Customer Reviews for

Warlord (Alex Hawke Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The latest Hawke espionage thriller is an exhilarating tale

Prior to his last mission, British spy Alex Hawke met Russian artist Anastasia Korsakova on a Bermuda beach while on R&R. He falls in love with her, but his case inside the New Russia puts him against her father Count Ivan Korsakov. While he completed the mission, his...
Prior to his last mission, British spy Alex Hawke met Russian artist Anastasia Korsakova on a Bermuda beach while on R&R. He falls in love with her, but his case inside the New Russia puts him against her father Count Ivan Korsakov. While he completed the mission, his beloved Anastasia dies (see Tsar).

Almost a year later, Hawke remains depressed with his only companion a bottle of rum that rarely numbs the pain inside his heart. He wants nothing to do with the espionage game until his royal friend Prince Charles begs him to help as someone threatens to assassinate the Royal family. Normally one to ignore such intimidation, Charles explains that somehow the culprit left a tome with a signature identical to the one belonging to his late uncle, Lord Mountbatten, who was murdered three decades ago. Hawke leaves Bermuda for London to begin his search for the mysterious killer. At the same time the Sword of Allah unites with the Taliban and al-Qaeda to form an evil alliance terrorizing the world.

The latest Hawke espionage thriller is an exhilarating tale that combines news headlines with the historical killing of Lord Mountbatten inside a super spy tale. Hawke's battle with suicidal depression feels real as he lost his love while killing her father so has welcomed a Russian death squad since he returned home to Bermuda. Now, only a special case called in by the Prince of Wales can get him back on the job and out of his crippling grief. Once in London, he reverts to Hawke super counter espionage agent. Warlord is a fabulous action-packed entry, but it is the fight within the hero's soul that makes it special.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very dissappointed

have enjoyed all of the other Ted Bell / Alex Hawke books. eagerly awaited this one. It just doesn't flow as smoothly as the other books in this series. i knew who the "bad guy" was the minute he was introduced. No surprises

posted by 3386112 on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Hawke espionage thriller is an exhilarating tale

    Prior to his last mission, British spy Alex Hawke met Russian artist Anastasia Korsakova on a Bermuda beach while on R&R. He falls in love with her, but his case inside the New Russia puts him against her father Count Ivan Korsakov. While he completed the mission, his beloved Anastasia dies (see Tsar).

    Almost a year later, Hawke remains depressed with his only companion a bottle of rum that rarely numbs the pain inside his heart. He wants nothing to do with the espionage game until his royal friend Prince Charles begs him to help as someone threatens to assassinate the Royal family. Normally one to ignore such intimidation, Charles explains that somehow the culprit left a tome with a signature identical to the one belonging to his late uncle, Lord Mountbatten, who was murdered three decades ago. Hawke leaves Bermuda for London to begin his search for the mysterious killer. At the same time the Sword of Allah unites with the Taliban and al-Qaeda to form an evil alliance terrorizing the world.

    The latest Hawke espionage thriller is an exhilarating tale that combines news headlines with the historical killing of Lord Mountbatten inside a super spy tale. Hawke's battle with suicidal depression feels real as he lost his love while killing her father so has welcomed a Russian death squad since he returned home to Bermuda. Now, only a special case called in by the Prince of Wales can get him back on the job and out of his crippling grief. Once in London, he reverts to Hawke super counter espionage agent. Warlord is a fabulous action-packed entry, but it is the fight within the hero's soul that makes it special.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex Hawke Makes James Bond Look Like A Girl Scout

    Warlord by Ted Bell

    This is my second Ted Bell Book. This is in the adult as opposed to young adult genre. This is a thriller right off of the pages of the newspaper (or nytimes.com). The British Royal Family is threatened by terrorists and a shell shocked, combat fatigued Alex Hawke is called in to save the day. This book is a medley of rock and roll action.

