Customer Reviews for

Warprize

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic romantic fantasy

    The King of Xy¿s daughter Xylara chooses to become a healer rather than a royal pawn, and her sire allows her to train under the tutelage of Eln and to use her skills especially when they are at war. When her father dies, her half brother Xymund becomes the monarch. He sees healers as traitors because they comfort the enemy too and has other plans for his sister insisting the Daughter of the Blood can be used as a bargaining chip in their war with the Firelanders........................ Xymund may be Zy¿s son, but he is not his equal as a warrior so their country loses to the Firelanders. Negotiating a peace, Xymund cleverly includes his half-sister as a WARPRIZE. Reluctantly Xylara accepts her fate to keep her people safe. To her shock, Xylara finds her hosts are not barbarians but have many of the same concerns the people of Zy have. When she heals and nurtures the ill, Keir the Warlord realizes what a WARPRIZE he really gained. As they fall in love and peace settles on the two lands, Xymund tries a sneak attack as he covets his neighbor¿s kingdom....................... The key to this strong otherworld romantic thriller is that readers will believe that the world of Zy and Firelander exists as Evelyn Vaughn cleverly throughout her fine tale provides cultural tidbits into this realm. The story line reads like a medieval tale with bartering of royals as commodities and betrayals a way of life. Interestingly though Keir and Lara go from disdain to admiration to love as both struggles with trust issues because duplicity is the norm in their respective circles. Fans of medieval like romances on other worlds will take immense delight in this terrific tale.............. Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    A Must-Read Book (and series)!!!

    I absolutely loved this book and the continuing series. The characters were very much alive and the setting was very detailed. I definitely reccomend this to people who love a historical fiction with some fantasy and romance thrown in!
    The plot can be a little confusing in the beginning because of the creative names Ms. Vaughan gives items (ie. coffee is called kavage in the books) but everything makes sense in the end.
    This book is one that is difficult to put down, even if you are reading well into the night. I have read it again and again and have yet to be bored with it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshing

    I found this book refreshing and enjoyable. The main characters are Keir the Warlord who is powerful, honorable, intelligent and stubborn and Lara the Warprize who is gentle, caring, just as intellegent and just as stubborn. What makes their story so enticing is that Keir is tough and rough when he needs to be but so gentle and tender with Lara.

    The secondary characters are just as great and enjoyable. They help enhance the plot and make the main characters more interesting. I loved them all. My favorites being Gils, Atira and Simus.

    The author has a gift with words and she draws you into the two diifrerent cultures she has created (Xyians and Firelanders). I enjoyed this book very much and highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A noteworthy book!

    I actually fell in love with this book after reading it for the reason I became captivated with Lara and her high spirited ways and attitude. The book creates a world in which you enter during a time of war and peace settlements. The king, who is in many ways tyrannic, gives up his sister to keep his throne. XyLara only agrees to become the warprize to help her people and to do her duty, in the process of being a master healer. I definately rate this book a 5 for it's ability to captivate the reader so deeply, that the book becomes addicting and hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    4 Beautiful Stars! I decided to give this epic fantasy a go aft

    4 Beautiful Stars!

    I decided to give this epic fantasy a go after reading some reviews about it and I’m so glad I did. The opening scene sucked me right into the story. I just love books that hook me within the first few pages, better still if within the first few sentences just like WARPRIZE.

    Lara is an amazing female protagonist. She has an internal strength and devotion to her craft as a healer that makes her very courageous even though she’s not a warrior. I loved her passion and voice. Keir, the Warlord, wasn’t as clearly depicted for me, maybe because Ms. Vaughan wrote in the heroine’s POV only. Although I still got a good picture of him, I would’ve liked to know what he was thinking during some scenes. I also would’ve liked a little more action in the bedroom, but those nit-picky sentiments didn’t prevent me from enjoying the book.

    Ms. Vaughan’s writing style kind of reminds me of Jean Auel and her CLAN of the CAVE BEAR series in that Ms Vaughan is very descriptive in her world building, yet not to the point of dragging out a scene.

    I look forward to reading the next in the series, WARSWORN.

    Focused. Strong. True.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Highly Recomend!

