Customer Reviews for

Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

Average Rating 4.5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Triggering but excellent

I believe this is is what most Eating disorder books are missing! This book is scary and that is all there is to it! I have an eating disorder right now as we speak and I thought this book was highly triggering for me but I also think that it did scare me into asking fo...
I believe this is is what most Eating disorder books are missing! This book is scary and that is all there is to it! I have an eating disorder right now as we speak and I thought this book was highly triggering for me but I also think that it did scare me into asking for help! If you are at your worse with you eating disorder and/or triggered very easily this is NOT the book for you but if you are ready to be scared to death than read it and maybe you will see, as I did, that you can die!

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wasted ... My Time Reading It

In graduate school, I read this book for a literature class about autobiography and memoir. As a former bulimirexic, I couldn't wait to dive into the book. As I read more and more, I steadily got more and more frustrated with Hornbacher's portrayal of her experience. ...
In graduate school, I read this book for a literature class about autobiography and memoir. As a former bulimirexic, I couldn't wait to dive into the book. As I read more and more, I steadily got more and more frustrated with Hornbacher's portrayal of her experience. The self-indulgent, almost loving way she describes her descent into the disorders and her efforts to 'recover' disturbed me. It is her memoir and her account of her experience, though, but I feel she was too reckless, especially in claiming that the disorder doesn't stop being an issue. Yes, it does stop being an issue -- when one is truly recovering. Having been there, done that myself, Hornbacher does not strike me as recovering at all. Rather, she writes as if she's still in the grips of the disorders -- and enjoys it, despite claims to the contrary. And that's dangerous for someone reading this who is in the throes of the disorders.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

    Although the author has obvious talent as a writer, this is one book I don't think should have been written. It explains too many ways to hide the behaviors of this disorder, which many with eating disorders will be looking to learn, talks way too much about her exercising, and lists her weight pound by pound as it dropped. All things eating disorder victims will focus on. As a recovered anorexic I am insulted by her claim that one of the biggest reasons she 'got better' is because she got bored with being sick. It is an insult to anyone who has ever put in the hard, painful work to get better, and is an insult to the process one must go through to recover.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    A Disappointing Book

    As a recovered anorexic I was disappointed in this book. It is actually a dangerous book for anyone prone to an eating disorder to read. I felt like it glorified the life of a person living with an eating disorder. Not only did it give dangerous details on how to avoid getting 'caught' with your eating disorder, but it also gave specific instructions on binging and purging.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    VERY TRIGGERING BOOK.

    It is well written, but I am in the midst of my eating disorder and seeking treatment and I bought this book thinking maybe it can help. It only made me worse. This book SHOULD NOT have put numbers and other certain things that took place. Honestly,do not read this book if you have an eating disorder or anything. If you have an extremely healthy relationship with food and your body and are very confident, then go right ahead. But even if you think you want to lose weight, do not read it. It may do you wrong.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Not recomended for people in recovery.

    I picked up 'Wasted' thinking it would be helpfull during my recovery. I have suffered from anorexia/bulimia for half of my life, and have only been starting to get better these past 6 months. I found this book to be EXTREMELY TRIGGERING! Well written, but still very triggering to anyone who has ever felt sadness and depression in their life... Please be careful when reading...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

    Without question Marya Hornbacher is gifted as a writer. My problem with the book is that many readers who are in the grips of their own eating disorder will use this book as a way to learn how to be better at being sick, and will judge their own self worth by comparing themselves to the author. By writing about how much the person exercises, the number of calories the person ate, and especially by how much she weighed many people suffering from eating disorders will believe they do not deserve help (any kind of treatment) until they are as sick, if not sicker, than anyone speaking out about their own battle with their eating disorder. My anorexia got so bad my parents were told I wouldn't survive the night the last time I was hospitalized, and I now travel around speaking out against eating disorders; I also must always be careful not to give out any of the kind of information I have just talked about. If I did I know the victims will decide they can only get help when they get as thin, and eat no more than I did, and I know kids would die trying, or come close to it. I know because that is exactly how I felt. I do applaud Marya's courage in speaking out against the treatment centers that focus on forcing fast weight gain on the patients and them sending them home without really receiving any real therapy. That kind of treatment towards these victims has the potential to do real harm to the patients.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Hmmmm...?

    I admit, I'm barely into this book and I think I'm already done with it. It's kind of hard to believe the things she says when she has obviously made up a lot of details. Her and her 5 year old friend "reading" the labels on foods? Remembering running away, picking flowers, and hiding in a hamper...when she was 3 years old? Hanging upside-down from a chair WHILE eating a sandwich (hello, choking?!). I feel like she's making up a lot of little details to make the story better and this makes me not want to read the rest of the book - how do I know what details are made up and what details are real?! She also says she's not gonna go into talking about how "bad" her family is and how that contributed to her eating disorder, but almost right after that she's talking about her parents arguing at the table and her mom's bizarre eating habits that date all the way back to when the author was in utero/nursing. Sorry, but I'm done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Have anorexia or bulemia.. Anorexic? Bulemic? DO NOT READ

    This is not the words of someone participating actively in recovery-the author is still "romancing" and enjoying her illness. This book is nothing but a how to guide. Do not buy if you have your own problems with food.

    I suppose it is an interesting read to anyone without food issues-like passing a car wreck. You cannot not look.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Very triggering

    While I feel the book was well written and easy to identify with, Marya should not have used specific numbers and put such detailed descriptions of purging in there. Wasted is pretty much a 'How-to' guide for people with eating disorders. Please do yourself a favor and do not read Wasted if you are trying to recover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Should be zero star rating!

    Author strikes me as someone educated beyond their intelligence. Agree with other neg reviews EXTREMELY TRIGGERING! Seems to glamorize & glorify anorexia, should have never been published, worthless, unhelpful drivel from a whiney, self absorbed loser who doesnt get shes hurting other sufferers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1