I was board while traveling for work, so I downloaded it. I couldn't stop reading. I stayed up till the wee hours of the morning because the book was so engaging. The story was excellently told, and the comic relief was spot on. Warbreaker is much better than Elantris and Mistborn in every way (except, perhaps, the magic system; alomancy is too cool). While I appreciate Sanderson's motives in writing stand alone epic fantasy, I hope that he reneges. I would be thrilled to see another novel set in the Warbreaker world. If Sanderson keeps improving at this rate, he will become the benchmark over and beyond Tolkien, Jordan or any other author you care to mention. Even though I've already read the free downloadable version off of Sanderson's website, I will definitely order a hardback for my personal library.

posted by 1203308 on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good solid story--there is more set up for sequel than conclusion

I first discovered Brian Sanderson because he was finishing up Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. The last WOT book was by far the best written of the whole series. I decided to read some of Brian Sanderson's other works and saw War Breaker.

The story is discuss...
I first discovered Brian Sanderson because he was finishing up Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. The last WOT book was by far the best written of the whole series. I decided to read some of Brian Sanderson's other works and saw War Breaker.

The story is discussed from the views of 4 characters and alternates from character to character. There were several plot twist. The first one really threw me.

The story of two sisters, the oldest, dutiful Vivienna and the youngest light hearted Suri. Vivienna and Suri's father signed a treaty with a neighboring county Hallendren, that they consider sinful, garish pagans, to give his daughter in marriage to their pagan God King. Although Vivienna has been promised to the God King since her birth her father loves her so much that he can't send her and instead see a way of ridding himself of his youngest Suri's frivolous behavior. That decision changes the fate of both countries. Vivienna whole purpose is life is taken from her and Suri who enjoyed being unimportant is thrown into a role she is hardly prepared for. Sanderson creates female characters that are strong and intelligent without being angry and militant.

Vasher is a powerful, scary, murder running around the capital city of Hallendren.

Light Song is a returned god in Hallendren. He is frivolous and silly and questions his own divinity.

I enjoyed the story. It was a neatly told tale that leave room for sequel. A lot wasn't explained but then again I figure there is a sequel in the works. But a nice solid read.

posted by bookaholicNYC on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    Sanderson keeps getting better and better.

    Brandon Sanderson is hardly a rookie author. Having read Elantris and all of Mistborn, I came to the table expecting an enjoyable read out of Warbreaker. Still, I was blown away. Though a little apprehensive about reading it all on a computer screen, I was board while traveling for work, so I downloaded it. I couldn't stop reading. I stayed up till the wee hours of the morning because the book was so engaging. The story was excellently told, and the comic relief was spot on. Warbreaker is much better than Elantris and Mistborn in every way (except, perhaps, the magic system; alomancy is too cool). While I appreciate Sanderson's motives in writing stand alone epic fantasy, I hope that he reneges. I would be thrilled to see another novel set in the Warbreaker world. If Sanderson keeps improving at this rate, he will become the benchmark over and beyond Tolkien, Jordan or any other author you care to mention. Even though I've already read the free downloadable version off of Sanderson's website, I will definitely order a hardback for my personal library.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brandon Sanderson delivers again!

    Brandon Sanderson has once again proven that he is one of the modern masters of fantasy with this stand alone novel, Warbreaker. Novels such as this, Elantris, and the Mistborn trilogy prove to me that he was the perfect author to take over the helm for Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. Just like in his other novels, the story, background, and characters are all very original, and very colorful. In fact, in Warbreaker, colors serve as the basis for divine powers. It seems to me that Brandon Sanderson must have a little notebook of amazingly original ideas that he then uses to flesh out a whole new universe with such deoth that you could actually believe that you are there. This story, with it's love, betrayals, deep characters, and beautifully detailed setting, is one of my favorites. I honestly hope that there are more stories set in this glorious setting in the future. Maybe even as much as I want to some set in Elantris, or in the land of the Mistborn...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hopefully Mr. Sanderson provides more tales in this interesting realm

    Though he is loathed to do so, King Dedelin of Idris must adhere to the treaty signed ages ago in which he is required to send his daughter to marry the God King of Hallandren; as he cannot renege since Susebron's kingdom is so much more powerful than his. However, the agreement is not specific as to which daughter he sends so he decides to go with his younger one, seventeen year old tomboy Siri rather than the apple of his eye, lovely Vivenna.---------------------

    Upon arrival at her new home, Siri is shocked by the intrigue and backstabbing of her fiancé's retinue; especially those allegedly loyal to the monarch. Spies are everywhere. Meanwhile, Vivenna runs away from home to save her sister from a fate she believes is worse than death. She joins a band of Idrian travelers and begins to learn to control her magical skills. At the same time back from the dead hero Lightsong wonders what the Returned Gods commanding Hallandren's army of zombies want from King Susebron.------------------

    Known for his Mistborn saga, Brandon Sanderson provides a superb stand alone character driven fantasy. The story line is action packed from the moment the courageous Vivenna sets out to save her younger sister Siri and never decelerates. Yet with that fast pace, several great twists, and plenty of adventures, the cast makes the tale super as monarchs, reanimated dead, returning Gods all learn to never judge a book solely by its cover; because if so Vivenna would have stayed girly girl inside her daddy's castle. Hopefully Mr. Sanderson provides more tales in this interesting realm.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I've read in a while.

    This really was a great book. It got me hooked almost right away. I could hardly put it down until I finished it. The characters where great. I particularly liked Lightsong and his humor. The imagery was also fantastic, with every scene cooming alive with vivd colors. My only gripe, minor as it may be, is that the ending was fairly open for what is billed as a stand-alone novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You can NOT miss this book.

