Customer Reviews for

Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Tomorrow never comes.

Somebody once said that after a disaster there is always at least one survivor to tell the story to others. But what if you are the sole survivor and there is no-one else on Earth to talk to?

Long ago I read a SF-story (or should I say a post-apocalyptic story? Oh w...
Somebody once said that after a disaster there is always at least one survivor to tell the story to others. But what if you are the sole survivor and there is no-one else on Earth to talk to?

Long ago I read a SF-story (or should I say a post-apocalyptic story? Oh well, what's in a name?) about a man who was not only the sole survivor of the human species but of all existing life including vegetation. Because of his injuries he could only crawl. After several months he finally reached the Ocean, crawled into the water and died. His decomposing body would provide the Ocean with atoms and molecules so that in a far future, new life could emerge from it.

Because of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima and the Cold War, post-apocalyptic literature was popular. But the fall of the Berlin Wall meant also the end of post-apocalyptic literature.

Today there is a revival of this genre. Probably because adventure and the possibility of starting all-over have a kind of charm. Maybe the most notorious example is Cormac McCarthy who received the Pulitzer-Price for his novel 'The Road'.

In this collection, you won't find stories where an invasion by Aliens or an uprising of Zombies are responsible for wastelands all over the globe. The editor of this anthology, John Joseph Adams, says that they could be the subject for another anthology.
The best thing I can do right now is to give you the name of each author and the title of his/her story.

The End of the Whole Mess - Stephen King
Salvage - Orson Scott Card
The People of Sand and Slag - Paolo Bacigalupi
Bread and Bombs - M. Rickert
How We Got In Town and Out Again - Jonathan Lethem
Dark, Dark Were the Tunnels - George R.R. Martin
Waiting for the Zephyr - Tobias S. Buckell
Never Despair - Jack McDevitt
When Sysadmins Ruled the Earth - Cory Doctorow
The Last of the O-Forms - James Van Pelt
Still Life with Apocalypse - Richard Kadrey
Artie's Angels - Catherine Wells
Judgement Passed - Jerry Oltion
Mute - Gene Wolfe
Inertia - Nancy Kress
And the Deep blue Sea - Elisabeth Bear
Speech Sounds - Octavia E. Butler
Killers - Carol Emshwiller
Ginny Sweethips' Flying Circus - Neal Barret, Jr.
The End of the World as we Know It - Dale Bailey
A Song Before Sunset - David Grigg

posted by Dierckx on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Average read.

This book has great heights and low, low, lows. While the apocalypse from a religious perspective is in some ways warranted, I skipped those stories that discussed it, simply because I'm not interested and don't want to entertain 'their' fantasies.
Some stories were j...
This book has great heights and low, low, lows. While the apocalypse from a religious perspective is in some ways warranted, I skipped those stories that discussed it, simply because I'm not interested and don't want to entertain 'their' fantasies.
Some stories were just tasteless ("How we got in to town and out again", "Ginny Sweethips..."), and others were poignant and beautiful ("Never Despair", "Waiting for the Zephyr"). Altogether, a thoroughly average compilation that does its elegant and intriguing cover art wrong.

Many of the stories in this book are actually free on the book's website, by the way.

posted by Severian on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tomorrow never comes.

    Somebody once said that after a disaster there is always at least one survivor to tell the story to others. But what if you are the sole survivor and there is no-one else on Earth to talk to?

    Long ago I read a SF-story (or should I say a post-apocalyptic story? Oh well, what's in a name?) about a man who was not only the sole survivor of the human species but of all existing life including vegetation. Because of his injuries he could only crawl. After several months he finally reached the Ocean, crawled into the water and died. His decomposing body would provide the Ocean with atoms and molecules so that in a far future, new life could emerge from it.

    Because of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima and the Cold War, post-apocalyptic literature was popular. But the fall of the Berlin Wall meant also the end of post-apocalyptic literature.

    Today there is a revival of this genre. Probably because adventure and the possibility of starting all-over have a kind of charm. Maybe the most notorious example is Cormac McCarthy who received the Pulitzer-Price for his novel 'The Road'.

