Customer Reviews for

Washington Avalanche, 1910

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    I usually like Cameron Dokey

    This book had the WORST plot I have ever read. I love historical romances but, seriouslly, this one was pathetic. Two girls trade places. One to escape a step-brothers abuse, the other to judge a future husband. Of course, Ginny falls in love with Nicolas (fiance of Virginia, the girl she switched with). So they fall deeply in love and Virginia gets mad at Ginny b/c she won't tell Nicolas the truth. So Virginia tells Nicolas and he proposes to Virginia right in front of Ginny. There's the avalanche and Virginia dies. Nicolas tells Ginny 'I really do love you. If you still want me go to St. Louis. If I'm at the train station to pick you up I still want you if I'm not, I don't love you anymore.' SERIOUSLY! that is the story. Don't waste you money. Nicolas is totally a 'player' whatever. And Ginny needs someone to hold her hand all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Not the Best, but ok

    I love everything that Cameron Dokey writes, and I love most historical romances, but this one didn't rate too high on my scale. At first I really liked the romance between Ginny and Nicholas. He seemed really sweet, and he was throughout the book, though I wasn't too sure at the end. It did have a good romance, but I just don't think with everything that happens, that their love will last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    Good Read

    This story by Cameron Dokey is about 18 year old Ginny Nolan, who becomes friends with Virginia Hightower, another girl who looks like Ginny, and shares the same name. However, while Ginny is running away from her cruel stepbrother and his wife, Miss Hightower is on her way to get married to a man she's never met before. Before they know it, they're trading their stories of woe, and then they decide to pull a little masquerade, with Ginny pretending to be Virginia, and Virginia pretending to be Ginny. But when Ginny meets Virginia's fiance, Nicholas Bennett, the next morning, she's a goner! She falls head-over-heels in love with Nicholas! A sweet historical romance, which got me crying, because it was really sad, especially at the end. I found the plot a bit lacking, but I liked it, though my favorite is San Francisco Earthquake, 1906, which I think is better. I could also relate to Ginny, for she was so vividly described, she seemed real.The emotion in this book was very high, and I recommend it to any teen looking for a great historical romance.To find out what happens next, read the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    GREAT BOOK!

    This is an excellent book, and I would highly recommend it. Except there are, however, some more mature parts in it, and therefore, i would have to definatly say this book is for 6th grade and up. This was well written, and the writing is exciting and romantic. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Excellent!!!

    A must read for anyone who believes in love. I was overtaken by he excitement, the drama, and the love. I loved this book and i'm sure you will to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2001

    Awesome Book

    Washington Avalanche 1910 is definately among one of the best books I have ever read. It is really intriguing and touching. While reading this book it was like I was one of the characters. I could tell what they were thinking and could picture their expressions. I loved the fact that the writer mixed history with romance. I was stunned to find that I was more interested in this book than the Harry Potter novels. Once I started this book, I could not put it down. I'd reccomend this book to pretty much anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2000

    A Really Well Written Book

    This book is one of the most wonderful written books I have ever read. It is really intriguing and touching. While reading this book it was like I was one of the characters. I could tell what they were thinking and could picture their expressions. I loved the fact that the writer mixed history with romance. I would recommend this book who anybody who is a history lover or loves romantic stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    Read This Book!!!!!

    I loved it! I am really into historical books. I also like romance. This book was one of the best books I have ever read. I loved the ending! I also plan to read Hendenberg. I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Great author

    This story was wonderful. Cameron Dokey really shows the characters feelings and reactions to what other people say and do through their facial expressions. It is one of the best stories I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    OMG!! READ THIS BOOK!!!

    hey! this was such a great story!! it was so sad, but i loved the twist ending, it was sad and happy at the same time!! i couldn't put the book away!!! if ur a teen and if u love historical fiction and romance books, READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    An outstanding read

    I love this book! The portrayal of the characters is amazing. I felt like I was right there with everyone living through the ordeal. I couldn't put the book down. If you like history/romance this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN

    The Washington Avalanche was beautifully written!! Cameron Dokey is an excellent writer! I loved the Hindenburg, but the Washington Avalanche was even better!! When your reading it feels like your in the book! This is a must read for everyone who loves history and romance books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    One of the best books ever!

    This was just an amazing book! Cameron Dokey is such a wonderful writer; she makes the story and the characters come to life. This was even better than her other book in this series, Hindenburg, which in turn was even better than her Hearts and Dreams series. Although this wasn't quite as sad as Hindenburg, I still cried - the story had the same emotional impact. I loved the story, I loved the ending, I loved everything about the book! I highly reccomend it to teens who like historical romances. It is just a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1