BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Warded Man (Demon Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 484 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

For Those who love Goodkind and Brooks.....

I received this new novel by Peter V. Brett a couple days ago from Del-Rey for review and so I decided to sit down from my few months being a mom to read it. I was so glad I did. The Warded Man is an intense ride that begins with the lives of three young children that t...
I received this new novel by Peter V. Brett a couple days ago from Del-Rey for review and so I decided to sit down from my few months being a mom to read it. I was so glad I did. The Warded Man is an intense ride that begins with the lives of three young children that through different diversities survive to fight on in a world where just the corelings or demons aren't the only things that should be feared.


In this well written novel, you will meet Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, each set on their own path by tragedy or by the evil of others. Their journeys are all thwart with different types of danger from One Armed demons to the evil of greedy men. Each one will have you wrapped around their stories as they pull you from the world you know into one that nights are feared and demons roam only to take you into that darkness never to return.


The Warded Man is a well put together novel. With intense actions scenes that do not rob from the brilliant dialogue, the beautiful, yet, horrifying imagery literally engulfs you in a world that is filled with mountains, deserts, wall cities, and small villages. Each chapter brings you deeper into the shadows filling your mind with visions of small fire demons to the large stone ones.


I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves good fantasy and great action. It is a bit on the dark side with some violence to kids as well as to grown ups so please use discression when looking at it for kids younger than sixteen or so. Other than that, I implore you to give Mr. Brett a chance. I know I will be reading the next in his series for sure.....

posted by Angelle on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Predictable Stuff.

The Warded man is another hero's journey of a boy who is thrust from the womb of his home and into the terrible reality he lives. This novel follows Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, each following similar coming-of-age arcs, jumping years, until they finally converge near the ...
The Warded man is another hero's journey of a boy who is thrust from the womb of his home and into the terrible reality he lives. This novel follows Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, each following similar coming-of-age arcs, jumping years, until they finally converge near the end of the book. Structure is good, but you must stray from it to keep things interesting. The story almost turns into Dune while Arlen is in the desert, but thankfully Brett decided to stop there, and instead give Arlen a Edmund Dantes-esque return as the titular Warded Man. There are some funny bits, some sweet revelations of the good in the hearts of some lowly characters and the action was often bloody and thrilling, but overall the inner story of the characters was flimsy, and Arlen essentially becomes the Batman of his world.

Brett's prose would have gotten me flayed in school, he almost entirely tells instead of shows, often repeating the obvious multiple times in the same paragraph, then having the dialog repeat it again, never allowing for subtext. He bashes the reader over the head with the apparent, yet neglects details like describing what the demons actually look like until quite a few chapters in. The world that he created feels more like a rough sketch, which would work with a cast of strong and complex characters, but those are missing here.

Another odd and bothersome aspect of this book is the constant examples of rape, incest, and molestation that permeate the story. About every other chapter has the characters in some conflict with sexual predators, or their own juvenile sexual issues. Particularly Leesha, who in the story is so beautiful that she turns any man alone with her into a drooling rapist. Well written, this may have lent itself to the complexity of the story, but it was not well done. This aspect was clumsy, predicable, and left me cringing more than once, and actually less interested in the character's fates. By the end, it felt like a heavy handed attempt to shape Leesha's and the others characters, but failed to do so.

Certainly not the worst fantasy you could pick up, but if you want a well done, gritty, fantasy, check out Joe Abercrombie and the First Law series. Or just a great, original fantasy book, try The Name of Wind by Patrick Rothfuss and see how it's done.

posted by NickyRay on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 492 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Warded Man

    Well composed and a storyline that movesalong effortlessly. As a fan of adult fantasy I found the book well.written! Intrigueing and a recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Amazing read!

    Once I started, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I would recommend this book to anyone that looks a good fantasy

    I would recommend this book to anyone that looks a good fantasy adventure story. You start with Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer switching from each of their adventures until their stories converge. While some of what happens it predictable it more than make up for it in my opinion, and for those that like blood and gore there is enough to go around later in the book, but more so in the others. I wouldn't recommend reading them out of order.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Awsome

    Loved this book a real page turner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Great spin on the whole night creatures genre.

