Customer Reviews for

Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

Average Rating 4.5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Triggering but excellent

I believe this is is what most Eating disorder books are missing! This book is scary and that is all there is to it! I have an eating disorder right now as we speak and I thought this book was highly triggering for me but I also think that it did scare me into asking fo...
I believe this is is what most Eating disorder books are missing! This book is scary and that is all there is to it! I have an eating disorder right now as we speak and I thought this book was highly triggering for me but I also think that it did scare me into asking for help! If you are at your worse with you eating disorder and/or triggered very easily this is NOT the book for you but if you are ready to be scared to death than read it and maybe you will see, as I did, that you can die!

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wasted ... My Time Reading It

In graduate school, I read this book for a literature class about autobiography and memoir. As a former bulimirexic, I couldn't wait to dive into the book. As I read more and more, I steadily got more and more frustrated with Hornbacher's portrayal of her experience. ...
In graduate school, I read this book for a literature class about autobiography and memoir. As a former bulimirexic, I couldn't wait to dive into the book. As I read more and more, I steadily got more and more frustrated with Hornbacher's portrayal of her experience. The self-indulgent, almost loving way she describes her descent into the disorders and her efforts to 'recover' disturbed me. It is her memoir and her account of her experience, though, but I feel she was too reckless, especially in claiming that the disorder doesn't stop being an issue. Yes, it does stop being an issue -- when one is truly recovering. Having been there, done that myself, Hornbacher does not strike me as recovering at all. Rather, she writes as if she's still in the grips of the disorders -- and enjoys it, despite claims to the contrary. And that's dangerous for someone reading this who is in the throes of the disorders.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Triggering but excellent

    I believe this is is what most Eating disorder books are missing! This book is scary and that is all there is to it! I have an eating disorder right now as we speak and I thought this book was highly triggering for me but I also think that it did scare me into asking for help! If you are at your worse with you eating disorder and/or triggered very easily this is NOT the book for you but if you are ready to be scared to death than read it and maybe you will see, as I did, that you can die!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    The best book about eating disorders I have read

    I love this book. The writing is brilliant (though it can get a bit overdone sometimes), it's full of information about eating disorders, and most of all, very insightful to the eating disordered psyche.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    it triggered me too

    it was hard for me to finish reading when i was finishing my struggle with bulimia, so if you have had a problem with an eating disorder I almost wouldn't recommend it. Otherwise though it is realistic and is well written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Good, but triggering.

    I thought the book was very well written and I could relate, but I did relapse while reading this book. I would recommend this to someone who is recovered from their eating disorder, unlike myself who just got out of treatment. Best book I've ever read though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Beautiful book, extremely recommended to those with an ED or trying to comprehend them.

    I am a seventeen-year-old anorexic girl with bulimic tendencies. I don't want to go into detail in this review because I doubt I could formulate the right words to accurately describe the brilliance of this book. All I can tell you, eating-disordered person or loved one of an eating-disordered person, is that this book is a must-read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Beautifully written!

    AMAZINGLY accurate of what I am going/went through. To those who think it is triggering, it is only triggering if you let it be. Personally, I think it is beautifully written and shows that eating disorders are NOT glamourous, they are terrifying sicknesses and ordeals that way too many go through. Many of the thoughts and feelings expressed by the author are similar if not the same as my own. This book really got me thinking and gave me new ideas and insight into what my disease really is and how I can BEAT IT FOR GOOD!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    amazing.

    Easily the best book on eating disorders I have ever read. I had a very hard time putting this book down and ended up finishing it in 2 days. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read an intelligent reflection on this topic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia

    A must read for anyone falling into the world of vanity. This book will pull you right out and get your head on straight. The author takes you into such a hell that at times it hurts to go on with her. Everytime I read this book I realized how important it was that I do not get caught up in vanity and place too much importance on being 'beautiful'. This book is great for anyone who feels the pressures of chasing Thin and needs perspective.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    hits you in the face

    I'm a recovering bulimic/anorexic, 14 years old 5'5 and 88 pounds. This book told me bluntly all the things I'd denied and refused to believe. Marya tells her story in a straightfoward, almost unforgiving style and still manages to be hauntingly poetic.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    WHOA

    As a young Black female, I have absolutely no understanding of the 'reasons' behind bulimia or anorexia. On a very simple level, it's hard for me, as a Black woman, to comprehend that anyone would would want to get rid of their butt. At the same time, this story has a rather magnetic pull on the reader. It reads like fiction and only towards the end did I think, 'I cannot believe this actually happened!' The final leg of her journey is just wild...almost too brutal to read. All in all, I was very pleased with this book and the time I spent reading it. Definitly a top 10.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Awesome Truth

    Being in recovery myself, I can honestly say that Marya's poetic horror speaks volumes. I nearly died myself at 5'10, 88lbs. There are alot of myths out there about this disease (yes, it is a disease), and Marya uses her own life experience to tell it how it truly is. She is an inspiration to all that it is never to late to get help.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Incredible

    This book gave me chills. Marya writes with such realness, such brutal honesty, one cannot help but become immersed in her struggle between life and death. She opens the reader's eyes with her no-holds-barred approach to telling the moving story of the war she battled with herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    This Book Can Change One's Life

    This book is amazing, I bought it and read it twice. It sent chills, brought tears and really changed what I thought and knew about eating disorders. If you want to know what it's like, this book is better than a doctor's or fictional writer's view. This is from someone who actually lived it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Agreed, it is VERY triggering...

    ...but the book itself is astounding. I have to admitt that I got back into Anorexia after I had been recovered for a few years during reading this book. In fact, everytime I feel the need to 'starve' I pick up this book and never put it down. It is a dangerous memoir written by possibly one of the best authors of our time. Mothers, if your already thin daughter wants to read this book, you really should not let them. I won't even let my friends borrow it from me because I am afraid of what will get into their heads. But it really is a good piece of literature - you be the judge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    Absolutely Sunning!!!

    FIrst of all i want to say that this book needs more than 5 stars! Suffering from an eating disorder myself i could totally relate with Marya I just finished reading this book for the 13th time! You wont regret reading this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    It helped me so much

    This book is AWESOME. I love it. Its helped me with my Anorexia/bulimia. I was having a very hard time when I read this book. After I read it, I saw so much more, and what I was doing to myself. This book pushed me to recovery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Raw and emotional

    Raw and emotional. No other words can do it justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Great read

    Well written and a very good hard look at eating disorders. For those who are having a hard time after reading it a) ill pray for you b) you can get through it-dont be afraid to get help and c) if you read her book "Madness" youll see she is not just eating disordered-she is also VERY bipolar and her issues with bipolar were not properly addressed while she was dealing with the issues discussed in "Wasted". That may account for some of the feelings of readers who thought this read likeahow-to guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Literally couldn't put it down!  Read when if first came out and

    Literally couldn't put it down!  Read when if first came out and it's the one of the few books that I have held onto knowing that I will read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I'm 14 years old and I read this book. I have to say the details

    I'm 14 years old and I read this book. I have to say the details in this book are vivid and just amazing. Words cant express how much I enjoyed it. I am recovering myself as a bullmic and this book is spot on , on how I felt and my toughts. If you really want to know what goes through most minds of us and anyone with a disordor read this. If you are easliy triggered dont read. All I really have to say Is you whoever is reading this should pick up this book , You wont regret it ... Trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8