Customer Reviews for

Warm Bodies

Average Rating 4.5
( 611 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(431)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

67 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Don't Let the Story Line Fool You

I know, I was skeptical at first too. The premise of this book is one that is different to be sure. Don't let that turn you off; different is good. I picked up this book with the intent of reading a horror/comedy, man was I surprised.

The book is about the horror...
I know, I was skeptical at first too. The premise of this book is one that is different to be sure. Don't let that turn you off; different is good. I picked up this book with the intent of reading a horror/comedy, man was I surprised.

The book is about the horrors of humanity. But more than any book I have read in a long time it's about Hope and Love. How above all things there will always be these two guiding lights through the horror of the unknown and the fear that each and every one of us feels.

posted by Encharion on March 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it.

I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the c...
I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the cover. I should have realized RIGHT THEN that this wasn't going to be a book I would enjoy. This book, like Meyer's Twilight series, read like fanfiction. Actually, it read like literary fanfiction (if such a genre were to exist) because Isaac Marion knows how to write. His sentences are beautiful and well though out, especially in the first few chapters before it becomes an inane love story. In those first few chapters, he had me hooked; I totally saw an existentialist zombie trapped in an inferior body, longing for the humanity he didn't understand. If Marion had focused on that, on some sort of basic human struggle sans love, this would have been a brilliant book. But the second Julie steps in, Warm Bodies instantly turns to mush.

Julie, the Juliet character in this Shakespearean rip-ff, lacks personality. She's equal parts bubbly, spunky, and annoying. As a girl reading this book, it annoyed me how weak she was. She was never portrayed as a strong young woman whose will to survive was stronger than the zombie apocalypse. Marion certainly wanted us to think that of her, but I couldn't buy it. She constantly put herself in danger and seemed incapable of rescuing herself.

Another thing: a lover story between a human and a zombie is just kind of... gross. R is described as being filthy and leaking a thick black liquid from the (forever unhealing) wounds on his body. Every time a romantic moment occurred, I barfed in my head. Imagining some smelly, unidentifiable-black-liquid-excreting dead person kissing somebody is NOT my idea of a fairy tale romance.

Do yourself a favor and skip over this book.

posted by lovelylane on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 611 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Let the Story Line Fool You

    I know, I was skeptical at first too. The premise of this book is one that is different to be sure. Don't let that turn you off; different is good. I picked up this book with the intent of reading a horror/comedy, man was I surprised.

    The book is about the horrors of humanity. But more than any book I have read in a long time it's about Hope and Love. How above all things there will always be these two guiding lights through the horror of the unknown and the fear that each and every one of us feels.

    67 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Warm Bodies Warmed My Heart

    First of all this book is fantastic, but I was deeply offended that they called the fat kid "Piggy" being that I am fat myself. Chocolate is my addiction... My curse. The part where the cannonball took that man's head off was when I KNEW this book was for real. Also, when the two guys started fighting each other, and the one guy stabbed the other (I cried)... But when the dead guy came back my jaw dropped in epic shock.

    I deeply enjoyed the characters. Obviously, Piggy was fantastic. Julie... UGH! I liked her, but she was the definition of "loose," but in a zombie apocalypse who has choices? Trent was just one of those whimsical characters who you couldn't help but fall in love with. He was hilarious. Even the scene where his intestines were being ripped out of him I found myself laughing hysterically.

    This book made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me feel parts of myself that I haven't felt in years. It was craptastic. I enjoyed several twinkies while reading this book.

    *SPOILER ALERT* I am very confused about the ending. I never thought that this zombie apocalypse romance would be a figment of Bill Murray's imagination. You got me there, Isaac Marion. You cut me real deep, Isaac. Real deep.

    23 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Movie movie MOVIE!!!!

    Pretty good for a debut novel if i do say so myself. I've read about zero zombie novels before this one and I'm really glad this was my first. R is a character you wont get tired of; that much i can promise you :) enjoy, and be excited for the movie!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    From Missy's Reads & Reviews

    Every now and then, there's a book so prolifically amazing that you ignore the fact that its subject matter is something that you absolutely detest. For me, that book was Warm Bodies. Despite the fact that I love zombie movies, I have an extreme dislike for zombie books (save a few)... until now. Perhaps I was reading the wrong type of zombie books? Or maybe I just gave up too soon when I read a few bad ones in a row? Either way, Isaac Marion's novel has completely changed my mind about the matter and I am now more open to the world of zombies in modern literature.