    In this collection, you won't find stories where an invasion by Aliens or an uprising of Zombies are responsible for wastelands all over the globe. The editor of this anthology, John Joseph Adams, says that they could be the subject for another anthology.
    The best thing I can do right now is to give you the name of each author and the title of his/her story.

    The End of the Whole Mess - Stephen King
    Salvage - Orson Scott Card
    The People of Sand and Slag - Paolo Bacigalupi
    Bread and Bombs - M. Rickert
    How We Got In Town and Out Again - Jonathan Lethem
    Dark, Dark Were the Tunnels - George R.R. Martin
    Waiting for the Zephyr - Tobias S. Buckell
    Never Despair - Jack McDevitt
    When Sysadmins Ruled the Earth - Cory Doctorow
    The Last of the O-Forms - James Van Pelt
    Still Life with Apocalypse - Richard Kadrey
    Artie's Angels - Catherine Wells
    Judgement Passed - Jerry Oltion
    Mute - Gene Wolfe
    Inertia - Nancy Kress
    And the Deep blue Sea - Elisabeth Bear
    Speech Sounds - Octavia E. Butler
    Killers - Carol Emshwiller
    Ginny Sweethips' Flying Circus - Neal Barret, Jr.
    The End of the World as we Know It - Dale Bailey
    A Song Before Sunset - David Grigg

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    nice variety

    Wastelands is a book containing 22 short stories of life after an apocalypse. The editor did a really good job at picking stories detailing a variety of different world ending scenarios and the struggles of those left to rebuild society and start over.

    Some of these stories are just so-so....nothing special or memorable. Others, though, were really great. There are some that take place in the near future and some that take place so far away in time that people aren't even recognizable as people anymore. Some of these stories are very sad and don't show much hope for humanity, while others end on a very optimistic and happy note...a fresh start. "All of them explore one question: What would life be like after the end of the world as we know it?" If you are into the Post-Apocalyptic sub-genre, then this is definitely a book you should check out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Average read.

    This book has great heights and low, low, lows. While the apocalypse from a religious perspective is in some ways warranted, I skipped those stories that discussed it, simply because I'm not interested and don't want to entertain 'their' fantasies.
    Some stories were just tasteless ("How we got in to town and out again", "Ginny Sweethips..."), and others were poignant and beautiful ("Never Despair", "Waiting for the Zephyr"). Altogether, a thoroughly average compilation that does its elegant and intriguing cover art wrong.

    Many of the stories in this book are actually free on the book's website, by the way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    NURSERY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Glitpaw

    I want to be a med cat

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Shadow

    "Shadeclan territory. Stay off" she mimicked in a high, squeaky voice.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Apprentice Den

    ~Shadowstar

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Thornlily

    ShadeClan territory!!! Stay off.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Amazing amazing book

    Loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    There were some very worthwhile stories in here

    A couple of the stories did bore me a bit but there were many others that I found rather interesting. Quite a few of the stories were rather original as well, which can be hard to do with all the apocalypse out there. Overall, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book of short stories...

    Quick, easy read with a little bit of everything in dealing with an apocalypse. Hopeful, hopeless, happy and sad. If you enjoy this sub-genre you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Judgment Passed

    This book presents a sweet collection of end of the world tales, each providing a rather unique take on the end of the whole mess. The editors were careful to select stories that deviated from the normative apocalyptic tale. Ruined landscapes and mutated humanity humanity abound, but with intelligent twists, and unexpected outcomes.

    There is one stand-out story by Jerry Oltion, Judgement Passed, in which a starship crew returns to Earth only to find evidence leading some to conclude that the "Rapture" has occurred during their absence. It has led our group to some wonderful conversations about the nature of reality, individual and group perspective. That story alone is worth the purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very solid collection.

    'Wastelands' is a very solid anthology of post-apocalyptic fiction, with contributions from some of the leading authors writing in the field. A good starting place for anyone interested in the sub-genre or anyone wanting to come back and revisit it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2