Customer Reviews for

Warped Passages: Unraveling the Mysteries of the Universe's Hidden Dimensions

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

New Understanding of Theory

I am an avid reader of Physics. Each book adds another element to my understanding of how the universe works. This is one of the best books, as it explains the theories in a clear language, without all the math concepts. I never studied math in particular, so this book ...
I am an avid reader of Physics. Each book adds another element to my understanding of how the universe works. This is one of the best books, as it explains the theories in a clear language, without all the math concepts. I never studied math in particular, so this book was better for me to understand. If you have never picked up a book about physics before, this would be one to start with. It keeps your interest, and gives a lot of food for thought. Lisa Randall, knows her material, and can expain it better than most of the authors I have read. For example, Steven Hawkins is a very HARD read. I had trouble with his explainations of theory. This book "Warped Passages" is worth the time to read slowly and carefully. Your understanding of Quantom Mechancis, and the The Therory of Relativity, had clearer meaning.

posted by 74scruffy74 on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Way too involved and detailed for even a knowlegdeable science reader.

Way too involved and detailed for even a knowlegdeable science reader. Discover and Scientific American will not prepare you for this book. Brian Green's Fabric of the Cosmos is a much better read. Green's Fabric of the Cosmos is also a better book than his title The...
Way too involved and detailed for even a knowlegdeable science reader. Discover and Scientific American will not prepare you for this book. Brian Green's Fabric of the Cosmos is a much better read. Green's Fabric of the Cosmos is also a better book than his title The Elegant Universe.

posted by AcadianBob on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    A magnificent read

    I have a limited physics background and began this book thinking the prime purpose was to receive an explanation of string theory, multiple dimensions and membrane theory. It achieved its purpose. In addition, it magnificently delineated the history of this field¿s development, plus liberal recognition of her colleagues involvement in pursuing these endeavors (despite some being theorists and some experimentalists). Professor Randall¿s writing has a continuity of development in concise, lucid, complete, and very clever terms. Terminology is kept simple and (thank goodness) mathematics eliminated. Inclusions of real life analogies helps breakdown the complex into the understandable. The author¿s personality, as demonstrated by the book, shows that even physicists are people ... She climbs rocks, communes with nature, appreciates pop-culture, hangs-out in coffee shops and enjoys conferences in beautiful locales. And, best of all, she has a delicious sense of humor (ironic closing at books-end: what is a dimension?) All this and she does not let her intellect get in the way of clarity in describing to the layperson (me) of strings that rock `n¿ roll, minuscule curlicue dimensions, and wimpy gravity (my characterization). In summary, I now have a greater appreciation and understanding of this realm of science. It is a magnificent, multifaceted book in revealing science, scientists and one scientist¿s personality. Maybe in Professor Randall¿s sequel (Warped Passages, the Next Generation ?) she can explain: Is time a black sheep dimension among the spatial dimensions? How does one particle communicates attraction and/or repulsion? What about variable speed of light or gravity? I am now impatient for the results of bashing those energetic particles together and letting the shower¿s fall where they might. Let the fireworks begin, thank you Doctor Randall.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Very Accessible Handling of A Complicated Topic

    This book takes perhaps the most difficult of topics, how the world and universe works, and presents an understandable, yet detailed, discussion. Difficult and non-intuitive concepts are described in unique and creative ways. For those interested in the cutting edge of theoretical physics, this book is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    This book is great!!!

    It is very interesting and explains really complex information in ways non physicists can understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Amberstar

    Join my clan res 18

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I really enjoyed reading 'Warped Passages'. The book is a thorough explanation of modern cosmology. Although theoretical, extra dimensions help answer questions to which we have no answers. Using recent experiments and data, Lisa Randall makes the case that extra dimensions do in some way exist and that it is a good idea to study them. I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in the nature of reality, and physics/cosmology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Wonderful read

    A wonderful, readable book about the hidden dimensions. Recommend it hightly

    Ed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Great read from a great author!

    I've been interested in this topic for some time now and read many interesting books, however this book is something else! Lisa doesn't go very deep into history of particle physics however provides an excelent overview of the latest trends in particle physics as well as its relation to theoretical advances and potential finds which should be uncovered within the next decade. Excellent book from the authority in theoretical physics! A++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Finally... The book I've been waiting for!

    First, let me point out that I am NOT a Physicist but a retired PhD Geologist, who spent much of his career in geological research. My rather modest background in Physics dates to the late `50s and early `60s. ¿Warped Passages¿ seems to have been written for people like me: high interest, limited background. However, I suspect that even PhD Physicists will find it a worthwhile read. And people with even less background than I will find it readable, informative, and enjoyable. The most amazing thing to me is Dr. Randall¿s ability to describe extremely complex and counter intuitive concepts in understandable English (no pages of equations here!). And at the same time she doesn¿t pull any punches in ¿telling it like it is.¿ Her excellent use of analogies, as well as her clever allegories at the beginning of each chapter, makes this a readable book without a strong technical background. She is clearly a gifted writer. The first part of the book brings the reader up to date with a review of the past decades of developments in theoretical physics. Then she delves into the area of her own recent and current research: string theory, branes, and extra spatial dimensions. She analyzes both the strengths and weaknesses of her own ideas and those of other researchers. She also lays out how these ideas can be tested within the next few years. I can¿t wait to read the results. ¿Warped Passages¿ is a ¿must read¿ for anyone interested in the world of theoretical physics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    Warped Passages is a must for the science enthusiast

    Dr. Randall has done an excellent job of mixing the technical explanations with easy to understand examples of the latest physics theory and research. The book would be enjoyed, appreciated and understood by scientists and layman alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1