    This is a fun read. Alex Hawke makes James Bond look like a girl scout. His pal Stokely is intimidating even on paper. The characterizations were colorful and entertaining. Action was pretty much non-stop. The mysterious Smith was truly evil personified. I liked the back story use, it gave the characters more depth. The use of contemporary personages made the book more believable. Conspiracy buffs will revel in it's contents and conjectures.

    Bell painted Alex's despair very well. It was easy to wallow in his grief. Loyalty and honor are too often ignored in modern novels, Bell captured both.

    I highly recommend the book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Very dissappointed

    have enjoyed all of the other Ted Bell / Alex Hawke books.
    eagerly awaited this one. It just doesn't flow as smoothly as the other books in this series. i knew who the "bad guy" was the minute he was introduced. No surprises

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Outstanding thriller by outstanding author!

    I waited all summer long for a thriller just like this. Full of action, suspense, and high tension. I got more. I got terrific characters I felt like I really knew, I got laugh-out-loud humor when I least expected it, and I got a hero who most thriller heroes would find heroic. In short, I got what I waited for. And a whole lot more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    POWERFUL STORY, POWERFUL CHARACTERS, POWERFUL SUSPENSE

    Storytelling sometimes takes a back seat in the thriller genre. Not in this new book by Ted Bell. You are literally swept away from the first page onward. And the characters are all deeply developed, even the secondary figures who add humor and wit. It's simply a fine novel, and the fact that the villain is not revealed until the very end keeps you on the edge of your seat. The scenes in Paris with Princess Diana and Dodi Fayed are riveting. Great stuff. Get it, you won't be sorry.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Nothing better to do

    You'll have to suspend more than belief to get through this. Characters (even the 'real' ones) are almost completely unbelievable... more like a 'grown up' version of a Harry Potter adventure... readable but disappointing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Warlord

    good Hawke book, typical save the world plot. I have read every one and it seemslike Bell is creating a nice character here, and that he wont be afraid to reach back to earlier books to create plots for newer ones. Very happy with this characters potential. if you havent read him yet you better start now and catch up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Slumlord

    This book was just OK as far as thrillers go. Alex Hawke is ever so proper and able to stop a speeding bullet with one hand while eating crumpets. Who goes to an island in the dark with little gun power? Why, Alex, of course! Some scenes were highly unbelievable and over-the-top. I had the villian targeted within the middle of the book. Come on, Ted Bell, give us some real, gritty action. You have Brad Thor and Vince Flynn waiting in the wings.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Enough, Just Not His Best

    When you have read many of Ted Bell's other novels, you will find that Warlord does not carry the same weight that they do. Which isn't to say it is not a good read, just not the read you were anticipating. So much of the story is implausible that the reader has to roll the eyes one time too many, and Bell can write better than that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    SIMPLY SPECTACULAR THRILLER!

    Far and away the most intoxicating read of the year. Alex Hawke is a hero cut from the classic mold:brave, wise, strong...but with a wry sense of humor. Think Errol Flynn meets William Powell in The Thin Man. The supporting cast is finely crafted, all three dimensional and capable of laugh out loud utterances. The 'Warlord' of the book could even be, but isn't, Lord Alexander Hawke: "The lord who is always going off to war!" says MI6 intelligence officer Montague Thorne, one of the many fascinating characters who inhabit the wildly entertaining novel by one of America's finest thriller writers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ALEX HAWKE IS A ONE-OF-A-KIND THRILLER HERO

    Wasted. That's the only way to describe the way we first find our favorite British spy in Ted Bell's exciting sixth Alex Hawke adventure. After all, what could one expect from even the strongest, most disciplined of men when he's lost everything that had any meaning for him? In Alex's words, "My parents were murdered before my eyes when I was seven years old. I met a wonderful woman, the first I'd ever wanted to marry. She died in my arms on the steps of the chapel where we'd just been wed." Then as he puts it "The truly unbelievable happened - he fell in love again and they were to be married, but she died carrying his child, a son.

