Customer Reviews for

Warm Bodies

Average Rating 4.5
( 621 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(439)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

Don't Let the Story Line Fool You

I know, I was skeptical at first too. The premise of this book is one that is different to be sure. Don't let that turn you off; different is good. I picked up this book with the intent of reading a horror/comedy, man was I surprised.

The book is about the horror...
I know, I was skeptical at first too. The premise of this book is one that is different to be sure. Don't let that turn you off; different is good. I picked up this book with the intent of reading a horror/comedy, man was I surprised.

The book is about the horrors of humanity. But more than any book I have read in a long time it's about Hope and Love. How above all things there will always be these two guiding lights through the horror of the unknown and the fear that each and every one of us feels.

posted by Encharion on March 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it.

I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the c...
I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the cover. I should have realized RIGHT THEN that this wasn't going to be a book I would enjoy. This book, like Meyer's Twilight series, read like fanfiction. Actually, it read like literary fanfiction (if such a genre were to exist) because Isaac Marion knows how to write. His sentences are beautiful and well though out, especially in the first few chapters before it becomes an inane love story. In those first few chapters, he had me hooked; I totally saw an existentialist zombie trapped in an inferior body, longing for the humanity he didn't understand. If Marion had focused on that, on some sort of basic human struggle sans love, this would have been a brilliant book. But the second Julie steps in, Warm Bodies instantly turns to mush.

Julie, the Juliet character in this Shakespearean rip-ff, lacks personality. She's equal parts bubbly, spunky, and annoying. As a girl reading this book, it annoyed me how weak she was. She was never portrayed as a strong young woman whose will to survive was stronger than the zombie apocalypse. Marion certainly wanted us to think that of her, but I couldn't buy it. She constantly put herself in danger and seemed incapable of rescuing herself.

Another thing: a lover story between a human and a zombie is just kind of... gross. R is described as being filthy and leaking a thick black liquid from the (forever unhealing) wounds on his body. Every time a romantic moment occurred, I barfed in my head. Imagining some smelly, unidentifiable-black-liquid-excreting dead person kissing somebody is NOT my idea of a fairy tale romance.

Do yourself a favor and skip over this book.

posted by lovelylane on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Not worth it.

    I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

    When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the cover. I should have realized RIGHT THEN that this wasn't going to be a book I would enjoy. This book, like Meyer's Twilight series, read like fanfiction. Actually, it read like literary fanfiction (if such a genre were to exist) because Isaac Marion knows how to write. His sentences are beautiful and well though out, especially in the first few chapters before it becomes an inane love story. In those first few chapters, he had me hooked; I totally saw an existentialist zombie trapped in an inferior body, longing for the humanity he didn't understand. If Marion had focused on that, on some sort of basic human struggle sans love, this would have been a brilliant book. But the second Julie steps in, Warm Bodies instantly turns to mush.

    Julie, the Juliet character in this Shakespearean rip-ff, lacks personality. She's equal parts bubbly, spunky, and annoying. As a girl reading this book, it annoyed me how weak she was. She was never portrayed as a strong young woman whose will to survive was stronger than the zombie apocalypse. Marion certainly wanted us to think that of her, but I couldn't buy it. She constantly put herself in danger and seemed incapable of rescuing herself.

    Another thing: a lover story between a human and a zombie is just kind of... gross. R is described as being filthy and leaking a thick black liquid from the (forever unhealing) wounds on his body. Every time a romantic moment occurred, I barfed in my head. Imagining some smelly, unidentifiable-black-liquid-excreting dead person kissing somebody is NOT my idea of a fairy tale romance.

    Do yourself a favor and skip over this book.

    6 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Not great....

    You know, to be honest, I wouldn't even know that this book had existed, if not for the movie, which I loved. To compliment this book: it has exquisite word choice. The author obviously put a lot of thought into this novel and how the sentences sounded, and I salute him just for that; he tries twice as hard as most book writers.

