BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Warrior (Doppelganger Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    Excellent Book

    This is definitely one of my favorite books! After I finished reading the twilight series I was looking for some other book series from the fantasy genre. While I was at my local barnes and noble I found this book on a random shelf and it looked interesting. This book does not disappoint! The story is a blend of mystery and fantasy. The storyline is unique from the other books about witches and such. I loved how the author wrote the story so that you could see the book from Mirage's and Miryo's point of view. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat. I couldn't put it down and I finished it in two days. I can't wait to read the sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    great teen read

    good dynamics among characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    GREAT!!!:-)

    Very good book, was disappointed :-(to find their is only two books in series and arthur has no intentions of add more to series. Look forward to reading other series by this arthur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Ashpelt

    "I do to, but I still like Waterkit," she meowed, nuzzeling him. "Lets go back to camp."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    i just recently read this book and i love this book as soon i fi

    i just recently read this book and i love this book as soon i finished
    this i ordered witch with 2 day air delivery. this book is a very
    different take on witches and a very creative look into their traditions
    i would recommend this to anyone to read looking for something very
    creative and entertaining to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Must read

    Although marie is a very skilled writter none of her other books call out to me this is an entertaining novel with romance action and a twist in the end i would recomend to everyone some may say she is confusing but i understand it all the politics the characters all of it i warn others it is a slow read at first but it is worth it trust me i love to read and this was the best book so far anyone who say they hated it was confused and may have read it but didnt understand try reading a second time if ur confused i was a little to but i read this like 35 times all ready so of course i understand but i do recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    how old are the main characters and is there any romance?

    how old are the main characters and is there any romance?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I love this book!

    I love this book more than most of the other books I have ever read! There is love and there is a mission, trust friendship, and many other amazinf,g things about this series! I read this series a long time a go so I can't remember what happened in each book butI remember the story, and I still love it. I know if I try to give a summary I wont be able to stop and end up telling the story so I will leave it at that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Will recommend but slow read for first half of book

    I ended up enjoying this book but thought the first half was very slow to pick up. If i was not determined to complete any read i start i may not have had the patience to read this book. Marie Brennan ultimately pulls this story of a warrior & a witch who learn about each others existance & try against all odds to find an alternative to a fate that has been set for them by others.
    I recommend this book with the recommendation of patience because the story does get quite good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    I loved this book! It draws you right in, and the concept is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    This book was amazing! Brennan really knows how to get you hooked from the very first page. I saw the cover and thought it looked good, picked it up and could NOT put it down until I finished the very last page. Then I had to get the next one, Witch, which was equally amazing. It was thrilling fast pace, not a detail off, witty and fun! Marie Brennan has become a new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Great fun!

    My daughter loves reading all kinds of books and she really enjoyed this one. Original books i this are have been hard to come by. But Brennan pulls it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Captivating

    A new look at the way magic is used and created, entwining the lives of two women, so alike, yet so different. The political structure was a bit confusing, but eventually worked to enlighten the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not what i expected

    After reading the back of the book i figured this book would mostley be about Mirage and the next one would be about miro, I also assumed that secnce the book was called Warrior it would actually have more then three fight sceens and again i was wrong. In the end it really depends on what your intersted in, if your like me and you like steel on steel this is going to go slow for you but if you like magic and then is a perfect book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Perfect Novel

    The perfect novel for me.
    I love the two women: the witch and the warrior.
    The thing I love the most was the division of the witches according
    to the different aspects of the goddesses.

    Also love the covers and I love that this one is called Warrior and the next one Witch.
    Does anyone notice in the one called the Warrior she have a witch staff
    but in the one called the Witch she have a warrior sword.
    I love the coexisting... yang and yin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A/K/A Doppelganger

    This was a painful read in the beginning. This book started out extremely slow. Several times I came back to read the Amazon reviews, to make sure I didn't make a mistake and get the wrong book. The beginning was extremely slow and approaching the middle of the story I started to lose hope but things picked up a bit. What kept me reading was the concept and originality of the book. I'm strictly an urban fantasy reader and found the middle and ending of this book enjoyable. The book has a good amount of action and intrigue. I am even going to read book two. Hopefully that won't be as painful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Loved it

    I love this book, it is one of my favorites. It truly kept my interest, and I hope she continues the story after Witch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Good book

    This is a reissue and they changed the title, used to be Dopplganger. So make sure to check the reviews for that book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    Intriqued but disappointed!

    Story was disappointing,good premise but does not deliver. The book needs more than a new title and cover art to overcome its faults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3