    Great read, couldn't hardly put it down till I finished it! Can't wait for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun but Tame Epic Fantasy

    For me, WARPRIZE hit the spot, but it was not your typical epic fantasy or fantasy romance. It reminded me a bit of the Daenerys Targaryen storyline in Game of Thrones (the sister who marries the warlord barbarian)...Xylara is given to Keir, the warlord barbarian, by her brother the king, and forced to live with him in his army camp. But the similarity ends there.

    Xylara believes she is a slave. Keir demanded her as Warprize as part of a peace agreement with the Kingdom of Xy. Despite her apparent captivity, Xylara begins to find a place in the army camp as a healer and even comes to appreciate the hard warlord that sleeps next to her and the ways of his people. Meanwhile, Keir does everything he can to make Xylara feel welcome, while still maintaining his warrior pride.

    Characters: *****5 Stars I loved the characters in WARPRIZE. Xylara is strong in her convictions, frequently standing up for what she believes in and facing down warriors twice her size and covered in weapons. Yet she also maintains a certain vulnerability because of her lack of size and strength, and because her brother has emotionally wounded her by giving her away as a slave. Similarly, Keir is a leader, strong and proud, but he seems to truly care for Xylara, who becomes his weakness.

    The side characters were extremely well-drawn, rounding out a wonderful cast with Simus, the loud and humorous general; Gils, the wannabe apprentice healer; Joden, the Singer and storyteller who records the oral history of the clan; and Marcus, the always grumbling and grouchy manservant for Keir.

    Plot: **** 4 Stars The action was a little weak, the story mostly revolving around the relationships between the characters and the internal conflict. However, that really didn't bother me as the story was so strong in other areas, so I never really felt the lack. If you like a character-driven novel, this would be a good pick.

    Setting: ****4 Stars The setting was beautifully developed. I could almost taste the dust in the practice ring, or see the tents in the army camp, and there was a marked difference between the setting in the camp versus the setting in the city. I became absorbed Xylara's world, making the story flow around me as I read.

    Romance: ***** 5 Stars I really liked the level of romance in WARPRIZE. The characters don't just jump into bed right away...well, they sort of do since Keir installs Xylara in his tent and sleeps next to her, but they don't do anything while they're there for most of the story. It gave them time to get to know each other and the author did a great job developing their relationship, including its flaws.

    Genre - Fantasy: *** 3 Stars This was not your typical modern fantasy novel. There was no magic, no mystical creatures, no dwarves or elves or vampires. In a way, it was more of an alternate world political intrigue and adventure story. The focus of the plot was on the cultural conflict between these two very different peoples. That being said, I think it's a bit of a throwback to fantasy novels of the past. The technology is medieval and life is a struggle for survival. I thought it was refreshing to get away from the modern urban fantasy/paranormal romance for awhile.

    I recommend this for people who are new to fantasy, enjoy strong characters and relationships, and/or don't mind a slower-paced novel with a little less danger and physical excitement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Must read!

    I absolutely love this world that Mrs Vaughan has created. All of the books in this series are a must read! The characters are ones you will fall ion love with.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Best romance of any kind

    This is my favorite love story, wish the next books in the series were available.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    An amazing book with impressive characters

    This book was marvelous. Lara is definatley my all time favorite female heroine. She's smart, strong and compassionate. Though she seems to fall in love really quickly, she's not head over heals all the time and retains a decent amount of self-respect. The characters kept me laughing throughout the entire book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Perfect Book For Lovers

    I loved this book and would recomend it to anyone who is in need of a good, uplifting romance story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Wonderful Book!

    This is book #1 of a triology. The entire triology is wonderful. Sad to see the stories end. The set focuses on other adventures and not just the 'romance,' but it is so well written I got attached to the main characters as well as many others in the story. This was a true, deep love story. Such a nice change from the typical 'guy chases girl.' And really not a paranormal. One small incident when they say goodbye to thier dead....Nice book, well written. Couldn't put it down. Had to reread this and book #2 when book #3 (finally) came out. LOL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    When are they making the MOVIE!!?!

