Customer Reviews for

Warriors Don't Cry

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - you must check it out

This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause a...
This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause at the end were all on the same planet and same world.I think the author was communicating that we can all are diverse and different and that what makes us and that were all here together. What i learned from the book is that i can make a change no matter what race, short,tall, i am cause when we come together as one world we can all make a difference and make a change. I would recommend this book because it is very powerful and inspiring to me and hopefully to do the same with others .

posted by Cougar_H on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really good.

I had to read this book for a school project and I thought that I was going to hate it.....I loved it! It was so well written and inspiring I felt like I was write there in the mdd of Melba's hardships. I would highly recommend this book to any middle schooler who is i...
I had to read this book for a school project and I thought that I was going to hate it.....I loved it! It was so well written and inspiring I felt like I was write there in the mdd of Melba's hardships. I would highly recommend this book to any middle schooler who is in the need for an entertaining and educational read.

posted by 10757620 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    A Great Book

    I read this book 2 years ago but feel like it was yesterday. It has so much detail about this era you feel like your right there with the characters!!! I felt all her emotions because the book explained them so well!!!! I highly recommend to all preetens, teens and even adults. This story really touches you!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Warriors dont cry

    I think this is one of the greatest books ever published.In school we are talking about the civil right movement and it made me remember your book.Last year in the eight grade we has something called AR points and your book wasnt even on the ar list. i proteseted but we couldnt get it on ar.I still read it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    If this book won't move you, then nothing will!

    In the midst of a difficult divorce I was led to read this book. Melba Beals struggles to integrate Little Rock High School were unimaginable. It humbled me in my seemingly bleak circumstances to read what she endured to simply learn to read, write and learn arithametic. I admire the courage of this young women. I admire her diligence to keep going to school in spite of the fact that her very life was in danger. In 1957 the world was not a good place for a black person to live. As a white, protestant woman, I now look at every person of color with more reverance and am more conscience of my own "inner racism" that we must irradicate in thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    POWERFUL STORY

    When our teacher assigned us to read up to chapter 4 in this book over the weekend, I thought this it was gonna be corny but instead of reading only 4 chapters i finished the book over the weekend! The story tells in vivid details what Melba and the other little rock children had to go through just to intergrate the school. It was torcher for them but she stayed strong and continued to live. I dunno where she got the strength from but this is a MUST read because it teaches an important part of history in the words and mind of a child

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Please read this book you will be sorry if you don't

    This book was great! It is very educational. Even though I was forced to read it for an English paper, I am glad I did. I leard a lot from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    Warriors Don't Cry

    This is a touching story written by one of the 'Little Rock Nine'. Melba Pattillo Beals expresses her thoughts through out the integration. She talks about how she was almost raped, how people spit and kicked at her, and how people tortured her. A wonderful security guard named Danny tells her one day that 'warriors don't cry'. She marries a white man that reminds her of him. Follow Melba through out the good times and hard ships of the 'Little Rock Nine'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    Great Book

    I loved reading this book it inspired me to be couragous and i recommend it to anyone who is facing a challenge!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 1999

    Great Book!!!!!

    I couldn't put it down, a page turner.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2015

    This book gives you a great insight of a remarkable characte





    This book gives you a great insight of a remarkable character named Melba and gives you an inside look of being one of the nine black students chosen to integrate in a school of over 2,000 white students! It shows the  life and the time during the desegregation of Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas. Melba kept me reading the book with her great and interesting details. I have sympathy for her and her struggles because now I see the struggles of a black person, especially of a black woman. Her inspirational story is one of a kind and opened my eyes to the extreme hardships that African-Americans had  to face to get where they are today. She invites you to see the circumstances through her perspective. Melba volunteered to be one of the first black students to integrate to the all white high school. She hoped to show white students that blacks were their equals but she didn’t know the battle that she would face.The graphic details make her story come alive. Along with her eight companions, she lost her adolescent innocence when she was threatened with lynching, spit upon, and physically abused by white students, their parents, and the mob that gathered daily outside the high school. The harassment continued with telephone threats and gunshots at her home. The teenagers were devastated by their isolation from their peers and deprived of a normal school experience. I loved the fact that the story ends with a 30 year reunion with all the students at their alma mater. Each student has gone on to accomplish great things and have continued their education and forward movement in personal and professional growth. It really is a true inspiring book and without Melba and the others; America might not be the same it is today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    I love this book!iiii

    I love this book i think that she should have married link. He really loved her. Plus thise mean jokes yal make about us black people is very mean and rude. All i say is yawl need JESUS. Anyway i am from the deep south in mississippi. Its called greenville. I love the south even though they made us slaves. I think its the most beautiful plafe in the whole wide world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    the book has a great story line but i felt it to be boring even

    the book has a great story line but i felt it to be boring even after only reading 2 chapters..... but with my background knowledge i almost already knew the outcome. so it felt boring and a bit hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    INSPIRATIONAL!!!!

    I was required to read this book for my 8th grade class during the summer and at first I thought this book was going to be boring but as I was reading the first pages I knew it was going to be interesting. This is a true story about this 15 year old girl who was one of the first to integrate a "white people only" high school. There are parts that are really action packed that make you want to keep on reading. The part that I enjoyed from this book is that it shows you to never give up and to have faith in god even if you're in a terrible situation. Read this book it's AMAZING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    To below

    What the heck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Aaaaaaaaaah

    Me+this book= erections my hand has is throbbin semen everywhere

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    READ THIS

    Bill Nye the science guy supported Jim Crow laws... Hes a racist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    My Book Review Book title and author: Warriors Don┬┐t Cry by Mel

    My Book Review
    Book title and author: Warriors Don’t Cry by Melba Beals
    Title of review: Good Book
    Number of stars (1 to 5) 4
    This book is a true story; it teaches you about integration. A school was not integrated in Little Rock, Arkansas. Melba was one out of nine people to integrate in an all-white school. It is a well told story of courage.
    Melba was scared to start an all-white school. They were the first people ever to integrate in a school. At first Melba and her nine got bullied. Everyone was so mean to them they wanted to quit integration. The nine students who walked into Central High in 1957 and they got looks from all over. They got stared at horribly. Most people was yelling at them and telling them to leave.
    Melba and the other eight got teased and lots of horrible thing’s said to her. She fought endlessly to integrate Little Rock's Central High School and it took more than she had ever imagined it would. She had to stay strong no matter what. She wanted to make a difference in the future for blacks to have their rights. The nine had to not think about what was being said to them.
    The journey that the nine young men and women took while integrating in little rock Arkansas is a great story. It teaches you what it would be like to live back then and have to integrate. You would have to be a mentally and physically strong person, to deal with what they deal with. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about integration and if you want to know what it was like to be them. All together this was a really great and amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Little rock 9

    I want to read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Bunnyduck

    Bunnyrabbitduck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Look look look

    What did god say when he made the first black person... damn i burnt one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Jimmy Dean

    When do we leave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6