Customer Reviews for

Warrior Soul: The Memoir of a Navy Seal

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top Ten

This book not only gives you a feel for becoming and serving as SEAL. It's historicly significant. The authors honest take on what issues he dealt with and the conclusions he reaches. Truely make it much more than a book about an accomplished soldier. THIS IS A MU...
This book not only gives you a feel for becoming and serving as SEAL. It's historicly significant. The authors honest take on what issues he dealt with and the conclusions he reaches. Truely make it much more than a book about an accomplished soldier. THIS IS A MUST READ! You will never look at a SEAL the same again. Enjoy.

posted by Unbookable on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I wasn't prepared for the end of the book. I can't rate this one as high as Lone Survivor, perhaps in part because I didn't experience the same emotions reading it and this man seems so much more callous than Luttrell. The language was less than desirable, as it was in ...
I wasn't prepared for the end of the book. I can't rate this one as high as Lone Survivor, perhaps in part because I didn't experience the same emotions reading it and this man seems so much more callous than Luttrell. The language was less than desirable, as it was in American Sniper, and this man had a distinct lack of empathy for his wife, I felt. Just wasn't same caliber for me. Lone Survivor is my top pick at this point.

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Top Ten

    This book not only gives you a feel for becoming and serving as SEAL. It's historicly significant. The authors honest take on what issues he dealt with and the conclusions he reaches. Truely make it much more than a book about an accomplished soldier. THIS IS A MUST READ! You will never look at a SEAL the same again. Enjoy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Another good one

    Little long at times but worth sticking with.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    First hand account of the life and training of a navy seal. for those of you who want to know what life was like in Lebanon during the early 80's for America's military, then this is the book for you..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Okay

    I wasn't prepared for the end of the book. I can't rate this one as high as Lone Survivor, perhaps in part because I didn't experience the same emotions reading it and this man seems so much more callous than Luttrell. The language was less than desirable, as it was in American Sniper, and this man had a distinct lack of empathy for his wife, I felt. Just wasn't same caliber for me. Lone Survivor is my top pick at this point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good book

    Really good book about the navy seals and their traing an missions

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Boring

    Slow read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Very Good

    An extremely good novel written by Mr. Pfarrer and if anyome has doubts on wether to purchase the book or not than dispel your doubts and buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Excellent!

    Great book that contained interesting facts about the SEALS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Pretty good book

    It was coll and stuff. I
    I like shashafrass u like shashafrash sthip it in the mornin sthip it in the evening

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Great book

    Another great book by this american hero couldnt put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    A Sincere Portrayal of a Personal Journey

    I came across 'Warrior Soul' accidentally. I am thankful that the experiences of the author initiated a journey back in time to a world I chose to bury for years. Mr. Pfarrer has the intelligent ability to probe into the depths of what makes himself and us human and inhuman. He expresses his views and beliefs in an educated, down-to-earth, and humorous way befitting the ways we sometimes behave towards each other. I was impressed with the brief history of Lebanon in the section about the Marines in Beirut. It was the best and most accurate I had ever read, especially coming from an individual who only spent seven months in that country as a Seal (and therefore technically isolated from the society in which he operated) and under difficult circumstances. Living in Beirut at the time, I found the experiences and emotions of the author eerily similar to those of many Lebanese civilians. His analysis of human behavior, especially during conflict, was very helpful and healing. It validated my own experiences and the experiences of many who lived in the midst of that mindless war. 'Warrior Soul' ultimately became the starting point for my own journey home. Therein lies the true value of the book, in my opinion. I strongly recommend the book to anyone who wants to understand the world of violence from a human, as opposed to from a strictly military, perspective. There was a bit of military jargon that I had to continue looking up, but it is by no means a book about the Seals or the military. It is a book about human beings with all their strengths and weaknesses and the courage of a person to take an honest look at himself and others and his willingness to share part of his life with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Gripping Account of a Special Operator