    This is one of those rare books that was seen as a 'beach read', and came through as a true adventure. With people that really speak to you and a more than convincing world, the romance of this book runs free. I did not believe I could enjoy a book with a story-line that pushes a (virgin) healer into slavery. Yet, I LOVED this book!!! Who'dve thought?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Warprize

    I am a person that scours the shelves in the book store for something that sounds different. If your like me warprize should be your next book. Because it was surprisingly different. Just set aside the weekend and get comfortable, because it's a hard book to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Buy one, sit down, open the book, and hang on

    The Warprize casts two fantasy cultures on a collision course and we experience it through the main characters: the warlord and his warprize. The protagonists are complex, interesting, and unpredictable enough to make fascinating reading. Their cultures function as characters in the story as well, since communication is fraught with cultural assumptions and traditions that complicate the plot. With strong secondary characters, cinemagraphic story-telling, and adept character development, the adventure flies along. It's been months since I stayed up late reading a good book. What a relief from the lamely written vampire/werewolf drivel swarming the shelves under the guise of fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Warprize

    I loved the pace of the book because it keeps you on the edge of your seat. I reccommend this book to anyone that justs wants to read a good book about romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was an interesting book to read. Re-published in 2011 and o

    This was an interesting book to read. Re-published in 2011 and originally copyrighted in 2005, this book felt the hallmark of an older-era romantic fantasy. I put me very much in the mind of Patricia Briggs Masques in the feel of the world-building, and the romance; almost a medieval meets middle world. That said I really enjoyed this book. There were times of breathless anticipation, heartwarming tenderness and an ending that is truly just the beginning.

    One of the strong points in this book was Ms. Vaughan’s superb character building. She created an organic quality to the unfolding of her characters that was a refreshing change from some of the intense character immersion that I am used to. This unfolding did come with its own frustrations as well tho, and it took me a while to enmesh myself into the hearts and minds of these characters. For the beginning of the book I felt more like I was floating on the surface of the characters than fully immersed in their trials and tribulations. This might have worked in the author’s favor, as for the beginning of the book our main character is almost skating above herself without being anchored to a solid reality—and that dissociation was tangible for me through the narrative.

    I also loved the world-building in this book; the different cultures more-so than the physical landscape, tho even at a level of physicality I would say that Ms. Vaughan excelled in allowing me to become immersed in the world she had created. This was my favorite part of the book and what is likely to get me to pick up the next book in this series and keep reading. I would like to know what happens to the characters, but I would love to see more of this world and get to poke around the corners of it a bit and see what ensues.

    To me, I would say that the plot was the weakest link in this story. Even pushing the miscommunications aside, just the plot-mechanic seemed a bit on the shaky side. Maybe it was just a set-up for a larger story-arc but as it stands I felt the villain was a throw-away, the impetus behind his supposed break to be tritely convenient and too easily forgotten, the thick of the story to be in a kind of a limbo, and the conclusion to have left most of what I felt were the interesting questions unanswered. I also felt that the first 250 pages or so and the last fifty had a distinct disconnect and felt rushed as a wrap-up.

    Even with these problems I still liked this book and will probably continue to read this series.

    I give it a high three stars. ¿¿¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Disappointed

    This one has so many 4 & 5 stars review that I was certain that I would love it- not so. It's categorized as a paranormal romance but it's neither- I guess I'd call it more of a fantasy or parallel universe war story. The healer, Xylara, spends most of her time cleaning wounds, dispensing medicine and emptying slop jars- if you don't find that interesting then this will be a snooze. It takes place in a kind of alternate universe medieval city with the barbarians at the gates. Xylara is given to the Warlord, Kier, as a Warprize as one of the terms for peace. I was hoping to see a developed romance between those two but they hardly spend any time together. What Lara learns about him and her new status as Warprize is done by talking to Kier's servant, Marcus, and other warriors that she befriends. I found every aspect of this book unsatisfying. I won't be reading the rest of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    The story was entertaining enough for me to read, but lacked on

    The story was entertaining enough for me to read, but lacked on the romance. I'm confused as to why it is categorized as a paranormal romance? It was fantasy to me, and not a very strong fantasy at that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Definitly Worth the Read

    I usually am into paranormal action packed romance novels. This book may not have been paranormal but from the first chapter the book kept my attention. It had the right amount of everything and I plan to buy the next book 'Warsworn' as soon as I can. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4