Customer Reviews for

Watched

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, b

Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, boring and never been kissed. That is, until she wins a scholarship that pays for 2 weeks touring Washington D.C. This trip means Christy can start fresh and be someone else for a change. Especially, when...
Fifteen year old Christy Hadden is book-smart, shy, unpopular, boring and never been kissed. That is, until she wins a scholarship that pays for 2 weeks touring Washington D.C. This trip means Christy can start fresh and be someone else for a change. Especially, when she's accepted into the circle of cool, good-looking kids, for the first time in her life. In order to maintain their acceptance, she goes against her better judgement and joins them in sneaking out of their hotel at night for a game. Things go terribly wrong when she and her new friends become witnesses to a murder. The FBI assures them that they're well protected and being watched. But, Christy knows they're not the only ones watching. With no arrests made, how safe can they be with terrorists on the loose?

As if that isn't enough to preoccupy Christy's mind, her existence is FINALLY being noticed by the opposite sex. Not one, but TWO incredibly hot guys are vying for her attention. This can't possibly sit well with the other girls, can it? Like she doesn't have enough to worry about as it is.

With killers closing in on her, will she survive long enough to see justice served? And with zero experience in the romance department, how can she know which guy is for her? Or if she's even READY for a relationship?

I really and truly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. Seriously hooked from page 1! If the sequel, PROTECTED (which I'm about to begin when I'm done with this review), is as good as WATCHED, this series will be well on it's way to finding a spot on my Favorite YA Series list.

This book has everything it needs to be a great YA book - strong protagonist, suspense, mystery, thrills, lots of action, chase scenes, intrigue, angst and romance.

posted by Arla on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The newest, hottest book to add to your collection!

When I first read Watched, I was intrigued. So intrigued, in fact, that I read it in a single day! It grabbed me and held me in its pages, spinning a tale of murder and mystery, self-discovery, and action. The plot was new and creative, and it was definitely an original...
When I first read Watched, I was intrigued. So intrigued, in fact, that I read it in a single day! It grabbed me and held me in its pages, spinning a tale of murder and mystery, self-discovery, and action. The plot was new and creative, and it was definitely an original in its own enchanting way. If you're looking for a midnight thriller, cozy up with this modern masterpiece!

posted by MusicMae on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Was a little slow in the beginning, but overall it was not a bad

    Was a little slow in the beginning, but overall it was not a bad book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Watched is the first in the Watched trilogy and the first book I

    Watched is the first in the Watched trilogy and the first book I have read by this author. I found it to be interesting even though some times it felt repetitive and to much teenage angst for me. I will still read the other two books as I am curious to see what happens next. 




    Christy had always been invisible back home so she was hoping that this trip to Washington D.C. would be a time for change. What she wasn't expecting was to witness a brutal murder. Christy is on a political trip with a large group of teenagers. Most of these teenager come from rich political minded parents but Christy won a scholarship to go on the trip and is nothing like these richer kids.




    Christy hangs with a smaller group of eight and they all decide to sneak out one night and roam around D.C without a chaperon. They needed to use the restroom but didn't want to go back to their hotel so they sneak into another hotel and while Christy and one of the other girls was in the bathroom she thought she heard voices from the vent. Thinking that it might be some perverts trying to take pictures she gets up on the toilet to take a look. She sees a group of men and some of them are foreign.  She tells the Marybeth to come up and take a look and that is when the see the foreign man behead a man. 




    Soon after this happens the others in the group take a look at what happens and sees the grisly scene and soon hurry out. They try to forget what they all seen but Christy keeps thinking that someone is watching them. Everywhere they go she has this man with icy blue eyes and she even receives some threats. 




    Even after they go to the FBI and slip them some papers that tell their stories and the FBI try to protect them, there is always someone watching them. Christy knows that  even though the FBI is trying to protect them it might not be enough. 




    While all this is happening Christy with the help of Marybeth is giving a bit of a makeover which helps her be accepted by this small group of eight. There is also two of the guys who are taking a little bit of an interest in her, Alex who she just thinks is gorgeous and who she wants to impress. Then there is Rick who is cute and fun but just not Alex. One is a bit more sincere than the other and I definitely liked Rick more than Alex.




    While I liked the mystery of the storyline and wanting to know who exactly these terrorist are and what they have to do with some political bills that are going on during this time that the teenagers are in D.C. There was a few things that just didn't fly with me much and that was as I mentioned before the repetitiveness of some things. For one thing I know that Christy thinks that Alex is just IT and so gorgeous and everything but I don't need to be reminded all the time. Her going back and forth between Rick and Alex and her angst and woe is me I like them both got old too.  Another thing that bugged me was Christy's reaction to the murder, it didn't seem very real. I mean I think if I would have seen someone beheaded I would have screamed, cried, and been a little bit more upset than she was through this whole thing. I know she was trying not to panic but she is a teenager, I think she would have panicked a little more than she did.




    Over all I did like the storyline as I don't think you get a lot of suspense/mystery novels in YA and I enjoyed the fact that it had nothing to do with the paranormal for once. I would also say that if you like this sort of book to give it a try for yourself and make your own judgement. I know I will still pick up the next two novels and finish out the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Good Read

    enjoyed the way Christy grew...reminded me of myself...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    just ok

    Definitely think it's a book for teens, but has a fairly good story line and is a moderaltely engaging read for an adult. Sadly though, the ending just dropped off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Not badfor a teenthril

    Fairly fast paced, I enjoyed the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Washington Advertures

    Every good author projects a feeling, an atmosphere which is original to him/herself. It goes beyond style. As a fingerprint is unique, so the atmosphere of a true author is also only his/hers. It is the gift that true talent brings. It is one of the many things that make a book worth reading.
    Although she must improve, Cindy Hogan has this gift. She carries us through the anxieties and fears of the heroine (who tells her own story) despite the lengthly escapades. Her character was believeable, although the story got pretty wild in some places and made me wonder if Cindy Hogan was herself a teen-ager. The one big drawback was the infinite number of split infinitives that always grate on my nerves when I see them in authors that should know how to express themselves in correct English. Also if this story were "pruned" by about 200 pages it would improve.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Mindless reading.

    Not a bad book. A quick read. I think it is a good book for younger kiddos though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    I enjoyedthis book.

    Even though i am not a teenage girl, I enjoyed this book. Best of luck to Cindy and her future books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1