    I became interested in this book after seeing Mr. Pfarrer on C-Span. After purchasing the book, I could not put it down. I have always respected and admired what these brave warriors do for our nation; however, after reading this account, I am truly convinced that people sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf. God bless Mr. Pfarrer and the brave men who call themselves Navy SEALS. This is one of the finest books I have ever read and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2004

    outstanding seal look

    Great looking into the minds and hearts of the Naval elite....similar to the glance Chadz gave us last year into the workings of the grunt Marine....enjoyed both ...these men let us inside for a short while....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    Warrior Soul: The Memoir of a Navy SEAL

    From Marcinko, Chalker, Walsh, Couch, and Gormly. This one was the BEST. Warrior Soul kept me up all night. Right from the first chapter, it grabs and doesn¿t let go. This is a surprising book, much more emotionally honest than any other ¿Special Operations¿ book I¿ve ever read. Pfarrer lets us into his heart and head, in war and peace. The ending blew me away. Finally I feel like I have an idea what makes these guys tick. What a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    BACK TO THE FUTURE- Lebanon then, Iraq Today

    Pfarrer's memoir, Warrior Soul, is a stunning achievement, both as a chronicle of men at war and a well constructed piece of literature. Throughout a tale full of covert operations, tragedies and victories, Pfarrer never loses his humanity, and proves himself a keen observer of the strengths and failings of the men around him. Unlike most books in the 'SEAL genre' this author does spare himself from judgment. Warrior Soul is impressive not only for its fine writing, but for the sometimes brutal honesty with which the author confronts himself. Most intriguing is Pfarrer's account of a seven month combat tour in Beirut. Serving with a US Marine battalion assigned to the Multi National Peacekeeping Force, Pfarrer's account of a catastrophic exercise in 'nation building' is eerily reminiscent of America's continuing presence in Iraq. Pfarrer's descriptions of the 1983 Marine Barracks bombing (and its desperate, confused aftermath) give us some of the finest combat writing of the last fifty years. Warrior Soul is not only the best memoir to come from the SEAL team experience, it is one of the finest books written about men at war-- period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    Warrior Soul: The Memoir of a Navy SEAL

    Navy SEAL, Hollywood screenwriter, and DRILL magazine columnist (Smooth Operator) Chuck Pfarrer has led a full life. After reading his gripping memoir Warrior Soul, `ya gotta wonder why it didn¿t kill him. His story opens straight out of 'Fast Times at Ridgemont High'. Pfarrer, a surf rat and certified truant, finds himself exiled to military school. There, he meets his future. The book detonates in the mayhem of one covert operation after another-- capturing the Achille Lauro hijackers, sky diving out of civilian airliners and a seven month combat tour on the mean streets of Beirut. Reflecting on his time in Lebanon, Pfarrer writes without remorse: 'There are some people who need to go to hell and stay there.' What puts Warrior Soul above Rogue Warrior and the posse of later SEAL books is Pfarrer's self-effacing honesty and his incomparable prose. Warrior Soul burns with the same searing reality as Michael Herr¿s Vietnam masterpiece Dispatches. Warrior Soul is a long, hard look at what it takes to be the best of the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Warrior Soul: The Memoir of a Navy SEAL

    As literature and action adventure, Warrior Soul is an impressive bit of writing. Pfarrer gives us a revealing, poignant and sobering look at what it takes to be a Navy SEAL. This book is rich in humor, emotion and wisdom. I look forward to hearing more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Narrative military history - well told

    The best personal account of modern special operations I've read. More than that, he allows us inside his head in the field and off duty too. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Warrior Soul: The Memoir of a Navy SEAL

    A spellbinding description of secret wars and covert action by one of America¿s most elite special operators. Certainly the best written book to come out of the SEAL oeuvre in a long, long time. Warrior Soul is a surprising and heartbreaking book, the most stirring account of war and peacekeeping since Blackhawk Down. Pfarrer¿s accounts are emotional, modest and painfully honest. This is one book you won¿t forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    A WILD RIDE

    An incredible stoy, told with heart and grace, A rare peek into the SOUL of a special forces operator-- well written and moving. Trust me, this is a book that will keep you up at night, Pfarrer has lived a full and charmed life and written a MAGNIFICENT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3