    What kept me from loving, or even really liking this book, was how the sentences blended together. As I said above, the sentences on their own were amazing. But when you put them all together... it was sort of a different story. The way in which the diolouge was written was very hard for me to get past. It often went through two ir maybe even three scenarios in less than a page and a half at the parts where you really wanted detail, and the parts where you didn't need so much seemed to drag on and on forever. I did find R's point if view interesting for a short while, and then it became difficult to read, and it seemed as if the author's mind was going in 10 different directions at once, and couldn't decide which to write!

    And then we have Julie. Oh, Julie. She was certainly something special, and you can take that any way you like. I wouldn't necessarily choose her to survive an apocolypse. But you know, that's just my point of view.

    Overall, the word and sentence structure in this book was truly amazing, but the story never pulled me in; it more pushed me away. An interesting spinoff on Romeo and Juliet (And yes, I do understand the irony; "R"= Romeo, Julie = Juliet), but I wouldn't waste my time unless you're really into books that keave your head spinning and are totally at different paces constantly...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I think I had too high of expectations for this book. I liked h

    I think I had too high of expectations for this book. I liked how the zombies were depicted in the story. They moaned, groaned, rotted and even did meaningless things for entertainment, like riding up and down escalators all day long. The author even takes you on their hunting trips into town when they devour cowering humans. That was probably the one thing I liked about this book, how true it was to the zombies that we've grown up watching in movies. Even when R eats Perry's brain (a delicacy) he gets Perry's memories with every bite. Which is why when he see's Julie (Perry's girlfriend) he spares her life and takes her back to his place. And this is where I had major problems.

    Julie at first is scared of R and she should be considering him and his group of zombies just killed her boyfriend and friends. However, after a few times of him sticking up for her, she is kissing him, sleeping in bed with him and falling in love with him. The zombie ate your boyfriend and you are okay with it and want to shack up with the decomposing body who is still munching on your boyfriend's brain every night? For some reason that for me was too far fetched and really ruined the story for me. As well as the fact that the zombies get married, have relationships and adopt lil' zombie kids as their own. They even have a zombie school to teach the kids how to hunt and be zombies. Really? For some reason if your bumbling around in your zombie life attacking humans like a feral animal, shuffling around in circles, and riding up and down escalators for hours, I don't understand how you have the mental capacity to get married and care for a zombie baby. Let alone be an instructor to teach other zombies how to hunt or better yet, have the willpower to not eat all that yummy fresh flesh you just chased down for 4 blocks and instead bring in home for the too crippled and too young zombies back at base.

    I don't know, like I said, some parts of the book were pretty good but a lot of it was hard to swallow. And this is coming from a girl who likes dragon shifter books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Good

    This book is sorta boring

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    watch the movie instead

    This is the only time I've liked a movie more than the book. The movie is funny and entertaining without the social commentary that the author has in the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Senseless, pointless, & the movie was sooo much better

    I only read the SMAPLE of Warm Bodies and it SUCKED!!!!!!!!!! First off, he as talking about 10 different thuings. And the movie rocked. Julie and r (Nick Hoult and teresa palmer) did such a good job! Bottom line, i do not recommed it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    I have to say I liked the movie a ton better than the book. I sa

    I have to say I liked the movie a ton better than the book. I saw the movie twice with my friend in all the same weekend if that says anything to you about getting this book. We both decided to read it, and I read it second and... it just wasn't very good. Don't get me wrong, the book it's self was crammed together. There was a lack in spacing out what happened and just jumped from one idea to the next.
    If you want to spend your money on a book then I would recommend any other book. This one is only decent and isn't written very well.
    It seems that our friend R had to much going on in his brain-dead-literally-zombie-dead-brain. The movie was cuter and way more funny
    then the book.
    Thank you Luna. B. Walice 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Warm bodies

    This stinks it bought the sample not the real book fornme and i payed $8 for a sample.....



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Not as good as the reviews

    I bought this book because there seemed to be so many fantastic reviews. Needless to sayI was pretty disappointed. It started off strong, then just fizzled. I am a huge zombie fan and this just didnt cut it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1