Customer Reviews for

Warm Bodies

Average Rating 4.5
( 604 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(427)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

67 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Don't Let the Story Line Fool You

I know, I was skeptical at first too. The premise of this book is one that is different to be sure. Don't let that turn you off; different is good. I picked up this book with the intent of reading a horror/comedy, man was I surprised.

The book is about the horror...
I know, I was skeptical at first too. The premise of this book is one that is different to be sure. Don't let that turn you off; different is good. I picked up this book with the intent of reading a horror/comedy, man was I surprised.

The book is about the horrors of humanity. But more than any book I have read in a long time it's about Hope and Love. How above all things there will always be these two guiding lights through the horror of the unknown and the fear that each and every one of us feels.

posted by Encharion on March 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it.

I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the c...
I expected this book to be completely different than how it turned out. I expected something brave and new for the zombie genre just based off the reviews I'd read.

When I opened first the book on my Nook, I saw a glowing recommendation from Stephanie Meyer on the cover. I should have realized RIGHT THEN that this wasn't going to be a book I would enjoy. This book, like Meyer's Twilight series, read like fanfiction. Actually, it read like literary fanfiction (if such a genre were to exist) because Isaac Marion knows how to write. His sentences are beautiful and well though out, especially in the first few chapters before it becomes an inane love story. In those first few chapters, he had me hooked; I totally saw an existentialist zombie trapped in an inferior body, longing for the humanity he didn't understand. If Marion had focused on that, on some sort of basic human struggle sans love, this would have been a brilliant book. But the second Julie steps in, Warm Bodies instantly turns to mush.

Julie, the Juliet character in this Shakespearean rip-ff, lacks personality. She's equal parts bubbly, spunky, and annoying. As a girl reading this book, it annoyed me how weak she was. She was never portrayed as a strong young woman whose will to survive was stronger than the zombie apocalypse. Marion certainly wanted us to think that of her, but I couldn't buy it. She constantly put herself in danger and seemed incapable of rescuing herself.

Another thing: a lover story between a human and a zombie is just kind of... gross. R is described as being filthy and leaking a thick black liquid from the (forever unhealing) wounds on his body. Every time a romantic moment occurred, I barfed in my head. Imagining some smelly, unidentifiable-black-liquid-excreting dead person kissing somebody is NOT my idea of a fairy tale romance.

Do yourself a favor and skip over this book.

posted by lovelylane on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Surprisingly a GREAT book!

    I had no idea what to expect when I started this book. I guess I really didn’t think I was going to like it. After all, it’s about zombies. But, I guess you if can make vampires sexy then anything is possible!

    First off, this book is short. 217 pages according to my Nook. It took me about 5 hours to read total. It’s a very easy read. There really isn’t much to understand or think about. Having said that, the book makes you think and question things.

    This is a book that somehow manages to use zombies to describe humanity. I thought it was beautifully written. I did not find it sappy at all. Far-fetched? Yes! Totally unrealistic? Yes! Thought provoking? ABSOLUTELY! The author actually made me find a zombie charming.

    My only fault with the book is that it does seem to end quickly. (I did mention it’s a short book) Maybe I just feel that way because I really started liking this character and it seemed to be over.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a fun quick heartwarming read. I thoroughly enjoyed it which was unexpected. I was expecting it to be more gross and disgusting. There were a few parts but if I can handle it really anyone can.

    I understand there is a sequel coming and I will be first in line to buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Sow Seen the movie love the book

    I still love the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    I loved this book! The only problem I have with it is the langua

    I loved this book! The only problem I have with it is the language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    I never read the book, but I did see the movie.  The entire movi

    I never read the book, but I did see the movie.  The entire movie strikes me as a clever analogy depicting the
    social deterioration of the consumerism rampant in the US (or even possibly all of humanity), and offers a solution.
    Select lines such as: "This is my best friend, we grunt at each other every once in a while.", and the social division
    between the few select competent (surviving humans), and the masses of zombies (no quotations needed for
    that analogy).  It is only when they begin to care about each other that things start to change, possibly even deeper they begin to regain their intelligence once they begin to care (maybe a hint to the direct correlation between caring about things and a persons level of intelligence?).  However this is just my opinion, a good flick none the less, I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Her name was julie(t) and his name was r (omeo)

    Think about it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    Fun

    Never thought I would like a zombie romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    This was a great book! I really enjoyed reading it, though I wou

    This was a great book! I really enjoyed reading it, though I would recommend reading this in book form, because I feel like you get more into the story. I did read this in kindle form first, but I couldn't really get into it. I then checked it out from my local library, and I got really into it. This is a heartwarming, dystopian spin on Romeo and Juliet. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    A feel good Zombie book? Yes. I don't know what else I can say

    A feel good Zombie book? Yes.

