Customer Reviews for

Warriors Don't Cry

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - you must check it out

This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause a...
This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause at the end were all on the same planet and same world.I think the author was communicating that we can all are diverse and different and that what makes us and that were all here together. What i learned from the book is that i can make a change no matter what race, short,tall, i am cause when we come together as one world we can all make a difference and make a change. I would recommend this book because it is very powerful and inspiring to me and hopefully to do the same with others .

posted by Cougar_H on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really good.

I had to read this book for a school project and I thought that I was going to hate it.....I loved it! It was so well written and inspiring I felt like I was write there in the mdd of Melba's hardships. I would highly recommend this book to any middle schooler who is i...
I had to read this book for a school project and I thought that I was going to hate it.....I loved it! It was so well written and inspiring I felt like I was write there in the mdd of Melba's hardships. I would highly recommend this book to any middle schooler who is in the need for an entertaining and educational read.

posted by 10757620 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    My Book Review Book title and author: Warriors Don┬┐t Cry by Mel

    My Book Review
    Book title and author: Warriors Don’t Cry by Melba Beals
    Title of review: Good Book
    Number of stars (1 to 5) 4
    This book is a true story; it teaches you about integration. A school was not integrated in Little Rock, Arkansas. Melba was one out of nine people to integrate in an all-white school. It is a well told story of courage.
    Melba was scared to start an all-white school. They were the first people ever to integrate in a school. At first Melba and her nine got bullied. Everyone was so mean to them they wanted to quit integration. The nine students who walked into Central High in 1957 and they got looks from all over. They got stared at horribly. Most people was yelling at them and telling them to leave.
    Melba and the other eight got teased and lots of horrible thing’s said to her. She fought endlessly to integrate Little Rock's Central High School and it took more than she had ever imagined it would. She had to stay strong no matter what. She wanted to make a difference in the future for blacks to have their rights. The nine had to not think about what was being said to them.
    The journey that the nine young men and women took while integrating in little rock Arkansas is a great story. It teaches you what it would be like to live back then and have to integrate. You would have to be a mentally and physically strong person, to deal with what they deal with. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about integration and if you want to know what it was like to be them. All together this was a really great and amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Bunnyduck

    Bunnyrabbitduck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Ffcgg

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Inspiring Book - also educational!

    This book wasn't just a true story, it was an inspiration. It showed how the blacks fought for their freedom during the segragation. "Warriors Don't Cry" was even an inspiration to me to stand up for what I believe in. To me, this book was very educational, exciting, and a good book all in one. I would reccommend this to anyone wanting to learn about the segragation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Very good for highschool girls

    Warriors Don’t Cry is beautifully written. It portrays the pain that Melba went through in a way that allows the reader to feel the pain along with her. It is tenderer than other segregation books. It still has all of the violence and anger of most books of its kind, but as a reader, you can feel the emotion more than with other books on the subject. The emotion pulls you in and keeps you reading. It makes the story feel real. The emotion is what makes this such an extraordinary book.
    In fact, Melba explains the emotion too well and becomes repetitive in her explanation. The emotion gets old after a while and almost causes the reader to want to stop later in the book. It is great that Melba got her readers so interested in her book in the beginning, but she loses the reader’s attention easily.
    The story itself is great. I can easily relate to it. There is a perfect balance of believability and shock. It seems like a made-up story based on facts when, in reality, the entire story is true. Ms. Beals even has a small twist in her experience that makes the story even better. It is as if her life were made to be a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    A first hand account of the first nine students to attempt to integrate Cental High in Little Rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    shuba luba ding dong

    ok so this book was sooooo coolio but it was really sad and depressing.:'[
    omg i broke a nail!

    i smile because i love you and i think you're pretty....ok so that was weird but i just wanted you to know that i love you and i want to be your best friend. once again, i love you :]]]] write back please!!! i have no life writing reveiws that scare people and then they wet their pants. so byebyes lov ya!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Gooddddd

    This book is very good. It tells you what black people had to go through just to have a better education and just plane old to get respect. It is sad at time on how cruel we were to the black people but at least some people in this book and past were trying to help them and be kind to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2004

    Warriors Don't Cry

    I read this novel for a research paper I'm doing on civil rights, and this ended up being one of my favorite books!! Anyone of any age should read this book! It is heartbreaking, yet it celebrates the joy of the integration that we have today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Recommendation

    'My opinion on this book is like if your experiencing what's going on. As you read the book is like if your there. I recommend this book to any teenage reader who likes to read about history and wold like to learn more and are also interested in black history it may not catch your attention but when you read it you can't stop reeding it.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    reallie good!!!

    this book is reallie good! it tells about how back then people were just as selfish and cruel as they are now~ only probably more intense! its reallie realistic! its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Warrirors Don't Cry was riveting!!

    This book was amazing. It told the true story of nine black children trying to survive in a white world. Truly excellent....i suggest this book highly to anyone who loves non-fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Compelling!!

    Although the book seemed to only portray Melba Pattillo Beals' side of the Little Rock Nine story, it was very compelling. Her story held my attention throughout and I finished the book feeling as though I had been there myself. Her intricate description and detail made me feel as though I were physically there myself. Almost enough to scare me after I read it becuase I felt as though I were African American and we were still in the year 1957. It was a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2