Customer Reviews for

Warriors in Winter: In the Bleak Midwinter\The Holly and the Viking\A Season to Forgive (Harlequin Historical Series #1118)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Awesome

    All three stories were awesome, so much feeling and later love shown by all the strong Heroines (love a strong heroine!) And loving Heroes!!!! Highly Recommend!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Three heartwarming stories about the MacEgan Brothers' children.

    I really enjoyed this heartwarming anthology. Each story is about one of three cousins. They are each a child of a MacEgan Brother from the MacEgan Brothers series. I had not read the MacEgan Brothers series before reading this anthology and was able to enjoy each story without the back story. After reading this anthology I went back and read the entire series and really enjoyed knowing what happens to the brothers' children I read about in the stories. If you have read the MacEgan Brothers series you will definitely want to read this one as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    FANTASTIC - AWESOME!! I wasn't sure 3 short stories could be con

    FANTASTIC - AWESOME!!
    I wasn't sure 3 short stories could be connected in such a way that you wanted more. But I was so surprised how well they were written, connected in such a new way that I loved all 3. Well worth your time and money. I recommended the whole series of the MacEgan Brother's and now the Christmas story of their offspring. Great job Michelle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Michelle Willingham continues her MacEgan's series with Warriors

    Michelle Willingham continues her MacEgan's series with Warriors in Winter. This book continues their story by visiting their children in three short stories. Each story follows the journey of a different couple during the same time period. After finishing this book all I could think was WOW! The short stories blend pretty perfectly giving us different glimpses of the same events and time periods and never become redundant or convoluted. The end product is simply magic. If you love the Highlands and historical romances you can't get much better than Michelle Willingham's MacEgan books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    I don't normally care for novellas but I really liked this book.

    I don't normally care for novellas but I really liked this book. The 3 stories in the book are connected and take place in the same time frame.I enjoyed how the stories overlapped and flowed into the next. The middle story with wounded hero Kaall and sheltered Rhiannon was my favorite! The Christmas setting and the customs of the times were entertaining to read. I have not read the other MacEagan books but will definitely be reading them soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Love this MacEgan book. This is the perfect book that you can ju

    Love this MacEgan book. This is the perfect book that you can just sit down and read cover to cover in one sitting... You will not want to miss out this book . The intertwining of the 3 stories was magnificently done and kept me wanting more . Its A must read for that winter reading list. All 3 stories were BRILLIANT! Michelle really out did herself this time!!! All three women aren't too soft but strong and you love them more for it!!! Love her work and will continue to Read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    It is that time of year for me to be looking for that book that

    It is that time of year for me to be looking for that book that I can curl up with and enjoy the story of Christmas that an author is sharing. This year the story was by one of my favorite authors............Michelle Willingham. Whether you have read her stories or not, a must read is Warriors in Winter. The MacEgan family once again is brought together and you will not be able to put this book down. Brianna, Rhiannon and Liam MacEgan have stories that intertwine. Brianna has lost her husband and is introduced to Liam MacEgan's soon to be brother in law. Arturo has lost his love and the two soon realize that they have a common bond. Rhiannon finds a blind warrior and is drawn to his lonliness and soon discovers that she finds his inner strength and strong character what is drawing her to him. Liam is in love with Adrianna, Arturo's sister, but Adrianna's secret is tending to place a definite strain on their relationship. If you enjoy stories with well written characters, stories that hold you spellbound, have twists and turns and love medievals with bold warriors, this is the book for you. Sit back, relax and enjoy three stories of love at Christmas time. You will definitely be glad you picked up this page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Warriors in Winter ¿ Three Stories ¿ They take place as Liam Mac

    Warriors in Winter – Three Stories – They take place as Liam MacEgan returns home with his bride-to-be, Adriana de Manzano. Liam and Adriana meet in the short story by Michelle called “Lionheart’s Bride” (first published March 28th 2011) In my review of Lionheart’s Bride I wrote, I would love to see what happens with Adriana, and the highlander prince Liam. Well this book is the continuation of their story and how it touches the lives of two other couples. These stories are separate but each one gives us a peek into their lives as they come together during the winter solstice celebration and the five days leading to Christmas.

