Customer Reviews for

Watched

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, b

Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, boring and never been kissed. That is, until she wins a scholarship that pays for 2 weeks touring Washington D.C. This trip means Christy can start fresh and be someone else for a change. Especially, when...
Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, boring and never been kissed. That is, until she wins a scholarship that pays for 2 weeks touring Washington D.C. This trip means Christy can start fresh and be someone else for a change. Especially, when she's accepted into the circle of cool, good-looking kids, for the first time in her life. In order to maintain their acceptance, she goes against her better judgement and joins them in sneaking out of their hotel at night for a game. Things go terribly wrong when she and her new friends become witnesses to a murder. The FBI assures them that they're well protected and being watched. But, Christy knows they're not the only ones watching. With no arrests made, how safe can they be with terrorists on the loose?

As if that isn't enough to preoccupy Christy's mind, her existence is FINALLY being noticed by the opposite sex. Not one, but TWO incredibly hot guys are vying for her attention. This can't possibly sit well with the other girls, can it? Like she doesn't have enough to worry about as it is.

With killers closing in on her, will she survive long enough to see justice served? And with zero experience in the romance department, how can she know which guy is for her? Or if she's even READY for a relationship?

I really and truly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Seriously hooked from page 1! If the sequel, PROTECTED (which I'm about to begin when I'm done with this review), is as good as WATCHED, this series will be well on it's way to finding a spot on my Favorite YA Series list.

This book has everything it needs to be a great YA book - strong protagonist, suspense, mystery, thrills, lots of action, chase scenes, intrigue, angst and romance.

posted by Arla on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The newest, hottest book to add to your collection!

When I first read Watched, I was intrigued. So intrigued, in fact, that I read it in a single day! It grabbed me and held me in its pages, spinning a tale of murder and mystery, self-discovery, and action. The plot was new and creative, and it was definitely an original...
When I first read Watched, I was intrigued. So intrigued, in fact, that I read it in a single day! It grabbed me and held me in its pages, spinning a tale of murder and mystery, self-discovery, and action. The plot was new and creative, and it was definitely an original in its own enchanting way. If you're looking for a midnight thriller, cozy up with this modern masterpiece!

posted by MusicMae on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, b

    Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, boring and never been kissed. That is, until she wins a scholarship that pays for 2 weeks touring Washington D.C. This trip means Christy can start fresh and be someone else for a change. Especially, when she's accepted into the circle of cool, good-looking kids, for the first time in her life. In order to maintain their acceptance, she goes against her better judgement and joins them in sneaking out of their hotel at night for a game. Things go terribly wrong when she and her new friends become witnesses to a murder. The FBI assures them that they're well protected and being watched. But, Christy knows they're not the only ones watching. With no arrests made, how safe can they be with terrorists on the loose?

    As if that isn't enough to preoccupy Christy's mind, her existence is FINALLY being noticed by the opposite sex. Not one, but TWO incredibly hot guys are vying for her attention. This can't possibly sit well with the other girls, can it? Like she doesn't have enough to worry about as it is.

    With killers closing in on her, will she survive long enough to see justice served? And with zero experience in the romance department, how can she know which guy is for her? Or if she's even READY for a relationship?

    I really and truly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Seriously hooked from page 1! If the sequel, PROTECTED (which I'm about to begin when I'm done with this review), is as good as WATCHED, this series will be well on it's way to finding a spot on my Favorite YA Series list.

    This book has everything it needs to be a great YA book - strong protagonist, suspense, mystery, thrills, lots of action, chase scenes, intrigue, angst and romance.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    I loved it! This is a clean, YA suspense novel that I was happy

    I loved it! This is a clean, YA suspense novel that I was happy to have my teenage daughter read. We both agreed that the characters were real and the situation was believable. Once you sat down with this book you did not want to get up until you were done. The suspense and action grabbed a hold of you until the very end.

    Both my daughter and I are excited that the second in the series is coming out in March.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Thriller for mid-YA

    As an educator, I'm always on the lookout for books to put in classroom libraries. This book would be great in the middle YA range, grades 7-10, but students in 11-12 as well as adults will appreciate the story. Watched is a teen thriller set in the politics of Washington DC.

    What if you took a summer trip to DC with other students who are aspiring Senators? What if you didn't what to be a politician, just change your life? What if you witness a gruesome murder? What if you know you're being watched now? Yeah, it'd change your life.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    A must read!

    This brought me back to my highschools days. Love the romance and the suspense. Great book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Down-Right Fun Read

    Even though this book is geared toward teens...I found it down-right-fun, creative and refreshing. My interest was held throughout the book. I finished the book in two days. Anyone over High School age and beyond would enjoy Cindy's style and the way she kept you spell bound in "Watched". Can't wait for the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Good

    I really liked this book but I feel it could of had a better ending :/

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked this book! Can't wait to read the next one!

    I really liked this book! Can't wait to read the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    The newest, hottest book to add to your collection!

    When I first read Watched, I was intrigued. So intrigued, in fact, that I read it in a single day! It grabbed me and held me in its pages, spinning a tale of murder and mystery, self-discovery, and action. The plot was new and creative, and it was definitely an original in its own enchanting way. If you're looking for a midnight thriller, cozy up with this modern masterpiece!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Great book

    I bought your book the other day at Costco while you were signing them. Picked it up to read that night and didn't put it down until 5 am when I finished it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    will appeal to a younger crowd...