    I must admit it started off a little slow,but boy did it pick up.Literally I can't put it down.Plus I understand now why it may have strated slow.The author took his time to develop each of the main characters,starting from when they were very young.Which you understand later on in detail who they are.And that makes for a great story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    So So read

    This book for me was a slow starter, it eventually picks up half way in the middle of the book but then has a predictable ending...with this said i think its a decent read. Im planning on reading the second book of the series to see where the story goes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Peter Brett is fast becoming one of my favorite Sci/Fi Fantasy authors. I have read all 3 of his books in this series and can't wait for the next one to come out.

    His ability to develop the characters in the story, keeps you turning the pages as fast as you can, or in the case of the Nook, pushing the next page button. I didn't think I was going to like how he goes through the life history of most of the characters, but it does give you a much better understanding of the characters and what drives them to do what they do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Great First Book

    This was a great first book in the series. Really cared about the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Not bad

    I enjoyed this book somewhat. I felt it was lacking in places, however. I may read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Excellent

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Strongly recommend. A page turner.

    This book, and the series in general, has that quality that I look for in any fantasy novel: a richness and depth that is reminiscent of a fine meal. I want to take my time reading it so that I can savor each page. Like the Ring Trilogy and Herbert's Dune series I have no doubt that I will return to this series repeatedly over the years. For me that is the ultimate test: Will I want to re-read it? A resounding Yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Young Adult

    I found this book to be an excellent read. While some individuals may find it hard to relate to the characters, I found that it was easy to relate to these characters as they went through their young adult lives. Rach person had a hardship to overcome, and each one dealt with it in a way that is entirely understandable to readers who grew up with similar conditions. This book allows me to look at how other people dealing with similar issues act and react to the world around them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great Book

    The story line is entertaining and the writing will draw you in and make you feel the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great book

    Great book. Excellent character development and flow of storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    What stands out about this book is the interesting world portray

    What stands out about this book is the interesting world portrayed, vicious action, and strong characterization. The world portrayed is a world without hope. Men are reduced to a food source for demons and the will to fight has been lost. It’s a world that’s ripe for a hero.

    The story focuses on three characters – Arlen, Leesha and Rojer – all of which will see themselves grow into their respective talents; talents that will see them become indispensable to the humans fight against the Core demons.

    A little convenient at times, Brett still manages to keep you interested throughout with a fast pace and characters you love and hurt for. Leesha’s quest for the right guy is heartbreaking at times and all too real at some points. Rojer’s anguished past haunts the reader, not to mention the character. While Arlen, the character we spend the most time with, undergoes the most radical of character developments, and you long for his healing by the end of the book.


    I could go on and on about the detail and the uniqueness of the world, but I’m trying my best not to ramble. Now that’s not to say that the worldbuilding is all this story has going for it. The plot is great and the way each main character brings something completely different to the story, makes each point of view interesting and fun to read. I have to say, without a doubt, this was one of my favorite reads this year. And if you like darker fantasy with interesting characters and great worldbuilding then this is a series you definitely need to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    This was a fun read and I'm looking forward to reading the rest

    This was a fun read and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    One of My New Favorite Authors/Series!

    Peter delivered a high octane story and significant depth of the main characters. I love the level of complexity balanced with easy reading draws you in to a story that is a real page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Enjoyed this book, will read again over the years.

    Enjoyed this book, will read again over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Great

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Good Story, Well written, Worth reading. I will be following this series

    I was looking for something to read while waiting for the next books in seveal other series I am reading to be released. I came across this and decided to give it a read, I am glad I did . It is a well written story, it flows nicely with out too much filler. It has a good amount of drama and well written characters who you come to care about. I found that it was written well enough that at times I swelled with pride for the characters or was deeply saddened by the trajic events that occured to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 492 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25