    One of the things that sticks out so profoundly about this novel is the fact that R - the main character, a zombie - actually still holds on to some human attributes and there's more going on than just "Mmm... braaaiiiinnnnsss" in his thought process. On top of that, there's still feelings involved... which is something we don't see much of when it comes to the living dead. R wants to be more than what he is. He craves to feel, love and have more than just a normal zombie life. He's a character that will surprise you at how easily you can relate to and empathize with.

    It would be against all crimes of this blog not to point out that I did creep out a little with the romantic interest in the novel. It was just something I couldn't wholeheartedly get behind. However, as disturbing as it was for me, it was also very beautiful and seemed to fit naturally into the story as a whole.

    The story was amazingly written. R's perspective was completely enthralling and the story as a whole was nothing short of incredible. Once I started reading, I couldn't stop reading... even at the parts that made me cringe! The world building in Warm Bodies wasn't much different from present-day society... only, you know, it has zombies and stuff - which is something I am almost certain does not exist. Yet.

    If zombie romances are your thing, then you absolutely MUST pick up a copy of Warm Bodies. Right now. If they're not your thing, then I would recommend picking up a copy of Warm Bodies. Right now. I have a feeling Marion will change your mind and steal your heart with this novel.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    What a Great Book!

    "Warm Bodies" is such a great debut novel from Isaac Marion! I was immediately engulfed in the main character, R, and found myself cheering and rooting for him by the end of the book.
    I never thought I could care for a zombie, the way this book made me care for a zombie.
    Try it out! It's good fun and a fast read.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, prefer Fallen Angel way more over this. But this is a

    Good book, prefer Fallen Angel way more over this. But this is a good read too.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Omg

    Best book eva, THE MOVIES COMING OUT IN FEBUARY!!!!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Amazing

    What a great zombie love book. I couldnt put it down, not a dull moment. A must read.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Awesome

    So far its good, csnt wait until the movr febuary 1,2013 omg!!!! You hae to read this book and watch the movie its will make you wabt to be there its so awesome :DDDDDD

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    HAWT Zombies In Love + Lyrical Prose = MUST READ When I first s

    HAWT Zombies In Love + Lyrical Prose = MUST READ

    When I first saw the preview for Warm Bodies (the movie), I was so excited. What a fantastic premise. A zombie falling in love! Then when a friend told me it was a book too, I was even more excited! I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it! And I absolutely loved this book!! Omigosh, it was stop-your-world fantastic!!!!

    The first thing that drew me in was the fact that Isaac told the story from R’s (the hero’s) point of view. Watching a guy fall in love, especially a zombie, was so intriguing. Throughout the entire book, I wasn’t sure how things could possibly end well; because, after all, the hero is a zombie. Eats brains, does the death shuffle, that type of thing. I won’t give anything away, but the ending will surprise you.

    Another aspect of this story that was so unique was what happened when zombies actually ate human brains. Read the book to find out!
    You can’t help but root for R. He’s witty, smart and hopelessly romantic, even if he can’t remember his name or what he did before the outbreak happened. Zombie stories—what with the flesh eating and all—can get a little gory, but I never once thought about that while reading Warm Bodies. The beautifully crafted sentences and underlying humor held me spellbound. I flew through the pages, but had to force myself to slow down and savor the ending… I wanted more! I am so glad I read this book, and I absolutely cannot wait to see what comes next! Give me book two, Isaac!!

    Highly recommend you move this one to the top of your TBR list.

    ****Favorite lines**** Okay, so this wasn’t even all of them. I had to cut quite a few or I’d give the entire book away and Isaac probably wouldn’t like that! Enjoy!!

    Faint impressions of past lives that linger like phantom limbs.

    But it does make me sad that we’ve forgotten our names. Out of everything, this seems to me the most tragic. I miss my own and I mourn for everyone else’s, because I’d like to love them, but I don’t know who they are.

    It’s simple but senseless, arbitrary laws from some lunatic legislator in the sky.

    Being dead is easy.

    In my mind I am eloquent; I can climb intricate scaffolds of words to reach the highest cathedral ceilings and paint my thoughts. But when I open my mouth, it all collapses.

    The sparkle of life sprays out of his cells like citrus mist from an orange peel, and I suck it in.

    I crush her against me. I want to be part of her. Not just inside her but all around her. I want our rib cages to crack open and our hearts to migrate and merge. I want our cells to braid together like living thread.

    But then she screams again, and something inside me moves, a feeble moth struggling against a web.

    I look at her blankly. Hungry? Does she want an arm or leg? Hot blood, meat and life? She’s Living . . . does she want to eat herself?

