BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Warriors Don't Cry

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended - you must check it out

This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause a...
This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause at the end were all on the same planet and same world.I think the author was communicating that we can all are diverse and different and that what makes us and that were all here together. What i learned from the book is that i can make a change no matter what race, short,tall, i am cause when we come together as one world we can all make a difference and make a change. I would recommend this book because it is very powerful and inspiring to me and hopefully to do the same with others .

posted by Cougar_H on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really good.

I had to read this book for a school project and I thought that I was going to hate it.....I loved it! It was so well written and inspiring I felt like I was write there in the mdd of Melba's hardships. I would highly recommend this book to any middle schooler who is i...
I had to read this book for a school project and I thought that I was going to hate it.....I loved it! It was so well written and inspiring I felt like I was write there in the mdd of Melba's hardships. I would highly recommend this book to any middle schooler who is in the need for an entertaining and educational read.

posted by 10757620 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out

    This book spoke to me to never give up. That i can make a change even at a young age. I think the authors purpose and reason for writing the book was to show teens and children that we can all make a difference no matter how old or young we are or color and race cause at the end were all on the same planet and same world.I think the author was communicating that we can all are diverse and different and that what makes us and that were all here together. What i learned from the book is that i can make a change no matter what race, short,tall, i am cause when we come together as one world we can all make a difference and make a change. I would recommend this book because it is very powerful and inspiring to me and hopefully to do the same with others .

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    An absolute must read

    This book should be required reading for all students. It was a powerful and uplifting story and everyone should be aware of what people had to endure and the sacrifices people made for humanity. This book is good for middle school students to the retired. We should all feel the reality of what happened.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    great book, i came multiple times. semen is everywhere

    great book, i came multiple times. semen is everywhere

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Truly breathtaking and magnificent

    This book was awesome! It is good for anyone 12 and over, though I read it at age 9. Melba Pattillo Beals dealt with the horrors of segregation since birth, when her mother was denied help from white doctors and nurses. I personally believe, as did her family, that God spared Melba.
    At age five, she was vindictively denied entrance to a merry go round.
    At age twelve, a crazy white racist guy tried to rape her. However, she was determined that she could be able to integrate so she signed
    up for a integration program. Her name was broadcast over the radio. Over the year at high school, melba dealt with death threats and other things. However, she trusted in God, which I personally believe saved her. I recommend this to anyone who has lost faith in God.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Warriors Don't Cry - Novel of Heart and Strength

    This book is a memoir on the inspiring journey of Melba Pattillo Beals and the rest of the "Little Rock Nine" as they fought to survive as the first African American students to attend an all white school (Central High) in Little Rock, Arkansas. This book is very intense and completely full of courage. Its very inspiring, which is one main reason I enjoyed it so much. I very much loved reading about the student's incredible fight for freedom and loved capturing their feelings from their experiences with dealing with the unfair circumstances they faced because of the color of their skin. Their journey was definitely a rough one, what they had to go through was unbelievable. Their attitudes were mostly positive, as they tried to keep their heads up and ignore all the prejudice and the heartless remarks. Somehow they survived and succeeded and changed the lives of every African American in the 1950s. This is one of my favorite books ever. It was so suspenseful and full of brave and heroic individuals that I respect so much. I was so involved in this book and would love to read another exactly like it. I am so glad I took the opportunity to relive the crazy live's of the Little Rock Nine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    touching

    This book tells what people had to go through so that we could all have the same education. This book was so touching and an eye opener for the young people who think that have it hard in life....they have no idea what these people went through that we didnt have to do. All young people should read this book no matter the race. Very good book!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Annonymus

    U itiots this is a true story i love this book

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Amazing

    Super good. Our English teacher had us read it once. This story is truly captivating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    Its such an intersting book. It really taught me some thing about what it was like back in the day!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great

    I read this book a few years back and the actual events talked about put you right into the 60's and a small but difficult part of the civil rights movement. I also found it awesome how it was written by one of the actual little rock nine. A great work to display unfairness and to prevent repeats and stop such acts like these from happening.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Needs to be a Nook Book

    I am looking to buy this book but only if it's in Nook Book format. I need to read this book for school. It is required. I would really appreciate it if you could make this a Nook Book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    very happy

