Customer Reviews for

Warriors (Alex Hawke Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Far and away the best Hawke book ever! Tight, thrilling, funny,

Far and away the best Hawke book ever! Tight, thrilling, funny, and keeps you glued to the last page. When is the movie?

posted by lordhawke on April 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

While I am a fan of Lord Alexander Hawke, I cannot say the same

While I am a fan of Lord Alexander Hawke, I cannot say the same for the writing style of Ted Bell.  This is by far the worst written book in the series (I've read them all), and stands a good chance to win a razzie award, should they ever give one out for writing.  I pu...
While I am a fan of Lord Alexander Hawke, I cannot say the same for the writing style of Ted Bell.  This is by far the worst written book in the series (I've read them all), and stands a good chance to win a razzie award, should they ever give one out for writing.  I purchased the digital "Nook" copy, but I would not be shocked to find the print version was written in purple crayon.

I have always found the Bell's previous Hawke works to be somewhat amateurish, but this one reeks more of ineptitude.  Fans of the hit tv series, The Office may be pleased, as I am almost certain that Bell wrote the screenplay for Michael Scott's thriller, Threat Level Midnight.  Perhaps if nothing else, it will leave you with a feeling of nostalgia instead of remorse for having supported this abomination of literature.  Finally, the dialog is forced, contrived, and in my opinion a tad bit offensive.  Bell insists that his characters embody every stereotype of their nationality and creed to an absolute fault, which gives this book a very juvenile feel to it.  I have honestly witnessed more convincing dialog watching a grade school production of A Christmas Carol.  Imagine a seven year old "Ebenezer Scrooge" trying not to giggle at the sight of his classmate, a snickering Bob Cratchit, expressing his love for Tiny Tim and you will have a much clearer understanding of human intricacies and emotional depth than you will from the characters in this book.

That being said, I did buy the book...and I'll probably buy the next one.  Alex Hawke is as cool as the other side of the pillow, and I'd like to see what he does next.  I just hope Bell put forth more effort in his writing that Hawke has to in order to get laid.  For Hawke it is easy...for Bell it may take a bit of work.

posted by MSMI6 on April 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    While I am a fan of Lord Alexander Hawke, I cannot say the same

    While I am a fan of Lord Alexander Hawke, I cannot say the same for the writing style of Ted Bell.  This is by far the worst written book in the series (I've read them all), and stands a good chance to win a razzie award, should they ever give one out for writing.  I purchased the digital "Nook" copy, but I would not be shocked to find the print version was written in purple crayon.

    I have always found the Bell's previous Hawke works to be somewhat amateurish, but this one reeks more of ineptitude.  Fans of the hit tv series, The Office may be pleased, as I am almost certain that Bell wrote the screenplay for Michael Scott's thriller, Threat Level Midnight.  Perhaps if nothing else, it will leave you with a feeling of nostalgia instead of remorse for having supported this abomination of literature.  Finally, the dialog is forced, contrived, and in my opinion a tad bit offensive.  Bell insists that his characters embody every stereotype of their nationality and creed to an absolute fault, which gives this book a very juvenile feel to it.  I have honestly witnessed more convincing dialog watching a grade school production of A Christmas Carol.  Imagine a seven year old "Ebenezer Scrooge" trying not to giggle at the sight of his classmate, a snickering Bob Cratchit, expressing his love for Tiny Tim and you will have a much clearer understanding of human intricacies and emotional depth than you will from the characters in this book.

    That being said, I did buy the book...and I'll probably buy the next one.  Alex Hawke is as cool as the other side of the pillow, and I'd like to see what he does next.  I just hope Bell put forth more effort in his writing that Hawke has to in order to get laid.  For Hawke it is easy...for Bell it may take a bit of work.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    To scar

    Where did you guys move?

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Far and away the best Hawke book ever! Tight, thrilling, funny,

    Far and away the best Hawke book ever! Tight, thrilling, funny, and keeps you glued
    to the last page. When is the movie?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Great Read, a favorite author

    Ted Bell keeps Alex Hawke relevant, effective, and a wonderful hero in today's current fictional world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    what happened?!?!

    As a longtime fan of Ted Bell's writing and his creation Alexander Hawke, I was unbelievably disappointed with this particular book. The writing was disjointed and plot points that were set up disregarded. The plot and characters didn't even jell till halfway through. A very frustrating experience.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    If nothing else to read it's OK.

    A pale shadow of the original.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    FORCEMATE REQUEST

    FORCE MATE DIAMONDSTAR AT BLACK BEAUTY ALL RES FIRST JOIN DIAMONDCLAN THEN FORCEMATE THE SE<_>XY WHITE SHE CAT GO NOW!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Abby

    Title the story

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    The name's

    SHADOW KING!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    To Skye from dream boy

    Hi I **** i blocked my name out on purpose. I will tell u later. Anyways u probablly want to know more about me. I am 6 feet 7 inches. Blond hair 6 pack A+ student sparkiling smile ocean blue eyes and hot moves. Please reply to dream boy see yah hotty five stars for the lady

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    Syke ;) :*

    Tell me a little bit about yourself. Age, gender, height, apperance, attitude, size... Maybe we can have some fun ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    To skye

    NOOOOOOO!!!):( IN THAT DO YOU RAPE THE TABLET ORSOMETHING? STOP THE MADNESS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Waiting for nook s** here

    Skye walks in." Am I late? " . Takes off scarf and reveals a half naked chest. " Or am I welcome? " .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    BRING ME FORCEMATE REQUESTS

    Any age cats are aloud just tell me witch resalt and neet me at funny resalt 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    ddhkg  slk; s ;skd ;sd s;dk s s

    ddhkg  slk; s ;skd ;sd s;dk s s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    What the.. EEEEEEEE??

    We appear to have a 1998 furby with dead batteries here..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEFEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEFEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEFEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEFEEEEEEEEE

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Shadowfire

    Tigeeclan needs you. Join at tiger res 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Love Advice Please!

    I have a crush on this boy. Blond. Blue eyes. Likes to get on my nerves. Sits next to me in History and Science. Sweet. Fun-loving. Have no idea if he likes me back. He loks at me a lot and smiles at me but that's avout it. Reply to Rachel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    S e x slave

    Get maddie at ss res. 1 quick! Get this hot b i t c h now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4