Customer Reviews for

Warlock

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another interesting ride

Wilbur Smith is an amazing story teller. I enjoyed River God very much and was anixous to get Warlock. All the same elements were here but there was one thing that vexed me. I did not like the introduction of magic and charms. River God did not have anything related to ...
Wilbur Smith is an amazing story teller. I enjoyed River God very much and was anixous to get Warlock. All the same elements were here but there was one thing that vexed me. I did not like the introduction of magic and charms. River God did not have anything related to that and it was realistic. To be, the whole story became unrealistic and i sat there wondering what happened. The book itself is amazingly written and enjoyable but it wasn't the same as River God

posted by Anonymous on November 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not one of Wilburs better novels

I believe I have read every novel written by Wilbur Smith. I enjoyed him so much that I have visited old book stores to find books out of print. I am a fan, but 'Warlock' in my opinion is not one of his better novels. In all previous novels that I have read, he stick...
I believe I have read every novel written by Wilbur Smith. I enjoyed him so much that I have visited old book stores to find books out of print. I am a fan, but 'Warlock' in my opinion is not one of his better novels. In all previous novels that I have read, he sticks with believeable dialogue. His main character escapes to many times with unbelieveable magic.

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2005

    Another interesting ride

    Wilbur Smith is an amazing story teller. I enjoyed River God very much and was anixous to get Warlock. All the same elements were here but there was one thing that vexed me. I did not like the introduction of magic and charms. River God did not have anything related to that and it was realistic. To be, the whole story became unrealistic and i sat there wondering what happened. The book itself is amazingly written and enjoyable but it wasn't the same as River God

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great book

    Well I didn't know this was a sequel. Very well written and obviously it is not necessary to read the first book to enjoy Warlock. Very entertaining and engaging.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Enchanted by the 'Warlock'

    The story of Warlock was absolutely beautiful! I have always been facinated by Egyptian Mythology and History, and this book combined the best of both worlds. The 'violent' sections in the book were graphic, but they were so well done! It certainly did not affect the book in any way...it made it better! The sex scenes were very indepth...but once again...it showed the true power of Nefer and Mintaka's love. I give the book 5 stars...and I plan on reading the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Disturbing yet adictive

    Being a fan of Egyptian history I was drawn simply by the cover of the book. Once I began to read it, I found that I was somewhat bored. But like a good movie, the book gets better and better. Some scenes I must confess, were quite disturbing. Smith went into very specific details and I was left with an imprint of the images in my mind, which wasnt very pleasant. But if a writer can do convey such an image through his writing you can bet that he has done a very excellent job. The money you pay for this book is soooooo worth it. Though it should have some warning on the cover warding off a younger more innocent audience due to its graphic nature. But to the adult audience is just as good as seeing the summers' hottest movie. Wilbur Smith, I give you props.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Too violent

    A well written and excellent story line with a fascinating phantasy aspect of the religion practiced during this time. However, I found it to contain too much graphic violence (against man and beast) for my liking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    Not one of Wilburs better novels

    I believe I have read every novel written by Wilbur Smith. I enjoyed him so much that I have visited old book stores to find books out of print. I am a fan, but 'Warlock' in my opinion is not one of his better novels. In all previous novels that I have read, he sticks with believeable dialogue. His main character escapes to many times with unbelieveable magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    grab a chair and light and a must read

    A fantastical historical novel that puts you in the great Egyptian time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    hi

    friend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great historical fiction!

    Warlock is a great book by a great and entertaining author, Wilbur Smith. His descriptions and plot twists make reading his books enjoyable. It is pure escapism in this case to be in Ancient Egypt reliving the struggles among the elite and powerful. The ritual of the era is described by the author in a very clear way that connects to the story and plot. River God and The Seventh Scroll are the first books in this series in Ancient Egypt.


    I look forward to reading the next book, The Quest in the near future. Wilbur Smith has also written a series about pirates in the 18th and 19th centuries. These are great books too and may give you some insight into the current piracy problem.

    Wilbur Smith's books help one to understand the culture and intrigue of the past. I look for new books to be written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    great

    fitting sequel to river god. you dont have to read river god to understand what's going on, but you really should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    A real Storyteller

    Some books I read are written by great novelists and authors, but Smith is a storyteller. In my opinion, this is more difficult. His vivid imagery and powerful sense of adventure, leap out off the pages and smack you in the face. The characters become friends and the story your own struggle. His stories bring you up and with an almost as sudden crash, back down. Yes, this book, along with others in the series, are as exciting as is gets!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    A very good sequel to River God

    A very good read. Wilber Smith's adventure novels are some of my favorite. This story is fast moving, with a lot of detail. I look forward to more stories about anciant Egypt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    Good Book

    this book was great...detailed sex scenes... bloody war scenes...perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2002

    Excellent!

    I have read Smith's series involving the beloved Taita and this one did not disappoint. I could not put it down! His characters become real as you read, which isn't a characteristic many writers have. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    Outstanding

    I just finished this book and it was outstanding. Yes, it was violent--but not more than necessary to weave a compelling story. I am ordering the next in the series right now and having it over-night delivered! Thanks Wilbur!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Speechless

    I'm only half way through this book and I'm always anxious to find out what happens next. This book is amazing! I love how the author describes every little detail, i feel like i'm standing next to Taita at all times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    Fun and fantasy in ancient Egypt

    Engaging characters in a tried and true plot of youth and idealism battling age and treachery with a dash of magic and mysticism that keeps you rolling along for an exciting chariot ride through ancient Egypt. We all need a mentor like Taita... and we all wish we were more like Nefer and Mintaka.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Too much fantasy

    Wilbur Smith has written many great books, but this is not one of them. Departing from the map that comes with the book, the hero escapes to the east, only to show up to the south. Later he watches an enemy army so vast it takes five days to pass he position, yet he is able to bypass this same group in about three hours. A reader can skip many parts of this book and miss little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    Soft, mysterious and exciting

    Wilbur Smith, at times, swamped a good story line with excessive detail which often masked the plot. I did not read him for some time for this reason. I recently read 'A Time to Die'; I liked his style in this book. 'Warlock' was an exciting read allowing the reader to greedily assume one of his characters. I hope that his next novel is just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3