    She is Living and I’m Dead, but I’d like to believe we’re both human. Call me an idealist.

    I long for exclamation marks, but I’m drowning in ellipses.

    Nora stares at me like I’m Sasquatch, the Chupacabra, maybe a unicorn.

    “Come on,” she encourages. “Use your words.”

    I would like my life to be a movie so I could cut to a montage.

    I’m just a corpse who wants not to be.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Random House and Netgalley.)
    R is a zombie. He doesn’t remember his real name, or what life was like when he was alive. He’s just busy finding enough human brains to eat so that he doesn’t die totally, because if he doesn’t eat brains, he loses the magic ‘life’ energy that is keeping him animated.

    One day while on a hunt, R eats the brains of a boy called Perry, and as he eats them, he sees flashes of the boy’s life, and learns that the boy loves a girl called Julie. Julie is with the same group as Perry, and R makes sure that she is not harmed, rubs zombie blood on her so that the others don’t realise she is human, and takes her home with him.

    R isn’t sure what’s going on, but the more of Perry’s brain he eats, and the more time he spends with Julie, he begins to feel different, and begins to develop feelings of his own for Julie.
    Can R ever be anything but a zombie though? Can Julie ever see him as anything more than a zombie? And what will Julie say when she finds out that it was R who killed her boyfriend and ate his brains?


    Let’s just say that this was one weird-ass zombie novel. Dystopian society – check, zombies – check, a zombie falling in love with a human – check, what?

    Most zombie novels obviously focus on those running from the zombies, and zombies are obviously pretty gross. In this book, the story is told from the point of view of the zombie! And yes, these zombies are still gross – rotting, with nasty teeth, grey skin etc, and with the need to eat human brains regularly.
    The author tries to get you to relate to the zombie, and even to feel sorry for him, but all the way through, I just could not get over the fact that R is a zombie! As ‘nice’ as R was, he was still a zombie! I mean, the story was enjoyable, and it was a totally different experience to see things from the zombie’s point of view, but I still couldn’t get over the fact that he was a zombie.
    Julie does get past the fact that R is a zombie, and she even starts to like him, but the whole ‘eats human brains’ thing was just too much for me!

    It was interesting to see the take on zombie’s in this book, although we never really find out what caused the end of the world as we know it, or why people turned into zombies. We learn that the humans refer to a type of plague, but that’s all. The zombies themselves must eat human muscle and brain to remain ‘alive’, and they can ‘die’ if they run out of the ‘life’ energy that they get from their meals. I thought that the idea of the zombie’s experiencing their victims memories as they ate their brains to be quite interesting and unusual, and hadn’t come across anything like that before (although I suppose most zombie books are not told from the point of view of the zombie).

    I thought that the storyline was obviously very different, and quite a unique idea. I can’t say that I knew exactly where the book was going, but it was quite obvious that something would happen between R and Julie. Thankfully there wasn’t much physical romance in this book because kissing someone with rotting lips? Not a nice thought. With regards to the ending, I wasn’t really sure what to make of it. I mean, the ending was alright, but it felt a little strange to get a happy ending in a zombie book!

    So what do I think overall? This was an enjoyable read, but I found it quite difficult to relate to a zombie, or to a girl who could learn to love a zombie! And the ending was probably a little too positive for a zombie book!
    6.8 out of 10.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Oh my zombi!

    The movie trailer sparked my intrest, but after i started reading the book I was addicted! An excelent book that you just cant put down, with memorable characters your bond to fall in love with!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Not worth it.

    I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

    When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the cover. I should have realized RIGHT THEN that this wasn't going to be a book I would enjoy. This book, like Meyer's Twilight series, read like fanfiction. Actually, it read like literary fanfiction (if such a genre were to exist) because Isaac Marion knows how to write. His sentences are beautiful and well though out, especially in the first few chapters before it becomes an inane love story. In those first few chapters, he had me hooked; I totally saw an existentialist zombie trapped in an inferior body, longing for the humanity he didn't understand. If Marion had focused on that, on some sort of basic human struggle sans love, this would have been a brilliant book. But the second Julie steps in, Warm Bodies instantly turns to mush.

    Julie, the Juliet character in this Shakespearean rip-ff, lacks personality. She's equal parts bubbly, spunky, and annoying. As a girl reading this book, it annoyed me how weak she was. She was never portrayed as a strong young woman whose will to survive was stronger than the zombie apocalypse. Marion certainly wanted us to think that of her, but I couldn't buy it. She constantly put herself in danger and seemed incapable of rescuing herself.