    Reviewed by Lisa McCombs for Readers Favorite

    During a scholarship funded trip to Washington D.C., fifteen year old Christy encounters dangers of conspiracy proportions. What should have been an educational experience turns out to be a dangerous plot against the US government when Christy and her travelling companions witness the execution-style murder of a Senator. The FBI becomes involved and the group of teenagers supposedly in D.C. to learn about the inner workings of the political world are forced to constantly look over their shoulders in fear for their very lives. While trying to focus on her very survival, Christy is also faced with her first serious crush on a boy: a crush that evolves into a romantic triangle when not one but two fellow travel mates take an active interest in her affections. Innocent Christy, who keeps insisting that she cannot "date" until she is sixteen, leaves D.C. under a shield of intrigue to return to her home a different person.

    My first impression was that I found a strong resemblance to Nancy Drew mysteries of my own youth. I really enjoyed the fact that the main character was on this trip as a scholarship student, while her travelling companions were all fairly wealthy. Christy is the underdog in that respect. Her innocence also set her apart from the students who were not as appreciative of this opportunity to visit the nation's capital as she is. Unfortunately, I found the evolution of Christy's character to be somewhat annoying after a while. Although I realize that her character is revealed through her constant mishaps, I became bored with her multiple escapades that led to a run of unbelievable ailments. I think this story is marketable but Christy got on my nerves.However, I think she will appeal to a younger crowd.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Edge of your seat

    This book keeps you hooked and reading from the very first chapter. The murder scene is well described and the reactions of the kids are realistic and believable. Christy is an easy character to connect with. I found myself scared with the kids, laughing with and at the kids and trying to decide between the two love interests myself. I can't wait for the next book to come out I am just dying to know what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    A refreshing read!

    Right from the begining I was hooked. So many twist and turns that I had not seen coming. The characters were well developed and I found myself really caring for them. I can't wait for the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "WATCHED" (REVIEW)

    "WATCHED" BY CINDY M. HOGAN

    Poor Christy! It's bad enough to be stalked by possible murderers, but to have two guys you care for suddenly find you interesting... at the same time? Christy is a girl that has spent her life being virtually invisible, but one trip to Washington D.C. changes everything. She goes from being an intelligent, barely seen, little known girl, to being wanted by a group of murderers, harbored by the F.B.I. under protective custody, and adored by two guys that she never would have imagined could even look at her in that way. Not only does she have to help the F.B.I. find out who killed a man and why, but she has to decide which guy is the one for her.

    This book was emotional on so many different levels it was hard to keep yourself from trying to mentally steer Christy in the way she should go. A fantastic read, full of suspense and excitement! Cindy M. Hogan writes brilliantly and she knows just how to keep you on the edge of your seat. It's virtually impossible to just relax reading this book and when you finish you feel as if you've been right there in the midst of it all!

    Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Quick and fun summer read.

    When socially awkward Christy wins a scholarship and takes the trip of a lifetime, she has no idea what she's in for. First, she's thrust into a group with beautiful rich kids-who actually treat her like an equal. Then, after sneaking out one night, she and her friends witness a brutal murder (FYI, this one scene is somewhat graphic), after which none of them will ever be the same. The bad guys are watching. The FBI is watching. But amid all that, Christy discovers that two really hot boys are also watching, and considering her non-existent experience with boys, she has no idea how to deal with any of it.

    This story is entertaining with twists and turns that keep the reader guessing up to the very end. A quick and fun summer read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Loved this book!!

    I loved this book! It is intriguing, clever, and a very fun story to read. Cindy Hogan has an amazing way of writing where you feel like you are in the story and you feel what the characters are feeling. I can't wait for the sequel!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Lots of Fun

    An enjoyable, fast-paced read you're sure to love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    I read this book in about 4 hours! Great read and an exciting adventure story! Interactions between the teenagers were great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    On the Edge of My Seat!!

    The first thing you need to know about me is that I bore easily. I've lost count of how many books I've put down because by chapters 4 or 5 I'd lost interest. I tell you this because you need to know how hard I am to entertain when it comes to reading.

    Why?

    So when I tell you how hooked I was after reading the first chapter of Watched, by Cindy M. Hogan, you'll know that means something. Each and every chapter led me further and further into the life of a fifteen-year-old, unpopular geek-of-a-girl, Christy, who not only wants to change her life and the way people see her, but craves adventure. She has no idea what adventure is until she witnesses the murder of a Senator's aide. She finds herself, and the group of kids she's touring Washington, DC with, in the thick of an FBI investigation and political terrorism. Throw in two hot boys who compete for her attention, and you've got a great plot with lots of action (the deadly kind and the romantic kind).

    Watched is a fast paced suspense novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last page. The characters are well fleshed out with realistic emotions and feelings. Hogan does a beautiful job of describing the scenes and making you feel like you're right there, touring DC with the kids. I highly recommend this book and am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Havent read it yet

    I have not read this book yet but my sister says it is really good and she couldnt stop reading it so im gonna give it a try

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Suspensful but unrealistic

    Good book bc I can visualize everything happening. The author grasps a hold of your attention making it seem difficult not to stop reading. But even though the choice of words were spot on, I feel that it is on the side of too much fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8