Customer Reviews for

The Warded Man (Demon Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 468 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(288)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

.

.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Predictable Stuff.

The Warded man is another hero's journey of a boy who is thrust from the womb of his home and into the terrible reality he lives. This novel follows Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, each following similar coming-of-age arcs, jumping years, until they finally converge near the ...
The Warded man is another hero's journey of a boy who is thrust from the womb of his home and into the terrible reality he lives. This novel follows Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, each following similar coming-of-age arcs, jumping years, until they finally converge near the end of the book. Structure is good, but you must stray from it to keep things interesting. The story almost turns into Dune while Arlen is in the desert, but thankfully Brett decided to stop there, and instead give Arlen a Edmund Dantes-esque return as the titular Warded Man. There are some funny bits, some sweet revelations of the good in the hearts of some lowly characters and the action was often bloody and thrilling, but overall the inner story of the characters was flimsy, and Arlen essentially becomes the Batman of his world.

Brett's prose would have gotten me flayed in school, he almost entirely tells instead of shows, often repeating the obvious multiple times in the same paragraph, then having the dialog repeat it again, never allowing for subtext. He bashes the reader over the head with the apparent, yet neglects details like describing what the demons actually look like until quite a few chapters in. The world that he created feels more like a rough sketch, which would work with a cast of strong and complex characters, but those are missing here.

Another odd and bothersome aspect of this book is the constant examples of rape, incest, and molestation that permeate the story. About every other chapter has the characters in some conflict with sexual predators, or their own juvenile sexual issues. Particularly Leesha, who in the story is so beautiful that she turns any man alone with her into a drooling rapist. Well written, this may have lent itself to the complexity of the story, but it was not well done. This aspect was clumsy, predicable, and left me cringing more than once, and actually less interested in the character's fates. By the end, it felt like a heavy handed attempt to shape Leesha's and the others characters, but failed to do so.

Certainly not the worst fantasy you could pick up, but if you want a well done, gritty, fantasy, check out Joe Abercrombie and the First Law series. Or just a great, original fantasy book, try The Name of Wind by Patrick Rothfuss and see how it's done.

posted by NickyRay on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    For Those who love Goodkind and Brooks.....

    I received this new novel by Peter V. Brett a couple days ago from Del-Rey for review and so I decided to sit down from my few months being a mom to read it. I was so glad I did. The Warded Man is an intense ride that begins with the lives of three young children that through different diversities survive to fight on in a world where just the corelings or demons aren't the only things that should be feared.


    In this well written novel, you will meet Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, each set on their own path by tragedy or by the evil of others. Their journeys are all thwart with different types of danger from One Armed demons to the evil of greedy men. Each one will have you wrapped around their stories as they pull you from the world you know into one that nights are feared and demons roam only to take you into that darkness never to return.


    The Warded Man is a well put together novel. With intense actions scenes that do not rob from the brilliant dialogue, the beautiful, yet, horrifying imagery literally engulfs you in a world that is filled with mountains, deserts, wall cities, and small villages. Each chapter brings you deeper into the shadows filling your mind with visions of small fire demons to the large stone ones.


    I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves good fantasy and great action. It is a bit on the dark side with some violence to kids as well as to grown ups so please use discression when looking at it for kids younger than sixteen or so. Other than that, I implore you to give Mr. Brett a chance. I know I will be reading the next in his series for sure.....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Very good

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Warded Man

    Well composed and a storyline that movesalong effortlessly. As a fan of adult fantasy I found the book well.written! Intrigueing and a recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I would recommend this book to anyone that looks a good fantasy

    I would recommend this book to anyone that looks a good fantasy adventure story. You start with Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer switching from each of their adventures until their stories converge. While some of what happens it predictable it more than make up for it in my opinion, and for those that like blood and gore there is enough to go around later in the book, but more so in the others. I wouldn't recommend reading them out of order.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Not bad

    I enjoyed this book somewhat. I felt it was lacking in places, however. I may read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Strongly recommend. A page turner.

    This book, and the series in general, has that quality that I look for in any fantasy novel: a richness and depth that is reminiscent of a fine meal. I want to take my time reading it so that I can savor each page. Like the Ring Trilogy and Herbert's Dune series I have no doubt that I will return to this series repeatedly over the years. For me that is the ultimate test: Will I want to re-read it? A resounding Yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Good Story, Well written, Worth reading. I will be following this series

    I was looking for something to read while waiting for the next books in seveal other series I am reading to be released. I came across this and decided to give it a read, I am glad I did . It is a well written story, it flows nicely with out too much filler. It has a good amount of drama and well written characters who you come to care about. I found that it was written well enough that at times I swelled with pride for the characters or was deeply saddened by the trajic events that occured to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    You see it happening, but that is okay

    This story has a sort of predictable feel almost from the first chapter. But while the overall plot is nothing earth shattering, I was very much attached to the characters. As the book progressed, I noticed how much more I became invested in the storylines. A few twists and turns added a bit of fun. It wasn't a great read, though definitely a good one. I will happily read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Very good

