BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

Well written. It holds your attention every minute. I'll give it to friends as a Christmas gift.

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

yea and nay

i liked this but its like why did they keep ignoring every bad thing he does...its scary that they keep hiring these kinds of people...also i think the author took too long in describing the backgrounds of the people...but it was overall an ok book

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

    This is a book that totally holds your attention. You feel you get to know the characters and they are easy to relate to. The author did a great job of researching the information and filling you in on what makes these people tick. You cannot put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

    Well written. It holds your attention every minute. I'll give it to friends as a Christmas gift.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

    I am a college student and this book was chilling, a real page turner. I loved the writing but the story was shocking. How could that happen in our society today? I hope this book helps change the way police evaluate siutations - it might save someone's life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    What a story!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading 'A Warrant to Kill.' How could something like this happen in the US? Aren't there laws protecting people from bad cops? This book kept me up all night, and I loved it. I couldn't put it down. I'm still astounded that this could have happened. The writing is great and the research is remarkable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    A very good read

    After 9-11 the entire country seemed to elevate fireman, police officers and other rescue personnel to God-like statuses. While the vast majority of these professionals are decent, hardworking and honorable, this story reminds us that a very few are something akin not to God, but to the devil.

    Doubling this tragedy is the complete lack of oversight and downright caring about other people that allowed his past record with other departments to be swept under the rug, only to come blasting out after his senseless murder of this scared and lonely woman. This story must be used as a reminder to less than caring higher-ups at police departments everywhere to at least give a little due diligence when considering the employment of law enforcement officers.

    Sure, now in hindsight all of these supervisors are willing to share their thoughts and reasoning as to what they did and why they didn't do more. What the hell, it wasn't their family member that was gunned down by an immature braggart behind a badge. Had it been, can you just imagine the type of response the public and the law enforcement community would have had? Sadly, it was a defenseless mother in her nightgown gunned down by a cop who had no business being a night watchman at a candy factory, much less an armed deputy with the authority to kill.

    I only wish the book would have included an update as to the final outcome of this creep's trial. I had to search the internet for the final result. In a way, it was better delayed because had he just begun serving his sentence the day he was initially convicted, he'd probably be out by now.

    A great story, too bad it had to be a true story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great book !

    I found myself unable to put the book down, the story just grabs you !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    yea and nay

    i liked this but its like why did they keep ignoring every bad thing he does...its scary that they keep hiring these kinds of people...also i think the author took too long in describing the backgrounds of the people...but it was overall an ok book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Real Life True Crime

    Really enjoyed this book. It took me a little while to get into it, say the first 50 pages or so, but after that I was on overdrive. It was a bit messy, but so is real life. In the end, it exposed problems with the system and made for one hell of a good read. I've been passing my copy around the office and my co-workers are raving about it as well. I'd give it a big thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    mikel this not too sensational

    This is not only very real but prophetic of what my law enforcement ex-husband has promised me. This book was recommended to me by my mother who heard of the story on tv. I may be the next story you read about if my ex's promises come true!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

    I got in trouble with my wife because I couldn't stop reading the book. She'll understand after she reads it, it totally keeps your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    Fascinating Book!

    Really makes you think about the power of the badge. People like McGowen give cops a bad name. Very interesting reading. After reading the previous review, makes you wonder if he was unhappy with the book because he was in it. hum

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Anyone who enjoys true crime will like this. I could not believe what this officer was able to get away with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you wonder about the men in blue that are sworn to "p

    Makes you wonder about the men in blue that are sworn to "protect and serve".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

    A Warrant to Kill was pretty good but in several places it seemed a little too sensationalized.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

    This book was an ok read. Some of it is hard to believe. Have read better, have read worse.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    A Warrant to Kill: A True Story of Obsession, Lies and a Killer Cop

    This book seems like it really reaches for a story. Definately not the best I have ever read. True or not, it seems far fetched. Almost to the point or rediculous.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2