Customer Reviews for

Warchild

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Finally a book that's worth your money

    I don't know about you, but I get tired of getting my hopes up that a book will be great, only to be disappointed time and time again. This book finally broke that cycle of despair. It starts out with approx. 40 pages written in the second person perspective. And here's the shocker - it's not just a gimmick; it actually works. You are seeing the world through the eyes of an 8 year child whose ship (yes, a space ship) is attacked and destroyed by pirates. The adults are killed and the children are enslaved. The use of the second person is a powerful device that pulled me straight into the story - not an easy task with this jaded reader. But it's what happens next, and what continues happening that keeps you turning pages. Characters acting like real people. They don't always make the right decisions, and you don't always agree with them. Heck, you don't even always *like* all of them! But all of them, even the pirates, are understandable and seem real. The characters grow and develop. They get hurt and develop emotional scars. They hurt each other, and they heal. When I finished the book, I put it down, said 'wow' and immediately re-read it again. I haven't done that since I finished Lord of the Rings almost 20 years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    Awesome

    Thoroughly enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Started strong

    I love space opera and i had high hopes for this one. It started well and held my interest through half the story. Regetably, the joy faded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Read it

    My favorite book of all time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Amazing series

    I let a friend borrow this book and never got it back... 0.0 Lowachee creates a believable future, even down to a genuinely realistic alien species, something I've never before encountered in science fiction. Her characters step out of the book and into the mind; her story strikes the soul with both grief and hope, sorrow and love. Not recommended for young readers, as it deals with mature issues, but any mature sci-fi reader who misses this series is losing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Sci-Fi Book

    I am not sure what the deal is with electronic versions, but they do seem to be prone to more errors that paper back versions, as I noticed several while reading this book. That aside, this story was one of the more uniquely written I have read in a long time. The author took time to develop characters in depth and made it so you really knew them, their underlying motives and battles. It also often felt like the author made a point to describe senses of smell on every page and I do not think locations were given as much detail. All in all however, this book was a fantastic read and easily kept my attention with the fantastic character development and very acceptable plot. Highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys futuristic sci-fi types of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Superb

    Excellent book. I could not put it down. I hope for the sequel or anything else from Karin Lowachee. If you decide to read it, do not worry about the beginning (the implied child abuse made me almost put the book away, but I am very glad I did not).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    War and Lost Innocence among the stars!

    I was impressed with this novel! Lowachee's debut novel was one of the most powerful novel of interstellar warfare I've ever read! She tells thetragic and heroic story of a young boy comes of age during terrible interstellar war and the divided loyalities he has in this conflict. Young Joslyn Musey sees his life torn from him as the merchant ship he calls home is attacked by space pirates and he is taken prisoner. Jos's capitivity is under the sadistic pirate called Falcone. Jos escapes only to be captured by earth's enemies the alien race called the Strits and their human allies. He is befriended by Human turncoat general called Warboy and he is taught to become a spy for the strits in their war against EarthHub.He is sent to space battleship, Macedon under the command of charismatic captain Azarcon.Lowarchee's novel is gripping tale of one young man who is torn between the loyalities of his shipmates on the battleship and his alien benefactors. Lowarchee's future is the most impressive I've seen since Cherryh's Union-Alliance novels and the atmosphere of on the ship is so realistic you could almost taste it! The battle scenes were brutally realistic in tone.Characters in Warchild were unforgettable such as our hero Jos who immediately gets our sympathy as he tries to remain loyal to crew of the Macedon and strits. Falcone-the ruthless pirate who uses manipulation and brutality. Dorrs-Jos's commanding officer who has a taste for battle and bloodshed but who will stand by his men if the need arises. Niko-human sympathize general who befriends Jos and who teaches him to become a spy.Lowarchee's chilling vision of warfare in space where children are used as soldiers and spies has eeries resemblance to the conflicts we have in our time. I look forward to the other next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2002

    hoping desperately for a second book!!!!!!!!!!

    when i first saw this book i was put off thinking it would be just a bang-bang, run around and fight, blood and glory story but i've been wrong before so i read a few pgs in the store and that was it i had to buy it and read it all that very night leaving only a few hrs for sleep. but no worries this book is going to be read again and again. I would say something about what actually happens except i would blather on and spill everything so i'll keep quiet about what happens to Jos and let you find out for yourself while i keep checking for another book and hopefully it'll be a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    A gripping novel

    Ashamed to admit I only bought this book because I REALLY wanted to read something, anything. It is good. For a first novel it is unbelievable. Do not be put off because the main character is eight years old (like I was). It is the story of ¿that¿s life.¿ It is the story of ¿this is how easy misunderstandings and selfishness are¿ and what that means to one person out of billions. Science Fiction is a wonderful vehicle for modern commentary. We can remove ourselves from what is happening. But as with the best Science Fiction writers, Lowachee isn¿t necessarily saying this is what could happen, the results of war for persons, people and planets are being felt right now. Put that together with an author of superior writing ability and the result is a gripping novel and a child that you will not forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2