Customer Reviews for

Watchdogs of Democracy?: The Waning Washington Press Corps and How It Has Failed the Public

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Ivorypaw

    Fainted at the thought of her sis never coming home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Skypaw

    Nods

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Tigerblaze

    (Yes...as scarletfeather..and shadowfeather...oh wait..i dont. I rp in the dark forest. Ever since i joined...its became much more dangerous. We started attacking more often. And ever since i joined...many more followed xP) tigerstar nodded. "Skypaw, just call me tigerblaze in private. Im still getting used to it and i keep writing tigerblaze" he said shuffling his paws. "Ok, well, when you go after squirrel, its basic hunting crouch, same as mouse. When you go after a rabbit, dont dare make a noise. It can hear things alot better then a mouse can." He explained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Eyes

    Shimmering green eyes appeared, watching, giving strength to Swiftheart. Strength of heart, and the ability to be the kindest cat in the clan. "You are destined for greatness, Swiftheart..."a cat whispered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Nitestar

    He nodded

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    the importance of the press

    In the course of her 60 year career covering the White House, Helen THOMAS has covered over 9 administrations and has had a front row seat in witnessing the changes, some good and some bad, in journalism. Woven throughout this essay on the importance of unbiased, truthful and independent reporting are personal anecdotes and comments from her experience in the White House since the Kennedy administration. These stories illustrate the changing face of journalism and the way administrations treat journalists and offered information. She highlights the important role newspapers play, or rather should play in informing the public and in enabling a true democratic process. She underlines several times that the American public is now better informed than ever with access to various media outlets and is also more misinformed than ever before, hence the subtitle 'The Waning Washington Press Corps and How It Has Failed the Public'. In her argument, because it is clearly a liberal influenced point of view, THOMAS declares that the press corps did not fulfill its' role in the post 9/11 Iraqi war timeframe. She declares that the freedom of the press has in effect been hindered by the various corporate takeovers which created media conglomerates more concerned with the bottom-line and audience than with strong reporting, by more and more direct intervention/ manipulation from the Administration (especially post 9/11) preoccupied with putting out the 'government spin', and the lack of competition for the A.P wire service. THOMAS does a very good, concise job in pointing out the situation and how the press corps seemingly has become more 'lapdogs' than watchdogs. Indeed she argues that the press is supposed to be the watchdog of democracy, the 'guardians of the peoples right to know', but has failed to do so recently, particularly in the aftermath of 9/11 - even if there seems to be a sort of journalistic epiphany taking place. ' But the current reporters are a new generation covering the White House, and it's a different Administration - and both had much to learn following 9/11 and the increase of terrorism around the world.' She argues that one of the things is needed is return to 'good old-fashioned' journalistic integrity and ethics. We can only agree with her when she states in her Epilogue ' I believe that the media has to do some soul-searching to determine its role in the future after a rocky start in the 21st century.' While raising the flag for the fight for journalistic standards is necessary what THOMAS perhaps fails to do in this wake up call to journalistic integrity is to propose how to implement change since it is not possible to turn back the clock and undo the corporate takeovers, the multimedia explosion and the advent of the internet. Her argument is a starting point, it is up to us , the public, to make sure that the Press Corps follows through and to ensure that the debate does not die and therefore influences the reporters of tomorrow. For as THOMAS concludes, citing Abraham Lincoln, ' Let the people know the facts and the country will be safe.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    Thank You Helen Thomas

    I purchased Watchdogs of Democracy because I knew I would enjoy and learn from Helen Thomas once again and I was not disappointed. I read Front Row at the White House when it was published in hardcover and could not put it down. The book helps me sleep a little more peacefully at night, knowing she is at the helm watching the White House. I hope that somewhere journalists will follow in her 'Seek and Tell the Truth' history of reporting. If Iraq was photographed, reported on and the public could see the bodybags and coffins coming home like we did with Viet Nam, the war's life would be shortened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    Very interesting book

    I enjoyed this new book by Helen Thomas, I also got 'Remember to Laugh' by Maggie Kilgore, a friend of Helen's. Both books provide interesting insight into the careers of pioneering female journalists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1