Customer Reviews for

The Watcher

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    highly recommended- need to be read by you

    i loved the book i couldn't put it down untill i was finished with the book it was like one of thos movies where you have to keep tack on what happens. it was like you were in the book where you were the main character felling every feeling, making every move, thinking the same.*

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Midnight

    Ok goes there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Farrah to nightclaw

    I found a black kit for you! His name is Midnightkit and hes at orphan second result!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Nightclaw

    Yes. Im your new father. Come with me to the enclave result 3, please.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Horses

    Horses are cool. I liked this book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    The Watcher, American Lit. Assignment

    October 30, 2008<BR/>The Silent Spy The Watcher<BR/><BR/> By James Howe<BR/> 174 pgs. Simon and Schuster. $5.99<BR/>By Kelsey Fordham<BR/><BR/>This book shows the harsh reality <BR/>of life for some people. However, it <BR/>also shows a great deal of human love and compassion.<BR/><BR/>The Watcher is set in modern day times, and focuses mainly on thoughts of a lonely girl. It¿s about a teenage girl named Margaret, who sits all alone on the steps near the beach day after day. She observes people on the beach, and writes about them in their journal. However, her main focus is on two people¿Evan and Chris. The story is told through Margaret¿s eyes, and also through Chris and Evan¿s perspective in their daily lives.<BR/><BR/>The rise of the story unfolds when Evan has a visit at a very mysterious house that constantly plays loud music. Strange occurrences happen, and the police have to break up a fight.<BR/><BR/>To really understand this book, it¿s necessary to know the role of each main character (there are 4 of them). Chris is a boy who has had traumatic experiences as a child (now they¿re just torturous memories). His trouble is that he keeps all his feelings bottled up inside. Chris¿ worst fear is that when someone truly needs saving, that he will fail to help them (he¿s a lifeguard). One thing he said to reflect this was, ¿what is the point of wishing anyway? He then fell into the silence and got lost in it, thinking of everything that once was¿. Evan is a pretty nice guy. He¿s kind to his sister, Callie, but his problem is that he doesn¿t have many friends. An example of him with his sister is form the text ¿One time, he collected 3 buckets of seashells and instead of making scales by marking her sand fin with the bottom of the pail, Evan covered the entire sand mermaid body with tiny seashells. It had taken him almost an hour to do, and then after he was done, Callie sat without moving for another hour so that all the people could stop and look, because no one had ever seen such a beautiful mermaid¿. Callie is quite judgmental of others. She¿s also known to tell stories that she swears are true. She is the one who nicknamed the girl on the stairs ¿the watcher¿ One of her stories was this, ¿My parents are going to get a divorce¿. (They weren¿t getting a divorce). Margaret (A.K.A. the watcher) is a troubled teenager. She feels trapped within herself, and has dreamt of a love filled family for quite some time. <BR/><BR/>I truly believe this is a great book. The author made sure that the reader was always ¿into¿ the book at the turn of each page. The text was also very detailed without being dull. I would highly recommend everyone to read this book. It¿s full of suspense, danger, and mystery. It¿s truly perfect for any type of reader.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    a reviewer

    Chris, ¿the watcher¿ and Evan are three very different people¿or maybe not. Chris, the lifeguard at the local beach spends his time daydreaming why¿ll watching little kids play in the ocean out of the corner of his eye. Although on the outside all may look perfectly in place on the inside memories of the past are eating him alive. ¿The watcher¿ or ¿the flake¿ is a teenage girl who sits and watches the people on the beach as they go about their daily lives. She pictures herself as part of the picture perfect family¿s that come and sit on the beach every weekend. She¿s always writing in her notebook¿always watching. Evan is also by himself unless of course you count his little sister who is almost always with him. Although on the beach they may be the picture perfect family at home is a whole different story. The book ends with a dramatic conclusion with all three characters coming together. A life will be saved, a picture will be found, and the strange music from the house around the corner will stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    It's okay

    This book is a deep book that has good details and pulls you in toward the middle and end. Toward the end it is a shocker. It deals with the real world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    This book is really wierd!!

    This book is really wierd, but it is really good. It deals with topics that are in the news today and with current issues. It is really deep and confusing at the beginning, but overall, it was a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Reveiw for the Watcher

    The Watcher is about a girl who is abused and tries to become a part of the 'perfect family'. this book is okay because it dosent give much description and has a weird plot and story line. It wasnt what i thought it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    It's Wierd But Deep!

    This book is great reading for a mature teen. It is very deep and confusing but it all comes together at it the end. I also thought personally it was very weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Fantastic Book

    Simply put, this is the best book I've ever read. It's the most moving story I've had the pleasure of reading. It deals with a very real problem that people tend to turn a blind eye to. I don't see how anyone could not love this book, unless they just aren't capable of understanding the importance of the obstacles faced by each character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    The first sentence caught my eye!

    This book was really interesting because it was awesome how James Howe had three totally different characters in the book. It is a great book, I didn't want it to end, but it's very sad to think somewhere it really could be happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    I liked this book

    I liked this book. If you like books that deal with lifeguards and girls become watchers in life, then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    A Boring Book

    Evan, a thirteen year old boy, and Callie, his younger sister do a lot together. They love going to their lake house and playing on the beach. Callie's favorite thing is when Evan puts sand all around her and shapes her into a mermaid. Evan wishes that he could become one of the 'cool kids' because sometimes hanging out with Callie, isn't always fun and games. Callie is afraid that her parents are getting a divorce. That¿s all she talks about to her friends. One night, Callie was telling Evan that she has noticed a girl, always watching them on the beach. 'You know what I think? I think she's a spy, Harriet the spy' said Callie. Evan tires not to listen to her, but then him, and the beach lifeguard, Chris Powell both notice the girl also, sitting on the steps everyday. All three of them become worried, all she does is watch, she doesn¿t swim, doesn¿t play in the sand, doesn¿t play with friends, she doesn¿t even move. One night, as Evan was coming home from a friends house, he passed by 'the spy's' house, he thought she washing her hair in the sink, with her dad, but didn¿t see any shampoo, and she was crying. What was really going on? I thought this book was just O.K. There were times when I just wanted to stop reading it. You didn¿t understand the real concept of the story, until the end, which was pretty boring. I wouldn¿t recommend this book, though it wasn¿t the worst book I've read. I thought the author could have done a better job of describing some of the characters. Some of the characters didn¿t really have any part in the story, they talked about them all the time, but barley talked to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    AMAZING!!

    This book is so realistic. It deals with the different ways teenagers cope with pain, and it just pretty much sums up horrible experiences. This book is extremely well written, but a bit shorter than I would have liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    GREAT!!!

    This was a very good book. It did have some language in it, but other than that it was very captivating! I recomend it to about 13 and up since it does have some heavy issues like divorce and abuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Awesome

    This book, in my opinion, was AWESOME!! It was so vivid to the mind, made me feel like i was really there. It showed how a girl hides herself and still wants to long. I recommend this book greatly. Please read it. From beginning to the last, saddest sentence of the book, you will love it. Please read it , and check it out yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Awsome

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I finished it in a day and I recomend it to anyone...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    alley

    This book was wonderful!!! I loved how it keep you guess until the very end. My friend wanted to read it as soon as she read the back and she finished it in less then a night and loved it! Now two other people want to read it. THE WATCHER IS A GREAT BOOK. A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2