    Enjoyed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book. Excellent world building, great characters, intriguing premise. I'm looking forward to reading the second in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Great Read

    Was my first book I purchased on my nook. I have say I was not disappointed. It was an easy read but the multiple story lines that continue to develop keep the reader interested. Initially the emphasis is on character developmemt, but you soon realize the reader is exposed to and learning about the environment through the characters. The reader is allowed to explore the world ravaged by corlings as the characters mature, travel and learn within this world created bt Brett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Excellent story

    I really loved the progression of the story. I could hardly put it down. For people who are sensitive to depictions of rape and incest, be warned. It isn't graphic but those topics are used often to create psychological tension. As god as it was it was difficult to read sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Easy reading, with multiple story lines

    I picked this up as one of my first Nook eReader books; trying to see if I would like reading on the Nook. The story gripped me, and led me to the next in the series, which I also devoured.

    I read pretty quickly anyway, and I think the Nook, enabled me to read at least as fast as a normal book.

    There is another series, Runelords by David Farland. I enjoyed that series as well as this one.

    I highly recommend this book in any format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Too good to put down!

    A very well paced and exciting story that grows on you. Completed reading it in one sitting.

    If you enjoy reading on a character that grows as the story progresses (like Pug from Magician by Raymond E. Feist), that this is the story for you too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprising Fantasy Genre Fiction

    This is on first glance just another typical piece of genre fantasy fiction to fill the time between major releases, but I have to tell you, I was surprised at how engaged I became and how anxiously I anticipated the follow up.

    Yes it's debut fiction and it has all the marks of typical 'hot new author' mistakes all over it. An editor should have had this marked up and handed it back to him for corrections and re-dos. There are a lot of grammatical issues and just pure creative choices that I would have told the author to spend a little more time considering the creativity of his words. For example - corelings? Really. You couldn't spend another few minutes to come up with an original unique word and a unique take on the idea of demons?? I also would have wanted the author to think through how a civilization would actually have engaged these horrors - I would think many of the solutions 'discovered' in the book would have happened a long time ago in the timeline of that world as well these folks discovering more unique ways in which to gather in city states and travel their world.

    The main characters, Arlen / Rojer etc., are fleshed out well enough, but after reading
    the Desert Spear, I wish the author could have spent the same kind of time on them as he does on Jadir at the beginning of the sequel. That aside, the characters do come to life and the setting is intriguing enough especially once you get out into the desert with its more ritualistic tribes and how that conflicts / contrasts with their more Euro - medieval counterparts to the North. There are a few, 'just get on with it!' moments, but nothing that came to an abrupt dead stop in the narrative. Once the characters break out of their constricted home life and get on the road, it really takes off.

    The ending is a false ending...not really a cliff hanger, but not really the bang up climax you expect in a book to carry you on to part two. The characters though are what lead you to the next book to see what happens to them. I couldn't get through the end of this book fast enough to get onto the next. Though with the out of order style of storytelling the author has chosen, I would wonder once the series is done, how it would have read in chronological order to see these cultures and ideas come and go over time.

    Yet with all that said, the author's work is strong enough that I'm thoroughly enjoying the first two books of the series and hardily recommend them to fans of boys adventure, fantasy fiction. Hope to see a third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Warded Man By: Peter Brett

    Peter Brett's "The Warded Man was nicely written and was able to grab my interest right away, so that I wanted to continue to read it. The story was original in my opinion and enjoyable. If, I have any complaints, which are few, the author tends to use words that are not necessary and simply a play on what otherwise would be a word of everyday vernacular. This could be the authors' intent though and once you get use to some of the words it flows nicely. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy novels.
    This is my first book review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Astounding Action, Vivid Visuals

    I devoured this book, ravenous as a coreling in the night. Excellent world building, great character development, driving plot and riveting action. I'm panting and sweating just thinking about the last desperate battle.

    Some of my favorite bits of the world building include a post apocalyptic setting, almost an alternate history of our own reality, where humanity is facing extinction from supernatural elements (demons) holding people hostage with terror as they roam the nights freely; ward magic lost in the mist of time and only rediscovered sparingly and with great difficulty; and, the presence of religious and racial prejudices dividing rather than unifying at the expense humanity's survival.

    About two-thirds finished, I yearned to give a five star rating because I became so invested in the characters I wept for their pain, misadventures, obsessions and short-sightedness. But the characters I loved were abandoned, left behind, or symbolically sacrificed and reborn into even more crazed incarnations.

    For the rest of my review, please visit http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/93603232

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love The Originality

    I have to agree with a previous reviewer in that this book rose to the top 5 in my personal favorites list very quickly. (and that's a pretty extensive list) The author did a wonderful job of devloping the main character as well as the magical parameters of that particular world. I am truly looking forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Something new at last

    I enjoyed this book. It has been a long time since I read a new turn on Magic and Demons. Can't wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7