    In the Bleak Midwinter – Brianna MacEgan (widow of Murtagh who was killed by a Lochlannach warrior) and Arturo de Manzano meet as he rides into Laochre Castle fortress. From that point on her fragile beauty and air of sadness speak to Arturo. He pursues her and as he learns Brianna’s story he becomes enchanted with her. Will Arturo be able to break through her sadness and anger and turn her year long morning period into dreams of the future? - If I were to give each story a star to represent my favorite to least favorite; 1-3, I would give this one a 3. Not because of the writing or the story itself. But because I knew I would be forced to deal with someone going through a great loss. (I have my reasons for not wanting to go there) Before you know it you are invested in this persons life. You feel the experiences she describes as though you are there. Brianna is so caught up in her own misery she might not see Arturo for the godsend that he is. I wanted to smack her, saying ‘Snap out of it!’ Brianna has good reason to be sad but not angry. I know sometimes sadness and anger run hand in hand. However, this is the beauty of Ms. Willingham’s writing. You may experience more than you bargain for.

    The Holly and The Viking –Kaal Hardrata is blind and involved in an accident that causes the death of another. As a result of that accident the child of his first love is taken away from him. He is a bitter man and trying hard to survive and be reunited with her. Enter Rhiannon MacEgan, the cousin of Liam daughter of Connor MacEgan (The Warriors Touch). She is young and longing to have a mate but her father is fiercely protective. They meet when she becomes disoriented in a snowstorm and takes shelter in a cave; a cave that Kaal calls home. This is a special romance. We see the world through a blind mans senses and how he overcomes tragedy with the help of one very special female.

    A Season To Forgive – Adriana de Manzano and Liam MacEgan – the reason I wanted so badly to read this book. I was not disappointed. Events occurred in Lionheart’s Bride that I always wondered about. The rest of the story is told here. Adriana is haunted by dreams of the past. She wakes nightly from nightmares so horrible she can’t bury them deep enough. This should be a time of celebration. Liam is a wonderful giving and caring man. However the past is going to have to be dealt with but Adriana is unsure if Liam will be able to understand and forgive.

    Warriors in Winter is a nicely arranged book, the three stories come together with a nice climax and they all stand well on their own. I enjoyed how all these lives entwine. All the characters are strong with their own personalities. The women aren’t too soft but strong and feminine enough to be endearing. The men, well, lets just say they don’t make them now like they did then, *grins wickedly*. I would love to see more books like this by other authors that write series. Great job Michelle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Perfect reading with a mince pie or three. Michelle really has

    Perfect reading with a mince pie or three. Michelle really has captured the season wonderfully in these three novellas. This compliation features the next generation of MacEgans, two very strong independent women and Liam, the future King. In this, they meet their match and the reader really does go through all the emotions of falling in love, the passion and the pain that the couples experience. Brilliant and a must have for the season!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    This was my first look into the MacEgan's world and I must say I

    This was my first look into the MacEgan's world and I must say I will be visiting again, which means that my credit card will be in full use tomorrow LOL
    Brianna and Arturo's story, "In The Bleak Midwinter", is a very touching story. I love the way MW writes, you really can feel both of their loss' as she draw's you into their lives. The struggle Brianna faces while she tries to overcome her feelings of guilt as she falls in love with Arturo. The obstacle's Arturo has to overcome that Brianna place's in his path.
    Speaking of obstacles to overcome! Wow! In "The Holly and the Viking", Rhiannon has quite the time of it. First, trying to break through Kaall's reserve and hurt and then her family's, namely Brianna's, understandable misgivings about her choice in men.
    Finally, my favorite of the three, A Season to Forgive, Adriana and Liam's story. Which is really hard for me to say because I enjoyed each and every one separately as well as how they all fit together and flowed into one story. Between Liam's confusion and Adriana's guilt and then the twist, that made my jaw literally drop, I couldn't pit it down!! I don't want to give too much away!
    Again, Michelle Willingham has written a story, or three, of such emotional punch that the characters pop off the page so you can laugh, cry and cringe along with them. I don't know how she does it but MW manages to put so much story in 283 pages and creates characters you can't help but fall for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    Wonderful Holiday Book!

    "Spend Christmas with your favorite Warriors--the MacEgans!" This first sentence took me back to one of my favorite families and from there, the adventure never stops. Three stories--Brianna, Rhiannon, and Liam, children of the MacEgan Warriors. With this anthology, I felt as if I was reading one, for the stories are intertwined together, filled with passion and adventure. A beautiful way to spend the holidays curled up with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1