Customer Reviews for

Washington's Crossing

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    Washington's Crossing: A Pivotal Decision in America's History

    The title Washington's Crossing, with a cover illustration of the famous painting, caught my eye: I bought it, feeling vaguely guilty about not knowing much about an event considered significant enough to be mentioned in President Obama's inaugural address.

    Thinking that this would be simply another history book, I had an exciting surprise: page after page of action and suspense! The author begins with a brief overview of how the painting on the cover had been reworked over the years to suit the views of the times. Adept at demolishing the arguments of 'debunkers', Fischer shows, for example, how it would have been unwise for Washington to have sat in the boat rather than stand, as some critics (who know little about leaking eighteenth-century boats) have complained!

    Above all, Washington's Crossing is a drama of fascinating individuals; like the doctor who decided to join the small patriot army just before the scheduled crossing, as it marched past his front yard. This was the doctor who would save the life of a future president (James Monroe) when his artery was severed in the battle that followed. Also, the memorable young husband who loved his expensive house so much that he changed sides to Britain hoping to protect it, only to find it ransacked and used to quarter soldiers.

    Those who fought (a motley assembly, sneeringly termed 'peasants' by the British) were drawn from all over the colonies, and had to be organized into some semblance of an army, willing to drag cannons, wagons, horses, and themselves through the snow, sleet, and blackness of winter. The man who led them (considered 'awesome' by all who knew him) is portrayed as having both the virtues and the failings of humankind. Washington's doubts, his mistakes, and his rare but fearsome flares of anger, are all documented-gleaned from the letters of the men who served with him, and from those written by Washington himself.

    At a time in the ongoing struggles against the British when many had given up hope, Washington's decision to cross the Delaware on Christmas night in order to surprise the enemy marked the beginning of America as a free nation. The accounts of men hoisting tons of armament down muddy ravines on their way to the ice-clogged river, the bleeding feet of soldiers wearing rags for boots, the lashing north winds, and Washington's horse suddenly slipping in the darkness-these and many other poignant details are evocative of just what the 'reality' of the American Revolution consisted.

    A brilliant book: anyone who still deems it 'politically incorrect' to have feelings of patriotism will be hard-pressed to maintain that attitude after reading Washington's Crossing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    WASHINGTON'S CROSSING - AS EXCITING AS A NOVEL

    MR. FISCHER HAS PUT IN AN OUTSTANDING EFFORT IN HIS RESEARCH FOR THIS VOLUME. THE FOOTNOTES ARE NOT ONLY PROLIFIC BUT TIMELY AND INFORMATIVE. I WAS TURNING THE PAGES AS I WOULD A TOM CLANCY NOVEL. MR. FISCHER IS AMERICA'S ANSWER TO HUGH THOMAS. HOWEVER, THE BEST THING ABOUT THIS BOOK IS THE MAPS. THE MAPS ARE NUMEROUS AND INFORMATIVE AND GIVE ONE A CLEAR VIEW OF THE ACTION. THANK YOU MR. FISCHER FOR A GREAT BOOK!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    All the details they don't cover in school

    I read history primarily. I love all the details that make the story feel like I am there. Fischer does a good job of bring those details to life without making it too long and too drawn out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    History That Reads Like a Novel

    If Washington's Crossing was assigned reading in high school I would have had an instant love for American history instead of treating the subject as one of many dull tasks to get through the week. The book makes it clear that Washington's brazen courage in the face of impossible odds is what made it possible for this this country to be independent. The successes of his campaigns are clearly not just rational intelligence, but also incredible luck and fortunate timing. Any cautious general could not have won this war, and without this war's success there would not be Americans. I found this book so fascinating that I read it straight though in a handful of days, finding time wherever possible. The book begins by setting the stage of world events that led to the conflict and the need for American independence, then it outlined the political and military forces on either side. It described the poor conditions of the Colonial troops compared to the enemy's, then went through the successive battles that led to the crossing of Delaware. Until I read this book, I never really knew what it was all about. Thankfully I ran across this extraordinarily well written account of a pivotal time in American history. I recommend this to anyone, not just people interested in the history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Spectacular!

    I can't rate this book high enough. This was one of those rare books where the reader is actually sorry when he finishes it, because he wants to keep reading. The footnotes are as entertaining as the text. This book should be read by every American!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    An amazing tale!

