Customer Reviews for

Watcher in the Woods (Dreamhouse Kings Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!

    Watcher in the woods
    By: Robert Liparulo

    Number of stars (5):
    If you like scary creepy books or even mysteries, then this is a great book for you! It is about a house full of portals of different places in the past. But when the mom gets taken then the family has to take action so that they can get her back. But when a guy comes to the door then things get weird. Will they get her back in time, or even ever? Read to find out about it. Since this is an awesome book!
    The dad moves his family into his old house. He lived there as a kid. Then things get weird as a guy comes out of a door in the house and takes the mom. The family starts to work out a plan to get her back. So they pick a room out a use it as their meeting place. They get it all decked out in war stuff. As they are looking for her they notice that they don¿t know which room she is in. They realize that this is going to be harder than they thought.
    This book is amazing. It will keep you guessing till you just want to die to find out what will happen next. This book is just great. I fell in love with it after reading the first page.
    I hope that this book review has made you want to pick a copy up and read it, so that you can enjoy it to. It¿s pretty cool. I have never read a book like this one. It totally deserves 5 stars which is what I gave this amazing book.
    This is an amazingly awesome book. I give it 5 stars. It is amazing. You need to pick up a copy of this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Love it

    I lovvveeeeee it, it gives me chills

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Felt like a part two, but still entertaining and fun

    Review by Jill Williamson

    The Kings lead a double life. At school, they try to pretend like nothing has changed, but at home, they're completely focused on finding their mother before anyone finds out that she's missing.

    A stranger is seen lurking around the house several times before he announces himself. He is Mr. Taksidian, a powerful businessman in town who is set on buying the house from the Kings. When they refuse, Mr. Taksidian looks for other ways to get the Kings to leave. The truth is, they would be more than happy to leave this house and town behind, but not without their mother. The family unites to do everything they can to withstand the forces they are fighting against.

    This book was filled with exciting scenes. David is whisked back to a WWII battle, then later both boys find themselves in the Civil War. David makes enemies at school as well. This book didn't feel like it would stand very well on its own. It felt like a part two and I think reading the first book is necessary to know what's going on. Still, it was entertaining and fun. It also ends on a cliffhanger, so, I'm off to read book three to know how this story ends. Recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Watcher in the Woods - Robert Liparulo

    This was book 2 in the Dreamhouse King series, and it kept me as riveted as book 1 did (House of Dark Shadows). I was able to devour this book in one day. It melded seamlessly with book 1, and as I have already started book 3 (look for my review tomorrow!) I can tell you that it was the same with it also. <BR/>Book 2 picks up with the King children and their father wondering how to go about searching for their mother - and if they find her - how to get her back. Now their mother has not just been kidnapped - she has been taken through one of the portals of the house into another world - the doorways to these worlds change, seemingly without rhyme or reason and in all worlds but one, danger is around every tree, bush, or building! <BR/><BR/>Since Edward and Gee (parents) have known each other, they have doodled a cartoon figure they called 'Bob'. Edward comes up with the plan that they would leave pictures of 'Bob' in all the worlds they visit, to let Gee know that they are looking for her. They leave the first picture in the one world that is peaceful - Edward carves it in a tree.<BR/><BR/>But lets not forget that the King family must also maintain an outward appearance of normalcy - this means going to work/school and making everyone believe their mom just went back to Pasadena to close up the sale of their old house. Add to that - David falling out of a "tree" and breaking his arm, being chased by bullies at school and a mysterious stranger trying to get them evicted from their house!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Watcher in the woods

    I am about to read this book and ive read the first one so by
    the description i would say u have to read the first one to understand and read the whole series they r good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Can't Wait!!!!!!

    I already ready the first one and it was amazing! It leaves you on the edge of your seat! I can't wait to read this one. I recommend this whole series to eveyone who wants a good book to read that's not boring. Even though I haven't read the other ones I know it's going to be a great book!!! Robert Liparulo is a great author!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Amazing!!! Cliffhanger!

    It was a amazing!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    A Great Read

    I started reading this series quite by accident and it wasn't until this book that I realized this was a book written for teens. However, I was already addicted to the story line. This is more of a well written family read. This book is very easy to read, the story is written well, and I bet you find a favorite character and maybe even switch between characters. Grab all 6 in the series and have a fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great coudnt put it down!!

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Excited

    Cant wait till i read it just got it :-)))))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT-The WHOLE Series

    This entire six book series was amazing I could have read them in two days, if I didn't have to work. I took them everywhere-they're fast paced time traveling adventures are entirely new and awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    I love the series :)

    Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is the 2nd book. If you liked the 1st one then keep going with the series. The author does a great job of getting more into the characters and the worlds as the story goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Getting darker

    I am enjoying this series. I loved the change in focus from Zander to David and hope that the author continues doing that in future books. I am a little frustrated by the lack of progress. Reading this book gave me the feeling that it was an excert from another book, rather than a stand alone tale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Just couldn't stop

    After I read the first book, I had to continue with the second. It is that kind of series. This is a great book series for yhoung and old alike.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Auesome

    I am loving this series! I just wish the books were a little longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    AMAZING!!!

    Couldnt put the book down!!! I was always on the egde of my seat and yelled at the book (and yes i really did) with the clifhangers at the end and hacing to wait for the next one to come out....woukd recomend it to EVERYONE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Highly recommended!!! Couldn't put it down

    Loved this 2nd book in the Dreamhouse Kings Series, Just awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    "Watcher in the Woods," by Robert Liparulo is the second installment in the acclaimed Dream House Kings series. Like its companion, "House of Dark Shadows," this book was entertaining and fun. The climax was once again executed wonderfully, and it will leave you begging for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book No One Will Want to Put Down

    "Watcher in the Woods," by Robert Liparulo is the second installment in the action-packed young adult "Dreamhouse Kings" series. Full of many surprises which give interesting twists and turns to the story, this novel contains many heart-thumping moments and a great deal of suspense! A book no one will want to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5