    Book is a great condition and arrived in good bubble package in a timely fashion.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Warriors Don't Cry Review

    Melba Pattillo Beals has written an excellent nonfiction book, Warriors Don¿t Cry. Warriors Don¿t Cry tells the story of the fight to integrate Little Rock¿s all white high school, from the point of view of a student. Melba was a student in an all black high school in the 1950¿s when the federal court ordered Little Rock to integrate its public high schools. Melba was one of the first nine African American students to attend all-white Little Rock High School. She tells the reader about what people did or tried to do to her in sharp detail. This book focuses on the challenges faced by the pioneers of integration, and it shows the courage it took for Melba and the other black children to walk through a mob to go to school every day. It has many lessons to teach, and this book is one of the best books that I have ever read. I loved it. Warriors Don¿t Cry is a wonderful book because it brings to the surface the way people really acted. It is almost unbelievable, but it is painfully true. Melba writes that almost three weeks after the mob stopped her first attempt to enter the school she was finally able to enter the school. However, that day she was forced to leave because the mob wanted to kill them. One of her Little Rock teachers said that, ¿`We may have to let the mob have one of these kids, so¿s we can distract them long enough to get the others out.¿¿ I can not even imagine how it would feel to go to school with the fear of being spit on, beaten up, having dynamite thrown at me or even being killed with a knife. It took great courage for Melba to go to school each day knowing that any of these things might happen to her and that almost none of the teachers would do anything to stop it. The author¿s ability to show this makes this book amazing. Melba¿s book shows how she overcame her fears of going to school. When she was afraid and cried, she talked to her grandmother who she trusted. Melba¿s grandmother told her, ¿`You¿re a warrior on the battlefield for your lord. God¿s warriors don¿t cry, `cause they trust that he¿s always by their side¿¿ (57). This statement, along with many more from her grandmother, allowed Melba to face down her fears of the people in and around school and go back every day. This book taught me about the ways that people can act, the courage that people are capable of having, and their ability to overcome fear. These lessons made this book truly wonderful.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Fantastic BOOK

    This book puts you into the real shoes of 16 year old Melba Patillio. This is a great book that i recommened to everyone....especially to anyone who likes friendships, trust, and civil rights. READ THIS BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    Warriors Don't Cry

    Melba was one of the Little Rock Nine, the first nine children to integrate Little Rock's Central High. This non- fiction book written by Melba Beals herslef, shows the integrationists' hope and the segragationists' hatred. It shows how awful people really can be, but also how nice and helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Loved the courage of these teenagers

    This was a fabolous book about nine warriors who attended a crazy racism school. These kids are heroes for doing the right thing wich was not fighting back but fighting for their education. Cuz i probaly would have been killed, going through the harsh and painful stuff they went through from their own school mates.Think god for the little of the right-minded white people who attended their school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    A Great Book

    I read this book 2 years ago but feel like it was yesterday. It has so much detail about this era you feel like your right there with the characters!!! I felt all her emotions because the book explained them so well!!!! I highly recommend to all preetens, teens and even adults. This story really touches you!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Warriors dont cry

    I think this is one of the greatest books ever published.In school we are talking about the civil right movement and it made me remember your book.Last year in the eight grade we has something called AR points and your book wasnt even on the ar list. i proteseted but we couldnt get it on ar.I still read it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    If this book won't move you, then nothing will!

    In the midst of a difficult divorce I was led to read this book. Melba Beals struggles to integrate Little Rock High School were unimaginable. It humbled me in my seemingly bleak circumstances to read what she endured to simply learn to read, write and learn arithametic. I admire the courage of this young women. I admire her diligence to keep going to school in spite of the fact that her very life was in danger. In 1957 the world was not a good place for a black person to live. As a white, protestant woman, I now look at every person of color with more reverance and am more conscience of my own "inner racism" that we must irradicate in thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    POWERFUL STORY

    When our teacher assigned us to read up to chapter 4 in this book over the weekend, I thought this it was gonna be corny but instead of reading only 4 chapters i finished the book over the weekend! The story tells in vivid details what Melba and the other little rock children had to go through just to intergrate the school. It was torcher for them but she stayed strong and continued to live. I dunno where she got the strength from but this is a MUST read because it teaches an important part of history in the words and mind of a child

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4