Customer Reviews for

Wards of Faerie: The Dark Legacy of Shannara

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Must read !!!!!

Terry Brooks does it again ! A wonderful book full of everything we come to expect for Terry Brooks. Left me wanting more.

posted by 7113912 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

very good and intersting - you must check it out!!

very good and intersting

posted by ellenvez on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Must read !!!!!

    Terry Brooks does it again ! A wonderful book full of everything we come to expect for Terry Brooks. Left me wanting more.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Always great to get back to the realms terry created

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Absolutely fantastic. Everything I have come to expect from Ter

    Absolutely fantastic. Everything I have come to expect from Terry
    Brooks, I can't wait to read the next book in this group.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Great story

    Terry Brooks continues to outdo himself!The Shannara series is simply the greatest fantasy series of all time!I loved every minute of this book and can' t wait for the sequel.I highly recommend this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book with great world building and adventure. Kept

    Really great book with great world building and adventure. Kept me entertained

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    excellent as usual!

    My only complaint with Mr. Brooks is the length of time between new books! I love his whole story line, the characters, (especially gnomes) and the way he picks up the story where he leaves off from book to book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Another fantastic Terry Brooks novel!

    I have read all of Terry Brooks books so when this one came out I couldn't wait to get my hands on it and read it and I wasn't disappointed. (Except for the fact that it is the first of a trilogy so I'll have a long wait to find out what happens in the end since the second two books haven't been written yet, ha ha.) This book is full of the usual Terry Brooks magic, mystery, mystic creatures and everything that I hoped it would be as in his previous novels. I do have to admit that I thought this book was a little too short, but that is in part due to the fact that the book leaves you hanging without ending until the next book comes out. However, if you love Terry Brooks novels or if you just want an excellent read, I'd highly recommend reading this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    This is the first Terry Brooks novel I've ever read and maaaan w

    This is the first Terry Brooks novel I've ever read and maaaan was I in for an adventure! Although I really enjoyed the book, I believe having not read her other series did leave me missing some character connections and world building. However, I still connected with the characters, LOVED the world, and enjoyed every moment learning about the Wards of Faerie.

    Our main character, Aphenglow Elessedil, is an elf who disgraced her family by joining the druid order, a powerful group of mages from all genetic backgrounds who pride themselves on maintaining a balanced relationship between all creatures in the Four Lands. An outcast in the home of the elves and with only her sister and great uncle to guide her, Aphen begins her tale uncovering a secret of the past, one that may lead her to a great lost power.

    This book was extremely well-written and developed. The characters were relatable and although there wasn't a lot of romantic relationship development between characters, but the tension and possibilities are set up for in the next books.

    This book was told from several characters perspectives - but that didn't begin for quite a while in the book. I was very used to hearing from Aphen, and although I appreciated the other perspectives and they were necessary for the development of the novel, I missed her voice.

    That being said, I did enjoy some of the secondary characters and the developments throughout the story, I guess I just felt as though not enough was uncovered. This was a book that I think can't be a stand alone...you NEED that second book to learn anything about the first and that's why it is missing a star. I think I would know more about the world and what is happening had I read Brooks' other books, however as the first book in the series, not much evolved from the initial problem. Some things yes - just not enough to make me satisfied.

    Although I don't read a lot of epic fantasy, I love a great one and Wards of Faerie is pretty darn great.

    *This book was provided by Del Ray Publishing via NetGalley in return for an unbiased review*

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    An other cant put down book.

    Great reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    great, as expected

    I have been a fan of Terry Brooks since the beginning. I have yet to be disappointed by one of his books. One of the few authors I automatically by when a book is available.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Great Read

    Hadn't read any of the Shannara books in a long time. Great to go back to that land and keep on with the adventures.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Another Master Piece !

    Terry was at his all time best in this writing. Captivating from the first word, cannot wait for his next. If you have not read any of Terry's wonderful creations, consider doing so.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Scavenger hunt

    THIS PRIZE IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART. IF YOU FIT THE DESCRIPTION "FAINT OF HEART", LEVE NOW & DONT CLAIM THIS PRIZE? If youre a guy you get a free week of nook se.x with me at sexy result eight. Stay longer if you like it. If youre a girl you get a free week of nook se.x with a guy at se.x result one. HOPE YOU ENJOY!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great start to the next Shanarra saga.

    It's Terry Brooks, nuff said. Great story! Recommended!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I have read fantasy on and off for about 48 years. Terry Brooks is one of the top 5 writers in that field. Wards of Faerie is again one of his better books. You cannot out guess his plots. And if you do, he will change it. He has went back in time and done what he does best. You will not be sorry if you read this book. Though You might have a hard time waiting for the rest of this book to come out. This is another great adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Excellent

    This is the first Terry Brooks book I've read. I love the characters, the way the story unfolds, and the scene settings. I will definitely buy the whole series and go back and get previous ones. A very good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    AS ALWAYS...THE BEST!!!!

    Pure Brooks. Leaves you wanting more!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Again, a wonderful read.

    Terry is staying true to his story tell roots and continues to lock the readers into a great world and charicters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    very good and intersting - you must check it out!!

    very good and intersting

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love this Series

    Love the new set of characters - can't wait for the next in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4