    Forget everything you thought you knew about the story of the General's audacious crossing of the Delaware on a cold and snowy Christmas night. This book puts you right in the middle of a savage storm in which the troops marched and fought for 60 hours with barely any clothing and many without shoes. This is a miraculous triumph of courage and sheer will. A story EVERY American should read in order to more fully appreciate the sacrifices made for our freedom. This country was founded by extremely courageous men willing to die for their beliefs. Are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Good, worth viewing

    Liked the film. Historically it is not very accurate. If nothing else, the weather depicted in the film was nothing like the storm that was going on. There was even some sunshine. Gen. Washington had a slave/companion in real life. Man named Lee. Not in the film at all.

    Well acted.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Wonderful! Everyone should own this one!

    Great Book - not only did i get the Ebook, but also a Hard back. This one is a keeper. Very thorough, lots of details. NOT BORING! Also check out his book on Paul Revere! another excellent book by David Hackett Fischer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Great read!

    Fischer did nothing to change my opinion of him as our premier historian. The book is difficult to put down, the sources superb, and the story terrific!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    2 thumbs up

    Brilliant. This guy turned actual history into an exciting fast paced read. I intend to read others by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    History come to life

    This is a great book. It takes a small part of the Revolution and makes it come to life. It also reads like a novel. I found myself looking forward to reading it every night. Far superior to Ellis' recent work on Washington.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    American History in the Balance

    This book had generated considerable enthusiasm and earns every ounce of it. As usual, Fischer provides a way to integrate immense historical detail with an overview of the his subject¿s importance, and keeps it all famously readable. The charge about poor proofreading is generally overstated: one reviewer comments about the British invading ¿the island¿ in Rhode Island, and seems to miss the fact that the British did invade Newport, which is on the island that is part of the state. There is a minor confusion about British Army regiments. Since Fischer provides a complete order of battle for the forces involved in the battles of Trenton and Princeton, it is easy enough to sort out. As other reviewers have noted, Fischer¿s end-chapters on historiography are just as entertaining and enlightening as the history itself. This book delivers on the intent of the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Yet Again

    This book is just as exciting as Paul Revere's Ride and leaves the reader wondering how the story would have changed if certain contigencies did not occur. From his revolutionary war class to Paul Revere's Ride to Washington's Crossing, Professor Fischer keeps history alive and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    a must read for all americans

    the last few pages are worth the price alone. this is a gem and will be the standard on the subject for a generation. thank God for people like David Hackett Fischer to help us understand ourselves. BRAVO!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    Did anyone edit this book?

    Not much new here. Somewhat confusing to read and filled with inaccuracies. Here is one of my favorites from the chapter entitled Retreat where we learn that the state of Rhode Island is in fact an island. 'Admiral Howe would move by sea and occupy Rhode Island as they had long planned: not the entire province but the island itself and the town of Newport. The prosperous farms on the island and the great plantations of the Narragansett could supply much of the army through the winter.' Need I say more?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    First rate narrative history

    This book is every bit as good as the author's Paul Revere's Ride, which is very good indeed. Solid historical scholarship, new insights and it reads like a thriller (it is one). The historiographical essay alone is worth the price of the book. Fischer writes history as the story of people making decisions in difficult circumstances - which is what it really is despite the varied nonsense of historical theory. I hope that we will see many more volumes from the author that put us in the midst of the suffering and sacrifice that gave us a nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    great Revolutionary War account

    Renowned historian David Hackett Fischer provides a terrific look at the famous General Washington as he led the crossing of the iced Delaware River during Christmas 1776. On the surface, it would have appeared lunacy to cross to the other side to face an alleged much superior force of professional enemy soldiers. However, Professor Hackett points out that the overwhelming odds were in reality not quite so insurmountable. During much of the year, the American rag tag army developed a new form of fighting suited to the land and much more flexible than the rigidity of the British troops and their Hessian mercenaries. Some myths that Professor Fischer debunks include the Hessians were not drunk, but bone weary from constant assault from guerillas and the weapon differential between the two forces was not even close to the legends. Finally the road to Trenton was filled with people not involved in the upcoming skirmish, but going about their everyday lives. <P>This is a great account that gives each side its proper due and criticism, but mostly praises Washington who saw the opportunity, had the means, and understood the strategic importance of a victory at Trenton. The battle is fully described so that armchair five star generals can understand what really happened and even reenact it. American History buffs will appreciate this powerful, vivid look at a pivotal moment in the American Revolutionary War, but even mythos believers like this reviewer can now discuss the significance of what really occurred at Trenton. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2