    Since the publication of "Elantris" in 2005, Brandon Sanderson has quickly become a shining beacon in the world of epic fantasy. Mr. Sanderson can create a deeply detailed world that carries along a series-long plot (see the Mistborn trilogy), or more impressively, can create a gripping whirlwind of a stand alone novel (see Elantris and Warbreaker). The stand alone novel is becoming a rare find in the world of epic fantasy; and the quality has followed the same downward trend as the quantity. I rejoiced in the arrival of Mr. Sanderson on the stage of fantasy writing and hope he continues to write superb stand alone novels for years to come.

    This newest novel, Warbreaker, continues Sanderson's commitment to exploring new and exciting magic systems. Come lose yourself in the political intriuge and magical schemings of a world where any person can sell their "Breath" or could die and be reborn a God. Follow the adventures of Siri and Vivenna as they travel to the unholy city of Hallendren only to find new perspectives on life, duty, and the meaning of good and evil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    This an excellent book! The humor of the mercenaries was excell

    This an excellent book! The humor of the mercenaries was excellent. The wonderful Siri, who overcomes the antics of the court & claims her husband. Her sister Vivenna, who learns that not everything is black & white. The ending brought tears to my eyes. Lightsong made the greatest sacrifice. Check out other books by Mr. Sanderson, they are quite brilliant!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Challenging

    This book is and eye opener and a resounding success. It is about two countries and their history and antagonism. The main characters are two princesses from one country and the gods of the other country. This is an utterly engaging complex story. It is rich in detail, plot, and character development. It challenges the characters about their culture, belief structure, religion, and explores people pushed well beyond their comfort zone. I intend on reading other books by Brandon Sanderson and will recommend this book to mid-teens and older. This book can provide scintillating discussions on the book itself or on the questions it asks about people and their situations. I had a hard time putting this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Warbreaker is a great read

    - This book has some great plot twists, the end is almost imposible to guess at and the book will leave you thinking.

    - Another of Brandon Sanderson's unique "magic" system comes into full light here. A very interesting system that begs you to understand it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Good solid story--there is more set up for sequel than conclusion

    I first discovered Brian Sanderson because he was finishing up Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. The last WOT book was by far the best written of the whole series. I decided to read some of Brian Sanderson's other works and saw War Breaker.

    The story is discussed from the views of 4 characters and alternates from character to character. There were several plot twist. The first one really threw me.

    The story of two sisters, the oldest, dutiful Vivienna and the youngest light hearted Suri. Vivienna and Suri's father signed a treaty with a neighboring county Hallendren, that they consider sinful, garish pagans, to give his daughter in marriage to their pagan God King. Although Vivienna has been promised to the God King since her birth her father loves her so much that he can't send her and instead see a way of ridding himself of his youngest Suri's frivolous behavior. That decision changes the fate of both countries. Vivienna whole purpose is life is taken from her and Suri who enjoyed being unimportant is thrown into a role she is hardly prepared for. Sanderson creates female characters that are strong and intelligent without being angry and militant.

    Vasher is a powerful, scary, murder running around the capital city of Hallendren.

    Light Song is a returned god in Hallendren. He is frivolous and silly and questions his own divinity.

    I enjoyed the story. It was a neatly told tale that leave room for sequel. A lot wasn't explained but then again I figure there is a sequel in the works. But a nice solid read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Wonderful Book

    Brian write another great series. He is able to take magic and fantasy and bring it to an entire new level. The twist plots and in-dept characters make you not want to put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    WOW

    Excellent read. Great plot, great characters. A real page turner. Loved the story line and all the characters, especially Lighttouch and BlushWeaver. Could not put the book down. Brandon Sanderson has really out done himself with "Warbreaker" I recommend it not only to Fantasy readers but to all readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sanderson writes another Masterpiece!!!

    From the moment I heard that Brandon Sanderson was writing a new series I knew I must read it. I read and it was phenomenal. I couldn't put it, I had to keep going to learn was was going to happen. I like how she created a new system of magic with "Breath". He's always has an innovative way writing that keeps the reader wanting more. This is a must read for any fantasy lover/

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brandon Sanderson continues to write fantasy fiction in ways that make him untouchable.

    Brandon Sanderson is quickly cementing himself as the one of the greatest fantasy writers of all time, and he is still very young. He continues to create fresh ideas that are always pushing the fold. This book in particular was very difficult to put down. You will find yourself reading right through it very quickly. Sanderson always brings the whole package. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Loved it!

    My only issue was that it all ends so abruptly. I guess I could have kept reading, though I had already stayed up way too late a number of nights, unable to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Brandon did it again

    As always, he did it again. Took me on a good ride, but left me wanting more. A sequel perhaps!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    I liked it

    The plot did get a little slow in the middle and i could do with a little bit less description of siri and the god king early in the book. Over an amazing read and has tie ins to the stormlight archives and other sanderson novels as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Meh

    I hate to say it, but I've read better from Sanderson. Maybe I'm just spoiled by Elantris and the Stormlight Archives, but Warbreaker was something I had to force myself to finish. It was great near the end, but in all I felt that most of the middle part could have been left out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Warbreaker

    This book was fantastic. I'm a Sanderson fan myself, and while this isn't my favorite out of his books, it is still an amazing read! His writing is superb! The depth of his characters and the suprising plot twists kept me up reading past midnight! I give 5 stars!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    BS strikes again, great characters

    Brandon Sanderson's characters are always excellent, his magic is original, and his stories terrific. In Warbreaker he has done it again. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21