    I don't know what else I can say about this story that hasn't already been said. Warm Bodies is such a unique telling of a classic, with a new spin on zombies, that it is like nothing you've read before.

    R is a zombie. He eats brains, and whatever other flesh he can get to. But brains are his favorite, because for the few moments while he is eating, he is able to remember what it is like to be alive, through the poor person he is eating's memories. Things really change for him when he makes a knee-jerk reaction and saves a girl, Julie, and brings her home.

    I found R to be very sweet, the whole living dead thing notwithstanding. Personally, I didn't know how I was going to feel about a zombie romance, and am happy to report I was pleasantly surprised. I think that had a lot to do with how Marion had the romance progress, SLOW. I mean almost too slow for many stories, but it was perfect for this story.

    If you haven't read this book yet, and I don't know why you wouldn't, pick it up. But know, it is still a zombie book. There is some gore and blood and brains. But there is also beauty and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    a funny and warm story

    this is a very cute love story, i also saw the movie, i love it. it just like the warm wind in winter, so moved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Good Book

    I loved this book! Although the movie and book are quite different. I liked the movie better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Love Story lover? Must Read.

    An off beat love story. Very different take on zombies. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    This book turned out GREAT! I thought it would be mostly of zomb

    This book turned out GREAT! I thought it would be mostly of zombies and horror, but it had comedy and romance in there and it made the book better! This gave me the idea of what the movie would be like but it wasn't as similar as the movie. Bcuz always, the book is different from the movie. I wouldn't give this book 5 stars though, bcuz to me it just didn't have like a spark or something that made me LOVE the book. Someone on Youtube made a video of their favorite things and this book was one of their favorites and that's why I decided to give it a try. And the author didn't at all make it like Twilight. Which is great bcuz it has it's own originality on a zombie and a human love story. I really liked the ending though bcuz it felt like it had a message to it, but u have to read to find out. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I am not a fan of the zombie genre in general but something insi

    I am not a fan of the zombie genre in general but something inside pushed me to read this book and I am so glad I did! The story is less about zombies and surviving them and more about humanity and the society humanity inhabits. I really enjoyed this book and have recommended it to several friends and family members who have also enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Great read

    This was a really great read. After watching the movie I was a bit skeptical on if it would be any good and honestly it was even better than the movie. The only negative was the movie had a bit more comedy so if your looking for a good laugh it is a bit more serious but overall very detailed and enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Good book

    Hi 18single male

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Overall I'd say Warm Bodies is a very good book, especially for

    Overall I'd say Warm Bodies is a very good book, especially for a Debut novel.
    Having seen the movie first, I expected the novel to be lighter and more comedic but it was a lot more introspective and focused on its themes of the importance of the ability to feel and what it means to be alive, from the unique perspective of one who is Dead.  R can be extremely melodramatic at times. In fact there was a horrible moment about 150 pages in where it looked like he was going to dramatically soliloquy about his penis!  
    But somehow Marion makes R's melodrama work for him.  It comes off as artsy and poetic, two qualities I did not expect but was delighted to find in this post-apocalyptic zombie novel. 
    Furthermore, the story is Beautifully written.  Marion's sentences are a delight. 
    However, the one thing I hated about this book, was Julie.  I feel like Marion couldn't make up his mind about how she was supposed to be, and the Stockholm Syndrome-y aspect of her love for R creeped me out in a bad way. Overall I'd say it was a good read.  Not the best I've ever read, but good. I look forward to more good things from Isaac Marion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Funny

    LOL funny sometimes. Gets mushy/silly at the end but overall an interesting new twist on same ole same ole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Loved it

    I didn't expect it to be so perfect! The ending could have used a bit more pizaz, it went from one extreme to another, and then all of a sudden nothing. For as great as the book was, the ending was very bland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Cool

    Hot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Cool Ok

    Seen the movie.its cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7