Customer Reviews for

Watch the Skies (Daniel X Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Next new series.

The first book of this series is amazing. Danial X can relate to anyone. The romance in the book has just the right amount for anyone to love. I hope Patterson continues this series and also the Maximum Ride series. I would recommend this book to anybody.

posted by Acornlad on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Science Fiction, NOT

I'm an avid Science Fiction fan. Have been for since I was 10 years old and that was 65 years ago. Since I've also read several Of Patterson's novels, buying "Daniel X", the predecessor to this one, seemed like a no-brainer. Unfortunately, as it turns out, I do have a b...
I'm an avid Science Fiction fan. Have been for since I was 10 years old and that was 65 years ago. Since I've also read several Of Patterson's novels, buying "Daniel X", the predecessor to this one, seemed like a no-brainer. Unfortunately, as it turns out, I do have a brain.
I think Patterson has never read any science fiction and his concept of the genre is the result of watching B Movies. Unable to stomach more than about 20% of this childish effort, I considered giving it away to a friend (as I generally do with other books). Instead, I tossed it in the recycle bin along with old newspapers.
The next time I was in my local Barnes & Noble store, I told the clerk they should remove it from the shelves rather than disappoint other innocent customers.

posted by StanG on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I haven't read this yet but.......

    I know i haven't read this book yet but it doesn't sound as good as the first one. I have read all of James Patterson's Maximum Ride books and some of them twice. So when my dad got us Daniel X, I thought it would be a great book a lot like Max R.

    The first one was pretty good. I was hoping for just a little more romance and a more complicated plot like Harry Potter, Eragon, Eldest, and Brisinger.

    When I read the description or this book, it looked a little cheesy to me. But i have read a lot of books that look cheesy but are really good once you read them.

    So I am going to give this book a shot. Just because that 75 year old man doesn't like it, doesn't mean a 12 year old girl won't.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    ok

    Not one of his best daniel x books, but decent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Mean old man

    The guy who wrote a reveiw at the way at like the botton is mean. Give james a break. Even if he did post it 2 years ago its srill on here. MeAM OLD MAN!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Less Than What Book 1 Was

    I liked this audiobook less than the previous. The Daniel X series remains to be highly recommended for pre-teen/teen audiences, but for me it was only just entertaining. Milo the narrator continues to give me the reason to continue listening to this high action, a bit gross at times, and weird mystery alien TV show story. He gives the villain a voice that reminds me of Admiral Ackbar from 'The Return of the Jedi'. Where this story lost me was the lack of direction. It has two struggling plots that want to work as one but just doesn't for me. The authors should have chose to either stick with using Earth in their reality show, or infiltrate and take over the planet. In either case, Daniel will face the Admiral Ackbar alien in battle and if he's lucky, not die in the attempt. If the remaining 2 audiobooks in the Daniel X series go on sale I'll definitely listen to them, but I don't care for the series enough to pay full price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Daniel X - alien hunter

    Daniel X is a teen-age alien hunter with some special powers of his own. He rides a motorbike and can do wheelies on his front tire. He has four imaginary friends, but unlike most kids, he can materialize them and they often help him out when he needs help, or just keep him company when he needs company.

    The town of Holliswood is being taken over by aliens - from outer-space. These particular aliens are able to manipulate the radio waves, and t.v. stations to control humans. They also like to eat humans, after they make them dance around, filming them for entertainment. The head alien is a director. Even though there are some horrific things that happen to humans, the way it's written it's not very graphic or gross. Most teens have watched plenty of movies and shows that contain much worse than is shown in this book.

    Daniel X needs to find a way to stop the aliens from taking over the town, and eventually the whole world for the purpose of filming, eating and using the world and it's inhabitants as entertainment for the rest of the universe. But the alien in charge of this epic project, (alien no. 5) seems to always be one step ahead of Daniel X, and in fact is planning to use Daniel in the finale of the series that he's filming. Daniel X meets a young girl and her strange parents. He is has quite a challenge solving this crisis, things go wrong but he perseveres.

    I found the narrative of this book interesting, and the dialogue between characters was pretty good. There's some snarky dialogue between aliens and Daniel X, and intelligent dialogue between Daniel X and his friends/family. Though gross things are happening, there isn't over the top descriptions, but there is enough to keep a teen or tween interested in the story. Daniel X also is not a do it yourself type of hero, he takes advice and help from his friends...although they are a product of his imagination. Maybe because it's written from the pov of a teenage boy, one who has been hunting aliens, but there doesn't seem to be much to his personality - there's a little history we learn as we read, and little things he quips. He seems to care about animals and humans. It's just not very in depth - the presenting of his personality.

    This was a cute, light/horror sci-fi book. The only thing that kind of got to me, was more the set up of the book. There are 91 chapters in this 251 page book. How can that be, do you wonder? most of these chapters are two pages long. As in half of one page (the beginning of the chapter) and half or a little over half of the second page (that would be the ending of this epic chapter). So really, I believe this book could have been condensed into 125 pages (approximately). I don't know if the authors meant for the book to be set up this way as a dramatic way of separating scenes, or if this was done to "flesh out" the book. There were quite a few of the 2-page chapters that could have been combined. A few of the chapters were really a continuation of the previous chapter. That's my only complaint of the book, and it's not anything to do with content or writing talent.

    Overall this is a entertaining book, a light read even with the horror aspects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Younger Appeal

    The second book in the series, Daniel X, Watch the Skies was lacking originality. We bought the book on tape for a car trip to appeal to a range of ages, including myself, an adult. The plot was fuzzy and hard to follow, the story ended abruptly. The original book was a better story and Daniel did not seem as narcicistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2