Customer Reviews for

Warrior Princess A U.S. Navy SEAL's Journey to Coming out Transgender

Average Rating 3
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'm giving this four stars because Kristin's story needs to be t

I'm giving this four stars because Kristin's story needs to be told. But I am reading the softback version (wish I had bought the ebook) and it is desperately in need of an editor. "But when Chris got a part-time doing construction worker with a contractor..."...
I'm giving this four stars because Kristin's story needs to be told. But I am reading the softback version (wish I had bought the ebook) and it is desperately in need of an editor. "But when Chris got a part-time doing construction worker with a contractor..." That's just awful.

posted by Urania60 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I agree, this is a great story and Kristin is a hero on and off

I agree, this is a great story and Kristin is a hero on and off the battle field.  
Kristin could have gone to any legitimate author and had a great book.  
It is too bad that Kristin got together with a hack, and the hack has a doctorate?
Someone should revoke that Ph...
I agree, this is a great story and Kristin is a hero on and off the battle field.  
Kristin could have gone to any legitimate author and had a great book.  
It is too bad that Kristin got together with a hack, and the hack has a doctorate?
Someone should revoke that PhD. and close the doors on Advance Press

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    I agree, this is a great story and Kristin is a hero on and off

    I agree, this is a great story and Kristin is a hero on and off the battle field.  
    Kristin could have gone to any legitimate author and had a great book.  
    It is too bad that Kristin got together with a hack, and the hack has a doctorate?
    Someone should revoke that PhD. and close the doors on Advance Press

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I'm giving this four stars because Kristin's story needs to be t

    I'm giving this four stars because Kristin's story needs to be told. But I am reading the softback version (wish I had bought the ebook) and it is desperately in need of an editor. "But when Chris got a part-time doing construction worker with a contractor..." That's just awful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Exceptional story, however Kristin deserves to have her story to

    Exceptional story, however Kristin deserves to have her story told well and this is not the case. Due diligence editing clearly did not occur here and that is an unacceptable disappointment. Kristin's story is tremendous on many levels and has the potential to shift societal viewpoints on a multiplicity of topics...she deserves to be heard and this why I awarded it five stars. She more than earned it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Great Story, horrible writing!

    The story of Kristen's life is great but not fully accurate! However, I looked up other books by Anne Speckhard and see she tends to take other's stories for her own benefit as an author. I wish Anne was better at writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Attempt #2 to post: OMGG is what I'd said. Kris' story is a po

    Attempt #2 to post: OMGG is what I'd said. Kris' story is a powerful one, and she serves as an inspiration in numerous ways. Although I am very opposed to the military-industrial complex and their nefarious schemes, I consider Kris to be a true hero. Her story is so heartbreaking, and I am so glad she found the courage to come out the way she did. However, as regards this book: I agree with most of the other posts here. This book is the most appalling example of atrocious story-telling,writing, grammar, and editing (IT WAS EDITED??!!) I have ever laid my hands on. I am a psychotherapist who has worked with many trans people and war vets and am a former English teacher for speakers of other languages. I really wanted to get into and then use/share this book. My advice? Let Kris find a decent editor and a new publisher and then y'all buy a copy of the second or third printing . I do not expect Kris to be grammarian or an expert author. She sure deserved better from her publisher, especially for this story. Power to you, Kris. I salute you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    Interesting

    The book is not extremely well written, but well enough to be interesting. This seems to be hard subject, not only for the one going through it but for those that know and care about that person and for society in general. I appreciate the courage it took to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Amazing, brave story!!! In spite of the fact that I was a teach

    Amazing, brave story!!!

    In spite of the fact that I was a teacher years ago, I never pay much attention to editing when I read a book. I just immerse myself in what I am reading. If the story grabs me, it grabs me. And this memoir grabbed me! Born Christopher Beck, Kristin always felt like a female trapped in a male body. Warrior Princess is Kristin Beck's fascinating journey from childhood to Navy SEAL to coming out transgender. We feel Kristin's frustrations growing up in the wrong body in an unsupportive family. We marvel at her bravery as a Navy SEAL. We understand the devastation that she goes through in her inability to form a relationship with her sons. We feel the heartbreak that she suffered losing many of her SEAL brothers throughout her career. We root for acceptance as she comes out to her family, her friends, at work, and to the world, as she finally sets herself free to be the woman she always she was meant to be. This is a great real life story of supreme bravery that I recommend to everyon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    ¿¿¿¿¿

    check it out awesome!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Hard reading

    What this book needed was an editor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    This brave woman deserves better. A talented and dedicated write

    This brave woman deserves better. A talented and dedicated writer could have told her story so much better, A real disappointment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    I was very disappointed in this book. It seemed like Kristin had

    I was very disappointed in this book. It seemed like Kristin had told a string of random stories from her life to the author, they recorded them, transcribed them and then put them in vague chronological order. there were facts missing that left me confused, like after they lived in Va, when did they move back to NY? It was very choppy and poorly edited, I found numerous typos. As a writer and editor, i expect higher quality when I buy a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1