BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

Average Rating 4.5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Triggering but excellent

I believe this is is what most Eating disorder books are missing! This book is scary and that is all there is to it! I have an eating disorder right now as we speak and I thought this book was highly triggering for me but I also think that it did scare me into asking fo...
I believe this is is what most Eating disorder books are missing! This book is scary and that is all there is to it! I have an eating disorder right now as we speak and I thought this book was highly triggering for me but I also think that it did scare me into asking for help! If you are at your worse with you eating disorder and/or triggered very easily this is NOT the book for you but if you are ready to be scared to death than read it and maybe you will see, as I did, that you can die!

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wasted ... My Time Reading It

In graduate school, I read this book for a literature class about autobiography and memoir. As a former bulimirexic, I couldn't wait to dive into the book. As I read more and more, I steadily got more and more frustrated with Hornbacher's portrayal of her experience. ...
In graduate school, I read this book for a literature class about autobiography and memoir. As a former bulimirexic, I couldn't wait to dive into the book. As I read more and more, I steadily got more and more frustrated with Hornbacher's portrayal of her experience. The self-indulgent, almost loving way she describes her descent into the disorders and her efforts to 'recover' disturbed me. It is her memoir and her account of her experience, though, but I feel she was too reckless, especially in claiming that the disorder doesn't stop being an issue. Yes, it does stop being an issue -- when one is truly recovering. Having been there, done that myself, Hornbacher does not strike me as recovering at all. Rather, she writes as if she's still in the grips of the disorders -- and enjoys it, despite claims to the contrary. And that's dangerous for someone reading this who is in the throes of the disorders.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    dont read it!

    if you have/had an eating disorder, i dont recomend reading this book. it was really triggering for me, and i had to go back to In Patient after reading it. it was a really good book, but a bad mistake on my part in reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    READERS BEWARE

    reading Wasted was an addiction in itself. real and raw, it carved out a few of my scars and revealed to me my infatuation with CONTROL -and all that it implies- once again. its in-your-face style exposed me too much... I have relapsed... because of Marya's accurate, crude, and exceptional expressions, Wasted might be better fitted for those who do not have an eating disorder -but are trying to understand the thinking process behind it- or for those who have put the disorder behind them -and are strong enough to continually face the TRUTH. a dangerous read for those like me, still struggling with extreme power issues... but a heck-of-a read nonetheless.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Not alone

    Many have commented that this book shouldnt have been written, that it is a blueprint to EDNOS, buli, ana.... the truth is that its not really meant to be a book about her road out. Its a book about her time IN the disorders.
    I read this in a day. My depression with my own EDNOS was too much and i felt totally alone. I felt like my choices were only mine and i was horrible for them.
    Reading this, it actually gave me the first bit of hope. Not being alone. Not being the only one.... it is major. Years and years of dealing with this alone and this book, its real.
    EDs are impossible to define as being cured one way or another. Impossible to make sense of when you are trapped in them. This book does make you see that you arent the only one that feels that way. For some, it may give them license to become worse. For others like me (i read this a few months ago now) it gave me a hope because someone who thought like me has crawled out of "the rabbit hole"
    Four stars only because she doesnt go into the recovery, wjat it took..... i wish she had. I wish i knew. I wish we all knew

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    truth of it all

    Why do I do it? Why does anyone? We all have our reasons...ones yet to be determined, but sometimes we are just plain hungry. As a young 'driven' woman, I can relate to Marya's obsessive behaviors. Although I am in slow recovery, the only kind there is, her book has helped me want to get healthy before I begin a third year with the addiction. Marya holds nothing back in her story. The truth of bulimia and anorexia is written on every page. Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Great book

    It kept me wanting to read and i was upset when it was over for sure. There are 2 things keeping me from giving it 5 stars: one being that i found this book to be very triggering as i was treated for an eating disirder and was in the beginning if a relapse when i read this, (nit her fault as she was just trying to tell her story) and also because at times she tried to be so wordy that the sentences just went on and on and i wwould have to reread the same sentence over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Good book!

    Ive just started reading this in paperback and want to know if theres anyway to put iton my nook? Or would i have to rebuy it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Careful who you give to

    I know this book is a must read for more with an eating disorder so please, if your teen wants to read this book, you might wanna have a chat with them after.

    The author does a great job telling her story and putting it in a way where, even if you haven't had an eating disorder, you can find ways to connect and understand where she is coming from. We've all had moments in which we felt fat and ugly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is amazing...

    ...and not in a good way. What I mean is, it's amazing that someone can fall so far before getting help. I realize that someone has to hit rock bottom, but I think Marya hit rock bottom and then crawled along the rocky creek bed for a while after hitting. This is definitely a great tool if you think someone has a problem with bulimia or anorexia. Marya did not hide anything or hold anything back. I would especially suggest this to parents. Parents want to deny it when something is going on because of the, "Not My Child," syndrome. Maybe this would help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Excellent read

    This book is an excellent read. I have had eating issues in the past and this book triggered memories for me, but it is also helpful in that it made me think of how glad I am to be recovered. This book kind of made me lose my attention in the beginning, but it got better in the middle. I could not put it down! It is as brutally honest as it gets. I coment Marya for talking about this issue so openly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Doctors read it, victims avoid it

    I read this book as sort of a how-to to starve myself to death. It is triggering and I question the necessity of some of the information presented. Fortunately, I got treatment soon after I read the book and now my years of suffering finally seem to be over as I recover. Honestly I love this book still. It is a beautifully written book, hence the rating, and I think that those who could really benefit from reading this are doctors or clinicians, not because of weight or calorie information because when you have anorexia or bulimia you die from your first pound to your last, but instead to give them an idea of the absolute suffering that is an eating disorder. Marya articulates what so many girls can't utter and for this she should be praised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    A Horrific view of how Anorexia can kill you

    THIS book will change your life. Marya's description of hospital life as well as the help she avoided will help anyone dealing with problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 1999

    A great book, but one problem..

    I loved this book the first time I read it. I, like everyone else who picks it up, could not put it down. I read it twice and I bought it. But I knew my reaction to Wasted was not the reaction that most people expect. See, I have been battling an eating disorder for almost a year now. The thing about anoretics is that the kind of 'thin' that we want to be is not a healthy kind of thin. We want to virtually disappear. And reading Marya's book reminded me of the kind of thin that I became so addicted to acheiving. Unfortunately, I can't say that I hated this book because of the feelings it sparked in me that I've tried so hard to overcome. I love this book because of the feelings it sparked in me. The problem is, I'm dangerously close to getting very sick again and Wasted is the book that made me think about how I wanted to lose weight again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2