    Alex no longer wants to right wrongs or defend the innocent; he simply wants to die and is choosing to kill himself with alcohol and cigarettes. That is until he received a middle of the night phone call from Prince Charles. The two men have been friends since boyhood, and now Charles asks Alex to return to England because the royal family is in danger, all of them Charles, his mother, Wills, Harry.

    Threats have been made in notes signed by The Pawn. Charles believes the threat to his family is from the IRA, those responsible for killing of Lord Mountbatten in 1979. Of course, Alex promises to be in England as soon as possible.

    Once there he'll be joined in tracking the would-be killer or killers by his good friend Ambrose Congreve. Former Chief Inspector of Scotland Yard. Readers of Hawke books know this is an estimable pair. They're more than challenged when the chase also involves trying to find a missing nuke in the wilds of Afghanistan. The challenges before him are the best medicine Hawke could find unless, of course, he dies in the process.

    As is his wont Bell serves healthy bits of humor with his suspense. Plus he adds great doses of realism with information gathered when he participated in a special ops program sponsored by the Secretary of Defense. WARLORD is compelling adventure led by a one-of-a-kind thriller fiction hero. Alex Hawke leads the pack.

    - Enjoy.

    - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Desappointed

    Despite the negative reviews, I decided to still buy it. The reviews were right! As much as I loved all his previous books, I didn,t like this one. Long and boring. I will still give Bell one more shot. Don't expect much from this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ted Bell does it again!!

    I was thoroughly on the edge of my seat!! I cant wait for Alex to go rescue his family!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    excellent

    An excellent read in typical Ted Bell fashion

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Don't start with this one.

    Extremely disappointed! I've read all the other Alex Hawk books and enjoyed them all, but this was just plan awful. It appears that Ted Bells heart just wasn't into this one or someone else wrote it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Hardly worth the read.

    Mr. Bell needs to take a course in creative writing. His dialogue is just awful. I kept reading this book and thought: this writer has a bad ear for how people actually talk with one another. His editor should have picked that up. I finished the book just to see if the writing improved: it didn't. This will be the last book I buy from this guy. And the ending was not much better. Its almost as if he grew bored with the story he was telling and decided to tell readers about his next book before he fell off to sleep. Very, very disappointed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Very Disappointed

    I'm a big Ted Bell and Alex Hawke fan and couldn't wait to get a copy of this book. Sadly my rush to read this book only led to disappointment. I found what I thought were several inconsistencies in this book that made it feel as if the same time and devotion wasn't given to it as was the previous books in the series. If I were to rank this book against the others in this great series it would come in a distant last.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    Shocking

    You really need to be an extreme anglophile to be able to appreciate this book. It only serves to comfirm and glorify the superiority of the Brits and their upper class in particular. It is grossly out of touch with the reality of today and hopefully will not convince the readers that the Brittish culture will make a better world. If you are able to however to sympathise with the author or able to overcome your distaste it is smooth reading.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    Phenomenal Thriller!

    The Hawke series just keeps getting better and Warlord is the best yet. Two seemingly unrelated threads wind throughout the book, intersecting, and diverging seamlessly. The tale of the vendetta against the British Royal Family is mesmerizing, especially the author's take on what REALLY happened to Dodi Fayed and Princess Diana that fateful night in Paris. The very real threat of radical Islamic recruiting inside US prisons and the extreme danger posed by our 'ally' Pakistan make for political suspense at the highest level. This is a must read novel for all thriller fans and anyone who just enjoys an exciting tale well told. Have fun!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Meh.

    I miss Clancy. And I don't mean those Clancy books out there written by someone else but with his name on them - I mean the real Tom Clancy.

    Ted Bell is no Tom Clancy. I have to disagree with the other reviews I've read. I did not find the characters well developed at all; instead they seemed to be stereotypes of the kind of characters you encounter in so many political action thrillers these days.

    Though the plot had promise, it, too, was woefully underdeveloped. Both the characters and the plot lacked sufficient background details for me to begin to care about either. As a result, it was hard to accept some of the developments. By the time the real Mr. Smith was revealed, I frankly didn't care.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8