    Another thing: a lover story between a human and a zombie is just kind of... gross. R is described as being filthy and leaking a thick black liquid from the (forever unhealing) wounds on his body. Every time a romantic moment occurred, I barfed in my head. Imagining some smelly, unidentifiable-black-liquid-excreting dead person kissing somebody is NOT my idea of a fairy tale romance.

    Do yourself a favor and skip over this book.

    6 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Great Zombie Story

    This book was the first zombie story I had read from the zombie point of view and had hope involved for the ending. It was about a living female and a dead male with an impossible and quirky love. I thought it was a great read and like another reviewer said, it would easily translate to a movie. I'm looking forward to rereading this story. The Publisher Weekly review is wrong, this is a very good book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Not great....

    You know, to be honest, I wouldn't even know that this book had existed, if not for the movie, which I loved. To compliment this book: it has exquisite word choice. The author obviously put a lot of thought into this novel and how the sentences sounded, and I salute him just for that; he tries twice as hard as most book writers.

    What kept me from loving, or even really liking this book, was how the sentences blended together. As I said above, the sentences on their own were amazing. But when you put them all together... it was sort of a different story. The way in which the diolouge was written was very hard for me to get past. It often went through two ir maybe even three scenarios in less than a page and a half at the parts where you really wanted detail, and the parts where you didn't need so much seemed to drag on and on forever. I did find R's point if view interesting for a short while, and then it became difficult to read, and it seemed as if the author's mind was going in 10 different directions at once, and couldn't decide which to write!

    And then we have Julie. Oh, Julie. She was certainly something special, and you can take that any way you like. I wouldn't necessarily choose her to survive an apocolypse. But you know, that's just my point of view.

    Overall, the word and sentence structure in this book was truly amazing, but the story never pulled me in; it more pushed me away. An interesting spinoff on Romeo and Juliet (And yes, I do understand the irony; "R"= Romeo, Julie = Juliet), but I wouldn't waste my time unless you're really into books that keave your head spinning and are totally at different paces constantly...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Warm bodies review

    This book is so good I could NOT and when I mean NOT I MEAN NOT put it down. It is the perfect romance/sifi/action book. WARNING: It is not for someone who doesn's like romance or TMI. I mean really some stuff I didn't need to know. BUT STILL IT IS SO SWEET. And o SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!
    R the zombie slowly changes back to a human.

    I think all zombies need is a little bit of love to!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Creeptastic!!  Dang, I don¿t even know where to begi

    Beautifully Creeptastic!! 
    Dang, I don’t even know where to begin with this review.  This book was gross and disgusting, totally hilarious, and amazingly beautiful all at once!  The first few chapters, I was pretty creeped out. The author does not spare the horrific details of being a zombie.  The whole rotting corpse, eating brains, grunts and shuffles – it’s all there.  But the thing about R is, he’s different than the others.  You get to hear what he’s actually thinking in that dead head of his.  He has real, educated, intelligent thought going on up there even though he can’t put it into more than one or two syllables when he tries to speak.  He is also not real with thrilled with the fact that he has to kill people to stay alive, but what else can he do?  Then there’s Julie.  She is very real and very bad-ass – definitely not some fragile little human.  She can take care of herself & she won’t take crap from anyone. Oddly, the two seem to bring out the best in each other the more they are together.  This is one of those books that will keep you reading into the early hours of the morning – don’t plan on doing anything else until it’s finished.  A very unique story that will change your view of Zombies for good! 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Anonymous

    The great expectations i had made for this book were happily met. Instanty intrigued after seeing the movie trailer recently, i was stoked to purchase and dive into this new world of zombie love! I found it amusing, intriguing and heart felt. The main character R amazed me and had me deeply examining humans and our existense together. Although i did enjoy the quick read, it was again really short. I would have loved to dive deeper into detail through this fictional world. The ending left me wanting more of blunt, brave Julie and loving, caring R. Still, definately worth the purchase!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great book

    I only picked up this book because i saw the movie. I realy enjoyed it. For me it was a fast read,only took me a day and a half to read it all. The writting wes great, had realy great word choices, that made it interesting to read. The thoughts are a bit scater brained and i ha to reread sone sections, but the book had me hooks and i could not out it downm just a good interesting read, i highly recomend it if you have some free time and looking fir a fun fast read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great book for the "not so" zombie people!!

    This book isnt just for people into zombie stuff i would know because zombies just weren't my thing before this book. The author shows you a completely different prospective on a post appocolips situation that is some how romantic and inspiring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 611 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31